Switch Theme:

Relentless Universal rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation




Tennessee

Deep Strike: p94 of small rule book

In the movement phase they arrive, these units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deep striking transport vehicle. etc, etc

In that turns shooting phase, these units can fire (or run) as normal, and obviously count as having moved in the previous movement phase. Vehicles count as having moved at cruising speed.

In that turn's Assault phase, however, these units may not launch an assault (even if they have the 'fleet' special rule), unless clearly stated in their Special rules - they are too disrupted by their deep strike rule.

Relentless p76


Relentless models can shoot with rapid fire and heavy weapons counting as stationary, even if they moved in the previous movement phase, and are also allowed to assault in the same turn they fire them.


By the RAW, it does clearly state that a relentless unit can assault after firing rapid fire and heavy weapons, even if they moved in the previous movement phase. Relentless is a universal special rule right, as specified in the deep strike rules? So does this mean that Termies, Oblits, etc with this special rule are able to assault after deep striking?

So....I can't find anywhere that it overrides this rules wise? Anyone seen this in an FAQ or anything else? Checked the GW and INAT copies I have and don't see it there.


'Lo, there do I see my father. 'Lo, there do I see...My mother, and my sisters, and my brothers. 'Lo, there do I see...The line of my people...Back to the beginning. 'Lo, they do call to me. They bid me take my place among them. Iin the halls of Valhalla... Where the brave... May live... ...forever.
 
   
Advert


Login or Register to make this and other promotional elements disappear from your dakka browsing.
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule



UK

Where does it say;

"The unit is also allowed to assault after deep-strking" Or somthing to that effect

No where.

So yup, you still cant assault after deep-striking.

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. Every man who has ventured here over the decades has looked up to the light and imagined climbing to competitiveness. So easy... So simple... And like shipwrecked men turning to sea water from uncontrollable thirst, many have been fired trying. I learned here that there can be no true despair without hope. So, as I terrorize 40k fans, I will feed its people hope to poison their souls. I will let them believe they can survive so that you can watch them clamouring over each other to "stay in the sun." You can watch me torture an entire fan base and when you have truly understood the depth of your failure, we will fulfil Kirby's destiny... We will destroy 40k and then, when it is done and 40k is ashes, then you have my permission to buy."

Heh.
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







"unless clearly stated in their Special rules - they are too disrupted by their deep strike rule. " does relentless at any point mention deep strike? No it doesn't so you may not assault ...
   
Made in us
Utilizing Careful Highlighting





Houston, TX

No, it means what it says- they may assault after shooting. It does not say they may assault after deepstriking. those are two different limitations.

Limitation 1 A model may not assault after firing a heavy or rapid fire weapon.

Limitation 2 A model may not assault after deep striking.

Relentless addresses limitation 1 but not 2.

-James
 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Relentless doesn't allow you to always be able to assault if you fired a Rapid Fire or Heavy weapon. It removes the restriction from assaulting after firing with a Rapid Fire or Heavy weapon. Other restrictions like after Deep Striking or after disembarking from a transport that already moved is still in effect.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/07 15:49:33


In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in us
Lethal Lhamean




You're making a slight mistake. The Deep Strike rule states, "these units may not launch an assault...unless clearly stated in their Special rules..."

The Relentless rule states, "...are also allowed to assault in the same turn they fire them [rapid fire and heavy weapons]."

Normally, models may not assault if they fire rapid fire or heavy weapons. Relentless bypasses this rule and only this rule as pertaining to assault. While, the rule also allows you to fire a heavy or rapid fire weapon as if you were stationary, this allowance for firing has no bearing upon the restrictions upon assaulting after Deepstrike.

In order for a model to bypass the restriction in the Deepstrike rule against assaulting after arriving, the rule would have to specify that the models may assault on the turn in which they arrive by Deepstrike. (For an example, I believe Zagstruk (sp?) can do this and has a rule that shows such a specific exception.)

   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior




Atlanta

You have one rule that states "After X, you cannot do A, can do B, but also cannot do C."

The other states "Even if B would normally be prohibited by A, you can still do B. Even if C would be prevented by B, you can still do C."

The permissions granted by Relentlessness have nothing to do with the restrictions placed upon the unit by Deep Strike.

Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win. -- Sun-tzu
The art of war is simple enough. Find out where your enemy is. Get at him as soon as you can. Strike him as hard as you can, and keep moving on. -- Ulysses S. Grant
Armies and records (w/l/d) (1v1 only)
Orks: ~8500pts -- 2009: 52/2/7 & 17/2/6 in RTTs -- Casual size 85% Painted
Empire: 7000pts -- 2009:19/6/11 & 3/1/5 in RTTs -- Casual size 50% Painted
Marines: 2000pts -- 2009: 4/2/0 -- 20% Painted
Kroot Mercenaries - ~1500pts -- 2009: 0/1/1
Vampire Counts: 1850pts -- 2009: 9/3/4 -- Paint? We're dead...
Skaven (Work in Progress) - ~4000pts -- 2012: 1/1/1 -- Unpainted
Tau (Work in Progress) - 1500pts -- 2012: 5/1/1 -- 20% Painted 
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




Ohio

Or you are playing planetstrike ...

5000+ Points
3000+ Points
3500+ Points
2000+ Points
Cleveland Penny Pincher 
   
Made in us
Calculating Commissar




Woodbridge, VA

Exactly as the others have said. While it removes one prohibition against assaulting, it does not remove the one against assaulting after deep strike. Similar to this FAQ:

Q. Can a unit with the Fleet special rule assault
after disembarking from a transport?
A. No, it cannot. The Fleet rule simply removes
the prohibition of assaulting after running.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Just to reiterate, everyone except Aldonis is correct.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest





Jupiter, The Eye of.

Gwar! wrote:Just to reiterate, everyone except Aldonis is correct.


Gwar (and by extension everyone bar the OP) is correct! Relentless Models cannot assault the same turn as Deep Striking (that ludicrous concept is the sole territory of Daemons )

www.qotpa.com - better than a kick in the nads!

The Official QOTPA Tale of Four Gamers

I also have a Facebook strangely enough...
 
   
Made in us
Calculating Commissar




Woodbridge, VA

Dark Lord Seanron wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Just to reiterate, everyone except Aldonis is correct.


Gwar (and by extension everyone bar the OP) is correct! Relentless Models cannot assault the same turn as Deep Striking (that ludicrous concept is the sole territory of Daemons )


And Vanguard Vets deep striking in via Jump Packs............ Can't think of any others off the top of my head.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Lictors

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior




Atlanta

Vulcha Boyz

Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win. -- Sun-tzu
The art of war is simple enough. Find out where your enemy is. Get at him as soon as you can. Strike him as hard as you can, and keep moving on. -- Ulysses S. Grant
Armies and records (w/l/d) (1v1 only)
Orks: ~8500pts -- 2009: 52/2/7 & 17/2/6 in RTTs -- Casual size 85% Painted
Empire: 7000pts -- 2009:19/6/11 & 3/1/5 in RTTs -- Casual size 50% Painted
Marines: 2000pts -- 2009: 4/2/0 -- 20% Painted
Kroot Mercenaries - ~1500pts -- 2009: 0/1/1
Vampire Counts: 1850pts -- 2009: 9/3/4 -- Paint? We're dead...
Skaven (Work in Progress) - ~4000pts -- 2012: 1/1/1 -- Unpainted
Tau (Work in Progress) - 1500pts -- 2012: 5/1/1 -- 20% Painted 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Hey guys, I'm just going to be over here disembarking my harlequins from my falcon then running and assaulting because fleet lets me assault after running.

Atleast this time around there aren't lots of people who are actually supporting the idea, that first ride was rough and unforgiving.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: