DakkaDakka - Warhammer 40000, Flames of War, Warmachine and Warhammer Forums
ForumGalleryArticlesVideoHobby BlogsStore FinderPlayer FinderArmy PainterJoin Us!
Switch Theme:

Slow and Purposeful  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
Made in us
Frothing Warhound of Chaos





New Jersey, USA

Thanks for your time and patience in reading and responding to my question.

Without violating any codes of conduct concerning the posting of rules, I am going to try to ask a tricky "semantic" rules question, so you may need to have your 40k book handy for this.

Read the wording for the "Slow and Purposeful" rule, then read the rules for "Assaulting Through Cover". Am I to understand that a slow and purposeful unit always strikes at Initiative 1 when charging?

Thanks for your time and patience.

   
Advert


Login or Register to make this and other promotional elements disappear from your dakka browsing.
Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




The Void

It is silly, but yes. It is generally thought that this was an unintended oversight, but the RAW is indisputable.

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







RaW is indeed indisputable.

As it goes, its actually makes sense. They are slow and purposeful, why would they hit before other people?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Frothing Warhound of Chaos





New Jersey, USA

Thanks for your help!

   
Made in ca
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander





(user no longer active)

Remember that this penalty does not apply if all of the enemy units were already locked in combat from a previous turn or had gone to ground, so that the unit assaulting through cover fights at its normal initiative.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Emperors Bowels, correct ag.. ain...

WHO ARE YOU AND WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH NURGLITCH!!!!!!!!!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Purveyor of Heresy






Mostly New England now. Finally.

I know you're just joking, Gwar, but be sure to re-read Rule #1 (link in my sig).

Steam Driven. Steam Proud.
"Might as well throw in Cobra Commander driving the TMNT Party Wagon for good measure." - Manchu

DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++

Chance favors only the prepared mind.                Rule #1
- Paraphrased from Louis Pasteur

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







why does everyone think I am being rude!

I only wish to bring humour to peoples lives!

So anyway to summarise:
Units with SnP charging into close combat are treated as though they assaulted through cover, meaning baring things like frag grenades, the charged at unit will hit first, unless they are already locked in combat.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/21 22:21:14


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to:   

Dakka 5.42 - Privacy Policy - Legal Stuff - Forum Rules