Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/15 06:18:00
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
The rules for Pha's Protection, claim that all shooting attacks against the unit that don't use BS must roll a 4+ or not shoot.
So how does that work with Cannons, Flame throwers, Stone throwers and other simmilar weapons?
After all you don't know if the protectd unit is being attacked by such attacks, until after the shot is made, because they don't target specific units but rather just scatter/bounce in a random pattern that can't be fully predicted.
Edit: I looked at the FAQs and couldnt find an answer if i missed something feel free to imnform me
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/08/15 06:19:43
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/15 07:01:55
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Big Fat Gospel of Menoth
The other side of the internet
|
I'd have to say it pertains as to who the intended target is. If the unit with Pha's is the "primary target" for the shot then they roll the 4+. If the shot scatters onto the target by luck of the dice, I'd say no as the roll is before. Most artillery it's pretty obvious who the opponent is trying to shoot so unless your opponent is REALLY trying to be a jerk, it shouldn't be a problem.
|
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
RAGE
Be sure to use logic! Avoid fallacies whenever possible.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/15 07:10:07
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Well i'm prepping for my 1st tourney so jerks might be a problem, hence why i'm askin
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/15 07:11:14
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Provo, UT
|
Surtur wrote:I'd have to say it pertains as to who the intended target is. If the unit with Pha's is the "primary target" for the shot then they roll the 4+. If the shot scatters onto the target by luck of the dice, I'd say no as the roll is before. Most artillery it's pretty obvious who the opponent is trying to shoot so unless your opponent is REALLY trying to be a jerk, it shouldn't be a problem.
+1
DarkAngelHopeful
|
"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267
I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.
Armies - Highelves, Dwarves |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/15 11:12:14
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You still declare a target unit with that shooting, so if you declare the unit with pha's then you have to roll the 4+.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 00:37:28
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:You still declare a target unit with that shooting, so if you declare the unit with pha's then you have to roll the 4+.
QFT I really hope you don't run into anyone that is that big of a jerk, because them arguing differently would be idiotic. Also you have to center a template over a target model, you can't shot into space and hope to scatter somewhere. Cannons and flamers also have to declare their intended target.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/16 00:38:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 04:42:40
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Sol wrote:Cannons and flamers also have to declare their intended target.
Thats just it i can't find where it says that, pointers please .
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 04:50:44
Subject: Re:Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Page 38 shooting summary #1 Nominate a unit to shot. Clear enough?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 04:58:15
Subject: Re:Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Ahh thanks, that should work
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 10:03:54
Subject: Re:Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Big Fat Gospel of Menoth
The other side of the internet
|
Sol wrote:Page 38 shooting summary #1 Nominate a unit to shot. Clear enough?
Actually we're referring to warmachines who nominate a point to shoot.
|
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
RAGE
Be sure to use logic! Avoid fallacies whenever possible.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 10:17:43
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Stonethrowers have to nominate a point on a unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 10:40:13
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Big Fat Gospel of Menoth
The other side of the internet
|
No you don't. You may fire a stonethrower anywhere in LoS. If you target a unit specifically, you must nominate a point on the unit.
|
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
RAGE
Be sure to use logic! Avoid fallacies whenever possible.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 12:23:15
Subject: Re:Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Surtur wrote:Actually we're referring to warmachines who nominate a point to shoot.
Finally someone sees the point of this whole thread.
Now then how's that situation handled under RAW
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 12:45:58
Subject: Re:Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Provo, UT
|
HoverBoy wrote:Surtur wrote:Actually we're referring to warmachines who nominate a point to shoot.
Finally someone sees the point of this whole thread.
Now then how's that situation handled under RAW
So, what you're getting at is, if a unit has Pha's Protection and a warmachine chooses to target a point just outside of the unit and then the template scatters on top of the unit, how do you deal with that, right?
|
"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267
I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.
Armies - Highelves, Dwarves |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 12:47:16
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If you do not target the unit then you do not get any bonus from pha's protection, as they are not the targetted unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 12:47:34
Subject: Re:Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
DarkAngelHopeful wrote:HoverBoy wrote:Surtur wrote:Actually we're referring to warmachines who nominate a point to shoot.
Finally someone sees the point of this whole thread.
Now then how's that situation handled under RAW
So, what you're getting at is, if a unit has Pha's Protection and a warmachine chooses to target a point just outside of the unit and then the template scatters on top of the unit, how do you deal with that, right?
Thats it.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 13:39:56
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Cannon - can be aimed at a point on the table, therefore if you do not target the Pha'd unit no protection
FLamethrowers - have to be fired at a target in LOS, from context "target" always refers to an enemy unit unless specified otherwise. So if you target the Pha'd unit you would gain protection.
Stonethrowers - as for cannon, same Pha'd protection as for cannon
So only flamethrowers have a definite enemy unit target, and are therefore least likely to be able to avoid Pha's rules. Anything that declares a non-Pha-unit entity as target (e.g. the ground) will not trigger Pha, even with scattering into a Pha'd unit, as they have not targetted Pha's unit.
In other words it doesnt make a huge amount of difference to cannons, just stops you placing the stonethrower template direclty above the unit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/16 13:42:43
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Rightio, throwers and cannons fire away till the next FAQ hits
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 15:57:57
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
The new FAQ hit, the spell works now.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 16:25:09
Subject: Pha's Protection and warmachines?
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Yes, on first read, I kind of like how they've solved it...
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
|