Switch Theme:

Power of the Machine Spirit question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Space Marine




Rochester, NY

Just a quick question for you guys.

Say a Land Raider Crusader blows up another Land Raider with it's Multi-Melta, can it then use "power of the machine spirit" to fire it's assault cannon at that occupants that just piled out of the other raider?

It was my assumption that no, they cannot. The two weapons being fired must be declared before any dice are rolled.

What does Dakka think? Need some rulebook clarification on this as I didn't see it in the INAT


 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus



Boston, MA

No, you cannot. All shots must be declared, and occur, at the same time.

Going to the Feast of Blades Invitational! Check out my blog.

http://prometheusatwar.com/

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Sir_Prometheus wrote:No, you cannot. All shots must be declared, and occur, at the same time.

Agreed.

This is the same situation as an infantry unit using their melta or missile launcher to pop a transport. The rest of the squad CANNOT shoot the passengers.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Sir_Prometheus wrote:No, you cannot. All shots must be declared, and occur, at the same time.


Exactly, first sentence under check line of sight & pick a target on page 76 main rules says you can't split a unit's fire among different targets.

POTMS is still the vehicle firing so is the same unit as the vehicle.

A vehicle and it's occupants could fire at different targets because they are 2 separate units.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Gun Mage





In the Chaos Wastes, Killing the Chaos scum of the north

I agree that you can't since they must be declared at the same time, but, there is no restriction on using POTMS on a different target, it says so in the codex, IIRC

 Thortek wrote:


Was she hot? I'd totally bang a cougar for some minis.

Wanna see some Cygnar? Witty coments? Mediocre painting? Check this out! 
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






time wizard wrote:
Sir_Prometheus wrote:No, you cannot. All shots must be declared, and occur, at the same time.


Exactly, first sentence under check line of sight & pick a target on page 76 main rules says you can't split a unit's fire among different targets.

POTMS is still the vehicle firing so is the same unit as the vehicle.

A vehicle and it's occupants could fire at different targets because they are 2 separate units.


Right, but POTMS allows you to fire at a different unit. Same as Long Fangs.

- 3000
- 145 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Shrike325 wrote:Right, but POTMS allows you to fire at a different unit. Same as Long Fangs.

Yes, it lets you fire at a different target... but that target has to be declared at the same time as the rest of the vehicle's shooting, and is resolved at the same time.

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

insaniak wrote:
Shrike325 wrote:Right, but POTMS allows you to fire at a different unit. Same as Long Fangs.

Yes, it lets you fire at a different target... but that target has to be declared at the same time as the rest of the vehicle's shooting, and is resolved at the same time.


Quite correct, the POTMS shot can be fired at a different target just at the same time as the vehicle.
Sorry for any confusion.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: