Switch Theme:

Crowe scoring  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Can Crowe be made to Score through Grand Strategy? He doesn't have the IC rule, but he is Infantry (character). Does the (character) bit matter?

Edit: Guess I should include my interpretation. I would say yes, he could benefit because he is Infantry. (character) is merely describing what sort of Infantry he is and there is no restriction toward Infantry (or their types - except if they have the IC rule), just that the recipient is Infantry (or Jump Infantry, or Monstrous Creature). Mordrak is the same - Infantry (character) and he has been specifically omitted whereas Crowe has not.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2011/06/18 04:12:16


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Infantry is the only bit that matters; Crowe can be made scoring no problem; Character does not automatically mean IC; the BRB character rules mostly talk about IC but at the beginning of the section they also speak on Upgrade and Special Characters.

Crowe is a Special Character and not an IC; nor either of the 2 other forbidden units.

Funny bit is that while Mordak's unit is forbidden Mordak without a unit to start is fair game.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

My thoughts too. And that is good, because my Purifier list needs someone to sit back on the C&C while the Purifiers move up the field.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






His unit type is "Infantry (character)" not "Infantry."
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






bushido wrote:His unit type is "Infantry (character)" not "Infantry."


So no units can ever gain any of the Grand strategy as each and every one of them include an upgrade character?

Similarly a terminator squad with Justicar Thrawn is forbidden as he is a Special Character(and he is also unit type: Infantry (Character))?


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






What? Squad upgrade characters don't have a different unit type than the unit they're purchased for (special characters like Thawn being the obvious exception).

A normal troop unit with an IC joined to them can still claim objectives (the squad doesn't suddenly become an HQ choice when a character joins it), so I'm not even sure where your argument is coming from.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/18 04:51:55


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






My argument is that he is infantry; and Thrawn is also infantry(Character), and is a special Upgrade character(not an IC).

Crowe is not an IC, which is the Forbidden type of Infantry; therefore Crowe is eligible(the Same as a Termie unit with Thawn).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

If something affects vehicles, does not it not affect tanks because they're called Vehicle (Tank) and not simply 'Vehicle'?

Here's my point: Not all vehicles are tanks, but all tanks are vehicles. The same is true for this situation. Not all Infantry are Infantry (character), but all Infantry (character) are Infantry; therefore, they follow every rule and have no exceptions to the rule, of Grand Strategy. If something affects a vehicle, it may affect a skimmer, a walker, a tank, etc. Something like Machine Curse doesn't specify because it affects the set of unit and therefore, its subsets. I believe this to be the same situation.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/06/18 05:41:12


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

puma713 wrote:If something affects vehicles, does not it not affect tanks because they're called Vehicle (Tank) and not simply 'Vehicle'?

Here's my point: Not all vehicles are tanks, but all tanks are vehicles. The same is true for this situation. Not all Infantry are Infantry (character), but all Infantry (character) are Infantry; therefore, they follow every rule and have no exceptions to the rule, of Grand Strategy. If something affects a vehicle, it may affect a skimmer, a walker, a tank, etc. Something like Machine Curse doesn't specify because it affects the set of unit and therefore, its subsets. I believe this to be the same situation.


I agree. A different interpretation would lead to walkers and tanks being immune to grenades, which is just silly.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, he can score (etc). He features on the list of allowed types, and doesnt feature on the list of disallowed types.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: