Switch Theme:

The Comprehensive Necron FAQ  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

NOTE: I am creating an article version of this FAQ soon. In addition, the article version will contain a second version of the FAQ including all of the answers I would pick if the decision were up to me. I may even include reasoning for the dicier ones. I will link below when it's up:
Not ready yet!!!

If you are interested in the many issues not dealt with in the GW FAQ, this is the place for you. This thread is designed solely to do one thing: aid players, play groups, tournaments, and tournament organizers in coping with some of the tesseracted and labrynthine rules issues in Codex: Necrons.

Anyone can now download the most recent version of the FAQ attached at the bottom of this post.

1. If you want to be the first to have a digital copy whenever a new version is released, pm me with your e-mail. Beware. It is around 60 pages and not for the faint of heart.
2. Once you have your copy, look through the interpretations. If you think they are not comprehensive, pm me and let me know why.
3. Print it out, or keep it on your ipad. Highlight or circle the interpretation your play group likes the most.
4. GET HAMMERING!

ISSUES RESOLVED BY GW FAQ (no longer included in this FAQ): 31
KNOWN ISSUES SO FAR (included in this FAQ): 113
KNOWN ISSUES UNADDRESSED (to be included in next update of the FAQ): 0

*All rules interpretations marked with an asterisk are strict (but perhaps not prudent) RaW.

This is where I put questions that will be added in the next update of the PDF:
No new questions at this time.

This is where I put the WiP notes:
Spoiler:

EDIT 11/14/11: Updated with several new questions. Working on numbering the questions for easy reference. Will be doing further updates throughout the day.
EDIT 11/27/11: Apologies for not updating recently. SKYRIIIM!! I mean...I've been...busy... Actually, my laptop died, so I've been forced to use a crappy desktop that has none of my word document form of this FAQ saved on it. Anywho, a few more questions need to get added. Off to do that now.
EDIT 11/30/11: Massive update. Finished CCBs, which was a huge section. Almost to special characters!!!
EDIT 12/5/11: Very sick; didn't get to update on my days off. Tossed in some questions from the weekend.
EDIT 12/6/11: Still sick. Updated questions previous to current completion bar.
EDIT 1/15/12: Finally got back from vacation and got over FAQ depression. Will be updating throughout the day.
EDIT: 1/16/12: OMG GW FAQ!!! Many of the questions I already answered have been deleted, and thankfully most of them were the bigger problem issues. I have finished simplifying and updating my FAQ to remove those rulings covered by GW in said FAQ. Also completed everything up through Zandrekh and Obyron. I plan to be done (at the latest) by the end of the month.
EDIT: 1/18/12: Updating again, will continue through the day. Finished!
BULK COMPLETE EDIT: The FAQ is finished, at least for now. There may be unanswered questions still out there, and you can bet this thread will resurface when 6th comes out. If more questions come up, feel free to send them my way, and I will put them in the FAQ posthaste. I will now begin work on the documented copy of this FAQ. Please pm me if you want a copy.
PDF EDIT: The FAQ is finished unless there are more questions MIA. I now also have a fully edited and fully formatted PDF available to anyone who wants it. It is rather lengthy, however, and thus is not for the faint of heart.
EDIT: 1/20/12: Version 1.0 is finished, the thread is now updated and not gigantic, and I just found out there are a lot of ease-of-use issues with 1.0, so I will be releasing 1.1 shortly, which will include another 6 new questions. I've decided to change the thread to a platform from which people can download the full FAQ, rather than search for one question amongst a hundred. From now on, the only questions here will be those that have not yet been included in the PDF copy of the FAQ.
EDIT: 2/3/12: Version 1.1 is out there, and version 1.2 will be forthcoming shortly. I have decided that whenever I have seven or more new questions, I will release a new version of the FAQ. This way anyone who wants to download the new version doesn't have to constantly revisit this thread.
EDIT: 2/23/12: Version 1.2 is finished and will be available for download shortly. Took me longer than I thought, but I updated the whole thing for ease-of-use as well as clarifying some confusing answers, and, of course, adding new questions.

THANK YOU to everyone who helped and sent questions. I think this is going to be nigh-comprehensive until 6th comes out due to your aid.
 Filename Necron FAQ (Digital Copy).pdf [Disk] Download
 Description The Comprehensive Necron FAQ Version 1.2
 File size 764 Kbytes

This message was edited 199 times. Last update was at 2012/02/14 00:38:36


Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Rhizome 9

This is looking to be a giant FAQ....

What counts as Trazyn being removed as a casualty for the purpose of Surrogate Hosts? Would things such as Deep Strike mishaps, JoTWW, Death or Glory, allow for him to be replaced, assuming he made his D6 roll?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/10 02:28:52





 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

BSent wrote:This is looking to be a giant FAQ....

What counts as Trazyn being removed as a casualty for the purpose of Surrogate Hosts? Would things such as Deep Strike mishaps, JoTWW, Death or Glory, allow for him to be replaced, assuming he made his D6 roll?


JoTWW doesnt remove models as casualties, mishaps aren't listed as being removed as casualties either, again the same with DoG.

JoTWW SW Codex
DS Mishaps BGB 95
DoG BGB 69

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/10 03:03:39


   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






The giant mess up involving when and how to place scarabs into a unit from the Spyders should be addressed as well.

ie- can 9 spiders conga line a unit of swarms across no mans land to start the game next to the opponent?

edit- My bad its in there I thought I saw them all.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/10 07:28:55


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, they really cant, and a FAQ will probably be worded to reflect how incredulous the studio are that you could ever thin that way.

Removed as a casualty is removed as a casualty. Removed from play is not the same thing, so any time you are "removed as a casualty" you can use an ability that triggers off being removed as a casualty.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





nosferatu1001 wrote:No, they really cant, and a FAQ will probably be worded to reflect how incredulous the studio are that you could ever thin that way.

Yes, yes the really can, and yes, this will be FAQed most likely to reflect the wording introduced in the RP rule. Why they didn't already do this is beyond me.

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They "can" in so much as any opponent seeing you attempt this would a) ask if you're serious and b) shake your hand and wish you a good day if you answer that you are.

So, in practice, no, no they cannot.
   
Made in us
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard






San Diego

If a necron lord, overlord, special character, or cryptek started the game joined to a squad of necron warriors and were removed as casualties during the course of the game, could the ghost ark revive them?

I want an answer to this one. I'm guessing it will be ruled that only Necron Warriors can be revived in this manner, but as the rule is worded now it simply says add d3 models to the unit. Common sense dictates that this cannot be extrapolated to mean add ANY models to the unit (I so want to add d3 C'tan Shards to the unit. Perhaps they won't be so abysmally crushed in melee!), but one could easily argue that any model that was originally part of the unit when it was deployed could be added back to the unit, and extremists could argue that you could add d3 of any model that was part of the unit as long as it doesn't take them past starting size (Yay for 20 Harbingers of Destruction!). I'm interested to see how this one goes.

"Duty is heavier than a mountain, death lighter than a feather."

Proud supporter of Scott the Paladin. Long Live Scott! 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

Oh boy...someone should send all this to GW. THey have a lot of explaining to do.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

I will be sending this to GW. I want to show them how much I really care about the integrity of their game and the Necron army and codex especially, and hopefully they will return the enthusiasm. Besides, if you type up the questions and send them, they tend to find their way almost verbatim into the FAQ if they're well thought-out and have general relevance to most games.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





nosferatu1001 wrote:They "can" in so much as any opponent seeing you attempt this would a) ask if you're serious and b) shake your hand and wish you a good day if you answer that you are.

So, in practice, no, no they cannot.

Currently, the rules permit it. Whether or not it's cheese is another debate.

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Never said cheese, at all.

Hence the words "in practice", apparently you missed them.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





nosferatu1001 wrote:Never said cheese, at all.

Hence the words "in practice", apparently you missed them.

I never said yo did. You implied it:

"a) ask if you're serious and b) shake your hand and wish you a good day if you answer that you are.

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Cheese is not the same thing as incredibly obviously broken "interpretation" of a rule.
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Kitzz,

I didn't see a question regarding Solar Pulse ending Imotekh's Night Fighting abilities (not Lightning, actual Night Fighting). I know the general concensus is that it does not actually affect Imotekh's ability, but it might be a question worth asking.

If you use a Solar Pulse in your opponent's turn, can Imotekh still choose to "keep Night Fighting rules in play" for following turns (starting with the next Game turn)?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/11 22:25:05


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Kitzz wrote:Ok, there's like 9001 threads dealing with necron rules issues, and the arguments involved with them. This thread is intended to stifle some of that chaos. I will be updating it constantly.

This thread is designed solely to do one thing: aid players, play groups, tournaments, and tournament organizers in coping with some of the tesseracted and labrynthine rules isues in the new Codex: Necrons.


Here's how it works if you have a question:

1. READ THIS POST IN ITS ENTIRETY BEFORE POSTING.

2. After doing so, if you do not see your question dealt with, or on the wait list to be dealt with, THINK CAREFULLY ABOUT EVERY RULES ASPECT OF YOUR QUESTION.

3. PLEASE DO NOT POST ANYHTING BESIDES NEW QUESTIONS.

4. If you have multiple unanswered questions, please post all of them. The more the merrier.

5. I will copy your question into this first post, assuming you followed the rules and aren't being a troll with your questions.

6. Guess what? You don't have to read any more posts after this one. All you have to do is reply to this one, because I'm copying everything into here. If you are wondering why your rule issue has not been posted yet, please pm me. I am not always on Dakka, but I tend to return every few days or so, and it may be that I have not had time to update your question to the list.


Here's how it works if you're a play group or TO looking for a generalized FAQ, rather than a single question (NOTE: this FAQ is not finished. When you see this parenthetical go away, then it is):

1. If you want a digital copy, pm me with your e-mail.

2. Once you have your copy, look through the interpretations. If you think they are not comprehensive, pm me and let me know why.

3. Print it out, or keep it on your ipad. Highlight and circle the interpretation your play group likes the most.

4. GET HAMMERING!




ISSUES SO FAR
*All rules interpretations marked with an asterisk are strict (but perhaps not prudent) RaW.

Is Reanimation Protocols a save? eg., can a model that is removed by tesseract labyrinth, Warp Rift, Heroic Sacrifice, etc. still get RP?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
BGB, p.20, Take Saving Throws:
Before the player removes any models as casualties, the owning player can test to see whether his troops avoid damage by making a saving throw.

Codex: Necrons, p. 29, Reanimation Protocols:
If a model with Reanimation Protocols is removed as a casualty, there is a chance that it will self-repair and return to play at the end of the current phase.
(and later)
At the end of the phase, after any Morale checks have been taken and fall back moves have been made, roll a d6 for each Reanimation Protocols counter next to the unit.

Codex: Grey Knights, p.26, Heroic Sacrifice:
If this attack hits, both models are removed as casualties with no saves of any kind allowed.

Codex: Necrons, p.82, Tesseract Labyrinth:
The victim must immediately roll equal to or under its remaining Wounds on a d6 or be trapped within the tesseract labyrinth forever. Remove as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed.

Possible interpretations:
*1. A model removed as a casualty does get RP if removed by effect worded as those above.
2. A model removed as a casualty does not get RP if removed by effects worded as those above.


It's not a save at all, it's never referred to as a save of any sort and since it comes into play after a model has been removed as a casualty, all saves have been attempted at that point already.

What happens if an Overlord is with a unit of necron warriors, the overlord is killed in combat, and the warriors subsequently flee?

Spoiler:


It's pretty clear in the rules that nothing would change about the Overlord being able to get back up as he has a different token on him separate from Reanimation Protocols and the fleeing part is relevant ONLY to Reanimation Protocols tokens. He gets back up as normal if the roll is passed.

How do Reanimation Protocols and Ever-Living interact when any joined character is wiped out along with its unit?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.29, Reanimation Protocols:
Note that characters do not count as part of the unit for the purposes of Reanimation Protocols - if a character is the only survivor of a unit, his presence is not sufficient to allow a Reanimation Protocols roll, so remove any remaining counters.

Codex: Necrons, p.29, Ever-Living:
If the model had joined a unit when it was removed as a casualty, and the roll was passed, it must be returned to play, with a singe wound, in coherency with that unit as explained in Reanimation Protocols.
(and later)
If the model cannot be placed, for whatever reason, it is lost and does not return.

Possible Interpretations:
*1. If any character is joined to a unit, and that unit is wiped out, both the character and the unit are destroyed for good.
2. If Royal Court members are joined to a unit, and that unit is wiped out, they and the unit are destroyed for good. Independent characters, however, can get up and join any squad within 3".
3. If Royal Court members are joined to a unit, and that unit is wiped out, they and the unit are destroyed for good. Independent characters, however, can get up and join any squad within 3" or get up as a single-model unit.
4. If Royal Court members are joined to a unit, and that unit is wiped out, they can get up as a single-model unit. Independent characters, however, can get up and join any squad within 3" or get up as a single model-unit.


Personally I'd rule it as anyone with "ever-living" can always attempt their roll. It seems though that #1 is the RAW but I feel it is a huge step backwards in the point of joining [necron] IC's to units. Yes I know lords and crypteks aren't IC's but they have the same rule as them for coming back.

Is a warrior, immortal, etc. unit considered destroyed for the purposes of PFP even if it has a royal court's Necron Lord, Cryptek, or Necron independent character? If so, is it considered destroyed immediately or only after the RP roll is made?

Spoiler:
Codex: Dark Eldar, p.25, Power from Pain:
Whenever a Dark Eldar unit with this rule destroys a non-vehicle enemy unit, it immediately gains a 'pain token'.

Codex: Necrons, p.29, Reanimation Protocols:
Note that characters do not count as part of the unit for the purposes of Reanimation Protocols - if a character is the only survivor of a unit, his presence is not sufficient to allow a Reanimation Protocols roll, so remove any remaining counters.

Codex: Necrons, p.29, Ever-Living:
If the model had joined a unit when it was removed as a casualty, and the roll was passed, it must be returned to play, with a singe wound, in coherency with that unit as explained in Reanimation Protocols.
(and later)
If the model cannot be placed, for whatever reason, it is lost and does not return.

Note: The answer to this question is heavily dependent on the answer to the previous one. Therefore I refer you to the interpretations there as background for the possible interpretations here.

Possible Interpretations:
*1. The unit is considered destroyed. As no joined character can make an Ever-Living roll to begin with, the DE squad immediately gains a pain token, two if the joined character was independent.
2. The unit is considered destroyed, but in only the case of an independent character, there are still models eligible for an ever-living roll. The DE unit immediately gains two pain tokens, and can potentially continue killing the independent character repeatedly for more.
3. The unit is considered destroyed, but in only the case of an independent character, there are still models eligible for an ever-living roll. The DE unit immediately gains two pain tokens, but can never get another by killing the same independent character if it returns to the table.
4. The unit is considered destroyed, but in only the case of an independent character, there are still models eligible for an ever-living roll. The DE unit immediately gains one pain token, immediately getting the second in the event of the independent character failing his EL roll.
5. The unit is considered destroyed, but any character is still eligible for an ever-living roll. The DE unit immediately gains a pain token in the case of a royal court character, and another in the case of an independent charcter, and can potentially continue killing either repeatedly for more.
6. The unit is considered destroyed, but any character is still eligible for an ever-living roll. The DE unit immediately gains a pain token in the case of a royal court character, and another in the case of an independent character, but can only continue killing the independent character repeatedly for more.
7. The unit is considered destroyed, but any character is still eligible for an ever-living roll. The DE unit immediately gains one pain token in the case of a royal court character, and another in the case of an independent character, but can never get another by killing either character if it returns to the table.
8. The unit is not really considered "destroyed," but this is only in the case of a royal court character. Only when he fails his EL test will the DE unit gain a pain token for killing the warrior, immortal, etc. unit. Independent characters offer no such assistance, giving up two pain tokens if they were joined and failed their EL roll.


I imagine it will remain the same as it was before where the unit doesn't count as a kill point until all members of the "original" unit are completely off the board for good. This doesn't include the court because they're technically not part of the original unit (a cryptek is not a warrior and vice versa).

Can lone necron independent characters be "farmed" for kill points?

Spoiler:

BGB, p.91, Annihilation, Victory Conditions:
At the end of the game, each player receives 1 'kill point' for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed.

Codex: Necrons, p.29, Ever-Living:
If the model had not joined a unit when it was removed as a casualty, and the roll was passed, it must be returned to play, with a singe wound, within 3" of the counter.

Possible Interpretations:
1. The character is considered destroyed. The other army immediately gains a kill point, and can potentially continue killing the character repeatedly for more.
2. The character is considered destroyed. The other army immediately gains a kill point, but can never get another by killing the same independent character if it returns to the table.
3. The character is not considered destroyed. The other army only gains a kill point upon his failure of the EL roll at the end of the phase.


Same as above, they're not counted for KP's until they're completely removed from the game. So, #3.

Can a Dark Eldar unit with PFP "farm" lone necron independent characters? In any case, when does it get its pain token?

Spoiler:

Codex: Dark Eldar, p.25, Power from Pain:
Whenever a Dark Eldar unit with this rule destroys a non-vehicle enemy unit, it immediately gains a 'pain token'.

Codex: Necrons, p.29, Ever-Living:
If the model had not joined a unit when it was removed as a casualty, and the roll was passed, it must be returned to play, with a singe wound, within 3" of the counter.

Possible Interpretations:
1. The character is considered destroyed. The DE unit immediately gains a pain token, and can potentially continue killing the character repeatedly for more.
2. The character is considered destroyed. The DE unit immediately gains a pain token, but can never get another by killing the same independent character if it returns to the table.
3. The character is not considered destroyed. The DE unit only gains a pain token upon his failure of the EL roll at the end of the phase.


Again, #3.

For the purposes of Soul-trap, Aniumus Vitae, etc. is a necron awaiting its RP roll counted as a "killed" model? How are effects relying on this status determined and when?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.29, Reanimation Protocols:
If a model with Reanimation Protocols is removed as a casualty, there is a chance that it will self-repair and return to play at the end of the current phase.

Codex: Dark Eldar, p.60, Aniumus Vitae:
If the bearer kills one or more enemy models in a round of combat (including vehicles), he may take a Leadership test at the end of the round.

Codex: Dark Eldar, p.62, Soul-trap:
Whenever the bearer kills an enemy Independent Character or Monstrous Creature, he can choose to take a leadership test.

Possible Interpretations:
1. Whether a model is killed or not is determined after it has rolled RP. Only if it fails that roll is it "killed." Once this occurs, an effect such as that of the Animus Vitae can be retroactively applied by the model weilding it, even though the Leadership check is normally taken at the end of combat, and not at the end of the phase.
2. Whether a model is killed or not is determined after it has rolled RP. Only if it fails that roll is it "killed." Once this occurs, an effect such as that of the Animus Vitae cannot be retroactively applied by the model weilding it, because the Leadership check is normally taken at the end of combat, and not at the end of the phase.
3. A model is considered "killed" when it is removed as a casualty. This means that an effect such as the Animus Vitae's can be applied multiple times to the same model, should that model continue to return to play and be killed repeatedly.
4. A model is considered "killed" when it is removed as a casualty. This means that an effect such as the Animus Vitae's can be applied only once to each necron model. If such a model succeeds on its RP roll, it retroactively removes the effects of the Animus Vitae, as it wasn't actually "killed." The model with the Animus Vitae can repeatedly kill the necron model to regain its effects, and will permanently gain them only when the necron model fails its RP roll.
5. A model is considered "killed" when it is removed as a casualty, but an effect such as the Animus Vitae's can be applied only once to each necron model. If such a model succeeds on its RP roll, it does not retroactively remove the effects of the Animus Vitae.


In keeping in-line with the previous questions, it would fall under the same scrutiny where the bonus shouldn't be applied until after the RP/EL rolls are made.

Is a Necron model considered "destroyed" or "killed" by a unit preventing its RP or EL rolls by occupying the space in which they could occur? Is the Tally of Pestilence, PFP, or a similar effect activated similarly, as well as being activated by forcing necron units to fall back and negating their RP rolls, even if another unit was responsible for placing the RP counters?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.29, Reanimation Protocols:
If the unit makes a fall back move, remove any counters from it - any damaged Necrons are left behind and self-destruct rather than risk capture by the enemy.
(and later)
Models returning to play in this fashion must be placed at least 1" from enemy models.

Codex: Necrons, p.29, Ever-Living:
In either case, the model must be placed at least 1" away from enemy models.

Codex: Chaos Daemons, p.52, The Tally of Pestilence:
Whilst Epidemius is on the table, keep a count of all models killed by followers of Nurgle (i.e. any Daemon of Nurgle, or model with the Mark of Nurgle, both friends and enemies) anywhere on the table.

Codex: Dark Eldar, p.25, Power from Pain:
Whenever a Dark Eldar unit with this rule destroys a non-vehicle enemy unit, it immediately gains a 'pain token'.

Possible Interpretations:
1. RP rolls are made after models have been removed as casualties, as this is when a model is "killed." Because of this, no necron models can be "killed" or "destroyed" in this way.
2. A necron model is "killed" only after it fails its RP roll. Because it isn't even capable of getting one in these situations, it isn't counted as "killed" or "destroyed," but is still removed from play.
3. A necron model is "killed" only after it fails its RP roll. Because it effectively is automatically failing its RP roll due to these circumstances, it counts as "killed" or "destroyed" when it is denied its RP roll. If multiple units are responsible for the circumstances, the "kill" or "destruction" can only be attributed to one unit, selected among the eligible units by the non-necron player.


Only if the models that blocked the necron from being placed ALSO caused the destruction of the necron.

Does the vehicle armor-reducing ability of an attack with entropic Strike apply immediately after the hit and before rolling for actual armor penetration (and thus could be modified by the strike effect)?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.29, Entropic Strike:
For each hit a vehicle suffers from a weapon or model with this special rule, roll a d6. For each result of 4+ it immediately loses 1 point of Armor Value from all facings.

Possible Interpretations:
*1. The armor facing is reduced immediately, meaning before any penetration rolls are made.
2. "Immediately" is meant to mean immediately after the full attack step at the scarab's initiative.


Yes, it's pretty clear in the codex when it is supposed to be applied.

Is a model that lost a wound (and an armor save) from an entropic strike different from then on for the purposes of wound allocation?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.29, Entropic Strike:
Any model that suffers one or more unsaved Wounds from a weapon or model with this special rule immediately loses its armor save for the remainder of the battle (effectively altering its armour save to a '-').

BGB, p.26, Units of Multiple-Wound Models:
Multiple-wound models in the unit that are unique are rolled for individually and their unsaved wounds must be recorded seperately.

Possible Interpretations:
1. As the model now has a different stat line, it can be allocated to separately because it is unique.
2. As the affected model only "effectively" has an armor save of "-," its profile is actually unaffected, and thus must be wound allocated as though it was still capable of making the save in its stat line.


This hardly matters because most multi-wound models will be rolled for separately anyway, but in the case where you have a unit of MW models all equipped the same, then yes I'd say you allocate and roll for them as you would any complex unit.

Does a model that rolled a 4+ on a Feel No Pain roll still suffer the reduction in armor save from Entropic Strikes?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.29, Entropic Strike:
Any model that suffers one or more unsaved Wounds from a weapon or model with this special rule immediately loses its armor save for the remainder of the battle (effectively altering its armour save to a '-').

BGB, p.75, Feel no Pain:
If a model with this ability suffers an unsaved wound, roll a dice.

Possible interpretations:
*1. Yes, the model loses its armor save.


It's still an unsaved wound as far as armor save goes and it's been stated many times before that FNP is not a "save", similar to RP. They simply shrug off the damage that caused the wound, not the effect of the hit.

Entropic Strike triggers off of hits against vehicles, however you do not allocate hits to vehicle squadrons. You allocate glancing or penetrating hits to vehicle squadrons. So what happens when you attack a vehicle squadron with a model that has Entropic Strike?

Spoiler:

Possible Interpretations:

1 - Nothing happens. Hits are not allocated so the ability does not trigger against squadrons of vehicles.
2 - All vehicles in the squadron suffer Entropic Strike. The model(s) are attacking the squadron, and since nothing is allocated until damage results are rolled, that must mean that all vehicles in the squadron suffer the effects.
3 - Each individual vehicle in the squadron takes hits individually. If a unit of Leman Russ Battle Tanks is assaulted by a unit of Scarabs and only one vehicle is in assault range, only that vehicle suffers hits from Entropic Strike. After Entropic Strike is applied, damage results are rolled and allocated across the unit using the majority armor value. If multiple vehicles are struck, hits are applied to those vehicles that are struck from the models that struck them and the same process is used.


My interpretation is that if it's a ranged attack that has entropic strike, the defender allocates which model(s) take the entropic effect (divided evenly). If it's a close combat attack, only the model in B2B with the assaulting unit should lose armor value.

If a vehicle with armor 9 or less is next to another exploding vehicle, how is its facing determined? What if one of the exposed facings is armor 10? Is the explosion’s strength halved and rounded down to 1 as for blast weapons?

Spoiler:


It's not a blast marker so it is not halved. The facing that is hit is whatever facing the majority of the exploding vehicle was in when it blew up.

How do Lychguard Disperson Shields work against blast and template weapons? The templates are not relocated but is the Str and AP still relocated?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.35, Dispersion Sheild:
If this save is made against a shooting attack, choose an unengaged enemy unit within 6" - that unit suffers a single hit with a Strength and AP equal to that of the initial shot.
(and later)
This does not cause templates or blast markers to be repositioned.

Possible Interpretations:
*1. Yes, the shot is reflected.


Ya, pretty much what you said.

What facings do reflected shots from dispersion sheilds harm on vehicles? What if the squad lies in multiple facings? Do the Lychguard count as "firing?"

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.35, Dispersion Sheild:
If this save is made against a shooting attack, choose an unengaged enemy unit within 6" - that unit suffers a single hit with a Strength and AP equal to that of the initial shot.

BGB, p.60, Vehicle Facing and Armor Values:
If a unit has firing models in two different facings of a target vehicle (some models in the front and some models in the side, for example), shots are resolved seperately for the two facings.

BGB, p.20, Take Saving Throws:
On the other hand, it is common for units to include models with different weapons or wargear and characters with different profiles (and sometimes even different armor). In these cases we need to know exactly who has been wounded, and this requires an extra step in the shooting process.

BGB, p.25, Take Saving Throws:
Having allocated all of the wounds, all of the models in the unit that are identical in gaming terms take their saving throws at the same time, in one batch.

BGB, p.16, Check Line of Sight & Pick a Target:
A firing unit can choose a single enemy unit that is not locked in combat as its target, and may not split its fire among different targets.

BGB, p.15, Disallowed Shooting:
Certain situations prevent a unit from shooting. The most common are:
Units that are locked in close combat with the foe.
Units that are running (see overleaf).
Units that have gone to ground because of enemy fire in the previous turn.

Possible Interpretations:
1. The reflected shot has not been "fired," and since all of the saves are rolled simultaneously, the tank suffers as many hits on any facing of the Necron player's choice any lychguard are in, no matter how many Lychguard are in that facing.
2. The reflected shot has not been "fired," and since all of the saves are rolled simultaneously, the tank suffers as many hits on its side armor, no matter how many Lychguard are in that facing.
3. The reflected shot has not been "fired," and since all of the saves are rolled simultaneously, the tank suffers as many hits on its front armor, no matter how many Lychguard are in that facing.
4. The reflected shot has not been "fired," and since all of the saves are rolled simultaneously, the tank suffers as many hits on the facing the majority of the Lychguard are in. If there are equal numbers across facings, randomly determine which facing is hit with all of the shots.
5. The reflected shot has not been "fired," and since all of the saves are rolled simultaneously, the tank suffers as many hits on the facing the majority of the Lychguard are in. If there are equal numbers across facings, randomly determine which facing is hit with each shot individually.
6. The reflected shot has been "fired," but this was fired by the unit originally doing the shooting. The affected tank suffers a hit on the facing the original firing model was facing. A vehicle that hits itself in this fashion is hit on whatever facing the majority of the Lychguard are in. If the there are equal numbers across facings, randomly determine which facing is hit with all of the shots.
7. The reflected shot has been "fired," but this was fired by the unit originally doing the shooting. The affected tank suffers a hit on the facing the original firing model was facing. A vehicle that hits itself in this fashion is hit on whatever facing the majority of the Lychguard are in. If the there are equal numbers across facings, randomly determine which facing is hit with each individual shot.
8. The reflected shot has been "fired," but it is fired by the Lychguard. Resolve it as a normal out-of-sequence shooting attack against the vehicle, with an exception: each sheild save that is made reflects the shot it saved against. This means that you must roll each Lychguard's saves individually, to determine how it is they are firing against the vehicle after making their saves. As it does count as "firing," the Lychguard cannot use this ability while in close combat or while pinned by enemy fire.
9. The reflected shot has not been fired by the lychguard, but still resolve it as a normal out-of-sequence shooting attack against the vehicle, with an exception: each sheild save that is made reflects the shot it saved against. This means that you must roll each Lychguard's saves individually, to determine how it is they are firing against the vehicle after making their saves. As it does not count as "firing," the Lychguard can use this ability while in close combat or while pinned by enemy fire.


I would count the lychguard as the firing unit and thus follow all LOS rules for shooting at a vehicle.

Can cover saves be taken against shots reflected by dispersion sheilds? If so, where does LoS originate from?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.35, Dispersion Sheild:
If this save is made against a shooting attack, choose an unengaged enemy unit within 6" - that unit suffers a single hit with a Strength and AP equal to that of the initial shot.

BGB, p.21, When are Models in Cover?:
When any part of the model's body (as defined on page 16) is obscured from the point of view of the firer, the target model is in cover.

BGB, p.16, Check Line of Sight & Pick a Target:
A firing unit can choose a single enemy unit that is not locked in combat as its target, and may not split its fire among different targets.

BGB, p.15, Disallowed Shooting:
Certain situations prevent a unit from shooting. The most common are:
Units that are locked in close combat with the foe.
Units that are running (see overleaf).
Units that have gone to ground because of enemy fire in the previous turn.

BGB, p.22, Exceptions, Own unit:
In the same way as they trace a line of sight through members of their own squad, models can always shoot, and be shot at, through members of their own unit without conferring or receiveing a cover save.

Possible Interpretations:
1. Lychguard count as "firing" when they reflect a shot. Even so, no cover saves may be taken against their reflection attacks. As it does count as "firing," the Lychguard cannot use this ability while in close combat or while pinned by enemy fire.
2. Lychguard count as "firing" when they reflect a shot. Therefore, cover saves may be taken against their reflection attacks. As it does count as "firing," the Lychguard cannot use this ability while in close combat or while pinned by enemy fire.
3. Lychguard do not count as "firing" when they reflect a shot, but their target still gets a cover save according to the normal shooting rules.
4. Lychguard do not count as "firing" when they reflect a shot, and therefore no cover saves can be taken from reflected shots.
5. When the lychguard reflect a shot, the original unit counts as having fired it. If the unit the shot is reflected into is wounded, it takes cover saves as if the original firing unit was shooting it directly. If the unit has a shot that it fired reflected into itself, *it cannot get a cover save.
6. When the lychguard reflect a shot, the original unit counts as having fired it. If the unit the shot is reflected into is wounded, it takes cover saves as if the original firing unit was shooting it directly. If the unit has a shot that it fired reflected into itself, it still gets a cover save.


Same as above, replace vehicles for unit.

Do weapon types, such as melta, gets hot!, etc. apply to shots reflected by dispersion sheilds?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.35, Dispersion Sheild:
If this save is made against a shooting attack, choose an unengaged enemy unit within 6" - that unit suffers a single hit with a Strength and AP equal to that of the initial shot.

Possible Interpretations:
*1. No, they do not.
2. This was intended in the writing of dispersion sheilds. Yes, they do.

Why would they not?

Does breath of chaos or a similar attack count as a shooting attack for the purposes of dispersion sheilds? If so, how are they 'reflected'?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.35, Dispersion Sheild:
If this save is made against a shooting attack, choose an unengaged enemy unit within 6" - that unit suffers a single hit with a Strength and AP equal to that of the initial shot.

Codex: Chaos Daemons, p.73, Breath of Chaos:
Any models fully or partially under the template suffer one wound on a d6 roll of 4+, with no Armour or Cover saves allowed!

BGB, p.7, Zero-Level Characteristics:
Some creatures have been given a '0' for certain characteristics, which means they have no ability in that field (the same is also occaisonally represented by a '-').
(and later)
A defenceless model will have no attacks whatsoever, while a model with WS0 will be hit automatically by his enemies in close combat.

Possible Interpretations:
1. The reflected attack has no strength or AP. Therefore, it automatically fails to wound or penetrate, as it is a zero-level characteristic.
2. The reflected attack has no strength or AP. Therefore, it rolls on the To Wound chart, as though there were a column for zero-strength attacks, extrapolating the table mechanic to that strength level.
3. Dispersion sheilds were intended to reflect any shooting attack, and therefore the effects of special weapons like these are reflected as well.

Considering it has no strength and AP, it can't be reflected only saved against.

Does the Ctan Shard's Time's Arrow power have an effect on vehicles? Unlike other stat-based tests, such as jotww and them monolith's portal of exile, Time's Arrow does not state that Vehicles automatically pass the test. What about walkers? What if it was a transport with troops inside?

Spoiler:

Codex: Space Wolves, p.37, Jaws of the World Wolf:
Monstrous creatures, beasts, cavalry, bikes, and infantry models that are touched by this line must take an Initiative test (see Characteristic Tests in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook). If the model fails the test, it is removed from play.

Codex: Necrons, p.47, Portal of Exile:
When used, all enemy models (not units) that are within d6" of the Monolith's portal, and have line of sight to it, must immediately pass a strength test (models without a strength value automatically pass) or be removed as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed.

Codex: Necrons, p.41, Time's Arrow:
At the start of the assault phase, after assault moves have been made but before blows are struck, nominate one enemy model in base contact with the C'tan (if there are any)

BGB, p.7, Zero-Level Characteristics:
Some creatures have been given a '0' for certain characteristics, which means they have no ability in that field (the same is also occaisonally represented by a '-').

BGB, p.8, Characteristic Tests:
Of course, if a model has to take a test for one of its chracteristics with a value of 0, it automatically fails.

Possible Interpretations:
1. A C'tan Shard with the Time's Arrow power that forces a vehicle to take such a test will remove the vehicle as a casualty. If the vehicle was transporting models, they are removed as well.
2. A C'tan Shard with the Time's Arrow power that forces a vehicle to take such a test will remove the vehicle as a casualty. If the vehicle was transporting models, they are placed in the space that vehicle occupied, as if it had exploded, though no cratering or explosion actually occurs.
3. A C'tan Shard with the Time's Arrow power that forces a vehicle to take such a test will remove the vehicle as a casualty. If the vehicle was transporting models, treat them as though they were in a vehicle that exploded.
4. A C'tan Shard with the Time's Arrow power that forces a vehicle to take such a test will remove the vehicle as a casualty. The vehicle counts as exploding for all intents and purposes.
5. A C'tan Shard with the Time's Arrow power cannot force a vehicle to take a test, as Time's Arrow is intended to be incapable of harming vehicles.
6. A C'tan Shard with the Time's Arrow power cannot force a vehicle to take a test, as Time's Arrow is intended to be incapable of harming vehicles, unless that vehicle has an initiative higher than '-'.


Hard to say since one of the C'tan powers states that units without the specified stat automatically pass but in the rulebook it states (I believe?) that units without an initiative automatically fail I tests. And since the power itself doesn't specify, you'd have to go by the rulebook. It's ridiculously OP that way though.

Cleansing Flame/Mindshacke - Time's Arrow issue

Spoiler:


A C'tan shard's Writhing Worldscape upgrade causes all difficult terrain to become dangerous in the game. Orikan the Diviner causes all enemy units moving in the first turn to count as moving through difficult terrain. Does "count as" cause writhing worldscape to trigger, forcing all moving enemy units in the first turn to take dangerous terrain checks? Or, because it only "counts as" difficult terrain (and really isn't terrain), does it instead not become dangerous? Does this also apply for Termorstaves as well?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.41, Writhing Worldscape:
Whilst the C'tan Shard is on the battlefield, all difficult terrain is also dangerous for the enemy.

Codex: Necrons, p.57, Temporal Snares:
During the first game turn, all enemy units that move count as moving through difficult terrain.

Codex: Necrons, p.85, Quake:
All enemy units hit by a weapon with the Quake type treat open ground as difficult terrain during their next Movement phase.

BGB, p.13, Area Terrain:
You should discuss all such terrain features with your opponent before the game and agree exactly what everything counts as and where the boundaries of terrain features lie.

Possible Interpretations:
1. As open ground is "treated" as difficult terrain for Tremorstaves, and enemy units "count as" moving through difficult terrain for Temporal Snares, Writhing Worldscape does not apply to them, because they are not in actuality difficult terrain.
2. As open ground is "treated" as difficult terrain for Tremorstaves, and enemy units "count as" moving through difficult terrain for Temporal Snares, Writhing Worldscape does apply to them.
3. As open ground is "treated" as difficult terrain for Tremorstaves, Writhing Worldscape does apply to them, but because enemy units "count as" moving through difficult terrain for Temporal Snares, Writhing Worldscape does not apply to them.


Anything from the Daemons codex with Warpfire. Does it count as fire, or as magic ? ath of chaos is a template, so is the chem-cannon's toxic gas attack... And Destructor, and Thorax Swarm, and Strangleweb, and... well, you get my point. Would that mean that the GK "cleansing flame" ability is also covered? What about the Callidus Assassins Neural Shredder?

Spoiler:


How do Wraith's Whip Coils interact with initiative-boosting abilities like Furious Charge or Nemesis Force halberds?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.44, Whip Coils:
Whilst any enemy model is in base contact with a model with whip coils they count their initiative value as 1, regardless of their actual value.

BGB, p.75, Furious Charge:
In a turn in which they assaulted into combat they add +1 to both their initiative and Strength characteristics when attacking in close combat (note that this has no effect on the Initiative tests for sweeping advances).

Codex: Grey Knights, p.54, Nemesis Force Halberd:
In addition, the weilder of a Nemesis halberd strikes at +2 Initiative.

BGB, p.7, Multiple Modifiers:
If a model has a combination of rules or wargear that both add to and multiply one of its characteristics, first multiply the basic value and then add the extra points.

Possible Interpretations:
For each interpretation, assume a Grey Knight holds a nemesis force halberd and another item called "foo" that doubles his initiative. Normally, with his profile's Initiative of 4, he would have initiative 10.
1. Value-setting modifications take place before other modifiers. A Wraith with whip coils will thus reduce a model with a Nemesis halberd and a "foo" to initiative 4.
2. Value-setting modifications take place between other modifiers. A Wraith with whip coils will thus reduce a Grey Knight with a Nemesis halberd and a "foo" to initiative 3.
3. Value-setting modifications take place after other modifiers. A Wraith with whip coils will thus reduce a Grey Knight with a Nemesis halberd and a "foo" to initiative 1.


No, because the whip coils state they are initiative 1 regardless of the actual value, that includes whatever other modifiers.

Are transdimensional beamers really supposed to be assault weapons?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p. 82, Transdimensional Beamer, Type:
Heavy 1, Exile Ray

Possible Interpretations:
*1. No.


No, this is why you put a Phaeron with them.

Are the Scarabs created by Spyder Squad placed simultaneously? Or can a single squad of multiple Spyders each generate a Scarab sequentially, placing the scarab in unit coherency with the previously placed scarab (either option potentially greatly increasing the charge range of the unit)?

Spoiler:

This is perhaps the most controversial rule in this FAQ. Please keep that in mind.

Relevant Discussion:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/408474.page

Relevant Rules:***
Codex: Necrons, p.46, Scarab Hive:
At the start of each Necron Movement phase, a Canoptek Spyder that is not locked in close combat can expend energy to create a Canoptek Scarab Swarm.

Nominate a Canoptek Scarab unit within 6" and roll a D6. On the roll of a 2-6, add one base to the Canoptek Scarab unit - the base can move and act normally this turn. This can take the unit beyond its starting size. On a roll of 1, the Scarab base is still placed, however, the Canoptek Spyder is drained by the energy expenditure and suffers a Wound with no armour or cover saves allowed. If the Scarab base cannot be placed for any reason, it is destroyed.

***Author's Note: There is no other relevant rule to this particular issue. This rule I think very obviously will be FAQ'd be GW, but as it currently stands, no rules argument can be made to say that this tactic is illegal (though you will get glares from the opponents you use it against, of that I am also sure). I feel it necessary in this case to explain each school of thought on "beginning of turn" effects, in order to help people understand why this strategy works in each interpretation.

Possible Interpretations (of "beginning of Movement phase" effects):
1. If you are of the mind that effects like this one occur simultaneously, then each tomb spyder will create a scarab swarm, and there is no current restriction on distance or coherency, meaning the swarm could be placed anywhere, even 72" away in your opponent's deployment zone. If you place several swarms, and they are in coherency by the end of the following movement phase, no illegal play has been conducted.
2. If you are of the mind that effects like this are "triggered" at the beginning of the turn and resolved peicemeal, then each tomb spyder will create a swarm, one by one, and allow the "conga line" to continue however far it can stretch.
3. If you are of the mind that effects like this are "triggered" at the beginning of the turn in instances, but are then resolved simultaneously, consider again that there is no coherency requirement on the Scrab unit until the end of the movement phase, and even then all that is required of the unit is that it move into coherency in the movement phase after that.

Possible Interpretations (of the actual question):
*1. Yes. In any given interpretation of the coherency rules, resolution of triggers interpretation, or simultaneous interpretation, this is a legal tactic rules-wise.
2. This is not what GW meant to do. Scarabs should follow the coherency restrictions for placement just as they are listed in Reanimation Protocols rule, and all Scarab Hives must be used simultaneously.
3. This is not what GW meant to do. Scarabs should follow the coherency restrictions for placement just as they are listed in Reanimation Protocols rule, and all Scarab Hives must be triggered individually, but place their Scarabs simultaneously.
4. This is not exactly what GW meant to do. Scarabs should follow the coherency restrictions for placement just as they are listed in Reanimation Protocols rule, and all Scarab Hives must be triggered individually, but place their Scarabs base by base. (***Note: out of the non-RaW choices, this is the only one that still allows a "conga line" to occur, its scale is simply restricted.)


Can Scarabs generated by Spyders be added to Scarab units that are engaged in assault?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.46, Scarab Hive:
At the start of each Necron Movement phase, a Canoptek Spyder that is not locked in close combat can expend energy to create a Canoptek Scarab Swarm.

Nominate a Canoptek Scarab unit within 6" and roll a D6. On the roll of a 2-6, add one base to the Canoptek Scarab unit - the base can move and act normally this turn. This can take the unit beyond its starting size. On a roll of 1, the Scarab base is still placed, however, the Canoptek Spyder is drained by the energy expenditure and suffers a Wound with no armour or cover saves allowed. If the Scarab base cannot be placed for any reason, it is destroyed.

Possible Interpretations:
*1. Yes.
2. Yes, but models should be placed as if they were returning to the table as delineated in the Reanimation Protocols special rule.


Nothing precludes them from doing so, there's no reason they can't.

- Can Symbiotic Repair be used to preserve Quantum Shielding? IE, if My opponent shoots my Command Barge, scores a Penetrating hit and knocks my gun off, and I use Symbiotic Repair to take a wound instead of suffering the result, does the vehicle still lose Quantum Shielding? The vehicle has no longer suffered a result and the Overlord inside has instead suffered a wound.....

Spoiler:


I'd say yes, it's the point of the rule, but I'd have to look closer at the two rules.

If a monolith deep strikes, can it "disembark" a unit in that same turn?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.47, Dimensional Corridor:
At the start of the Movement Phase, choose one friendly unengaged non-vehicle Necron unit on the battlefield or in reserve. That unit immediately 'disembarks' from the Monolith's portal. Any models that cannot be placed are removed as casualties, but the move is otherwise treated exactly as disembarking from a vehicle that has moved at combat speed.

BGB, p.94, Rolling for Reserves:
At the start of each of his Movement phases except the first, before moving any unit, the player must roll a dice for each of his units in reserve.
(and later)
Note: you must roll for reserves as soon as possible and must bring them onto the talbe as soon as they are available.

BGB FAQ, p.7, Organising a Battle
Q: If a unit is in reserve, and it has an ability that occurs at the start of a turn can they use that ability on the turn they arrive? (p94)
A: No. Unless specifically stated otherwise.


Possible Interpretations:
*1. No.


Can a monolith 'disembark' monstrous creatures, beasts, jetbikes and jump infantry?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.47, Dimensional Corridor:
At the start of the Movement Phase, choose one friendly unengaged non-vehicle Necron unit on the battlefield or in reserve. That unit immediately 'disembarks' from the Monolith's portal. Any models that cannot be placed are removed as casualties, but the move is otherwise treated exactly as disembarking from a vehicle that has moved at combat speed.

Possible Interpretations:
*1. Yes, as long as it is not a vehicle.


If a gauss flayer array cannot draw los with all of its barrels, can it still shoot with all of its shots?

Spoiler:

Relevant Rules:
Codex: Necrons, p.48, Two gauss flayer arrays:
The Doomsday Ark has two separarte arrays of five gauss flayers - one located along each flank - enabling it to 'broadside' enemy units. The two arrays can shoot at different targets to each other and the doomsday cannon, although all guns in the same array must shoot at the same target.

Possible Interpretations:
*1. No, as each gun is still technically seperate.


Depends on the weapon profile. Does it says 5 gauss flayers or is it list as one gauss flayer with 5 shots?

- The Staff of the Destroyer and the Death Ray both cause a number of hits "equal to the number of models in the unit under the line". Does this mean they take a number of hits equal to the number of models actually touched by the line, or a number of hits equal to the total number of models in the unit? It seems to be worded in a slightly ambiguous manner, but the second interpretation is vastly more powerful than the first. (I'm assuming the first interpretation is correct but I can see it being debated)

Spoiler:


Honestly, I don't see why people have such a hard time understanding this and how anyone thinks it's "every model in the unit is hit". It's clear that if unit A has 4 models under the line and unit B has 1 model under the line then unit A takes 4 hits and unit b takes 1 hit.

- For the above weapons, can you roll the distance before selecting the starting point for the line, or do you have to pick the starting point, then roll, then draw the line? Additionally, are you allowed to pre-measure anywhere within 12" of the vehicle for the starting point or do you have to pick a point, measure to it and auto-miss if it lies outside of 12" much like weapons that use blast markers?

Spoiler:


Does a Necron Lord on a Catacomb Command Barge benefit from Furious Charge on a sweep attack?

Spoiler:

No, it is not an assault/charge move.

Do vehicles also not get cover saves against Sweep Attacks?

Spoiler:

No, it's a CC attack still and you don't get cover from CC.

Can special assault attacks such as mindshackle scarabs or tesseract labyrinths be used in a sweep attack?

Spoiler:

No, you're never in B2B with the enemy.

If so, and if they are one use only, do they apply to each sweep attack or just one?

Spoiler:


See above.

If they apply to just one, can the character revert to its other weapons for the remaining attacks?

Spoiler:


See double above.

Do flechette dischargers and other similar wargear work against sweep attacks?

Spoiler:


Not familiar with this wargear.

Can a sweep attack be used when passing "over" a flyer-based vehicle even though the flyer-based model is actually above the barge?

Spoiler:


I'd say it depends on what "flight mode" the flyer was using that round.

If a necron lord, overlord, special character, or cryptek started the game joined to a squad of necron warriors and were removed as casualties during the course of the game, could the ghost ark revive them?

Spoiler:


I'd say no as I'm pretty sure the ghost ark rules reference warrior units at least once.

Can a ghost ark revive models in a squad currently locked in combat?

Spoiler:


Same as the spiders, so long as the rule doesn't say "can't use this on models locked in combat".

If the ghost ark suffers a crew stunned or shaken result from using Repair Barge, is the living metal rule considered a save for the purposes of the same rule?

Spoiler:


If living metal states "anytime a ..... result is rolled...", but if the living metal rule specifies "anytime a .... result is rolled from a shooting attack...." then no.

If Obryon joins a flayed one pack and uses his ghostwalk mantle, can he choose to arrive with the flayed ones within 6" of the targeted bloodswarm nanoscarabs unit? What if a destroyer lord is attached to a flayed one pack in reserve and wishes to do the same?

Spoiler:


Pretty sure you can't use that to come in from reserves, and if they're not in the same unit when the FO arrives then he would not benefit from the bloodswarm (but they couldn't DS in unless obryon has the DS rule). I don't see why the D.Lord couldn't benefit from the rule since he is with the FO squad in reserve.

As squad leaders are characters, does Humiliating Defeat apply to them as well as independent characters?

Spoiler:


I slightly disagree with it, but I'd say yes.

Do Imotekh's lighting strikes still occur if a solar pulse is used on the necron turn, as the rules are still in effect, but merely cease to apply to the necron army for that turn?

Spoiler:


No, because the night fight rules cease to apply if a solar pulse is used, not just the effects.

Can units take cover saves from lightning strikes? What about vehicles?

Spoiler:


The units must be in area terrain (trees, ruins, craters, etc...) Vehicles can not as there is no firing model and thus no side of the vehicle is 50% hidden from the sky. Unless it's under a bridge I guess.

Are all of the rolls for lightning made simultaneously? i.e. are their targets all determined at once, are all the number of hits they cause determined before rolling them? Remember the chronometron.

Spoiler:


Pretty sure it says you roll for each unit, which would imply separately. Same for the D6 to determine hits.

Do imoteks lighning strikes hit units inside of vehicles?

Spoiler:


No, they're not on the table.

Is the Staff of Tomorrow a close combat weapon?

Spoiler:


For what reason exactly?

Can Trazyn the Infinite use the Empathetic Obliterator after causing wounds from a Command Barge sweeping attack?

Spoiler:


If it can only be used in CC, then no as he is not "locked in combat" and thus not technically in CC.

If trazyn causes a wound in combat and then dies, does the Empathetic Obliterator still activate at the end of combat?

Spoiler:


What counts as Trazyn being removed as a casualty for the purpose of Surrogate Hosts? Would things such as Deep Strike mishaps, JoTWW, Death or Glory, allow for him to be replaced, assuming he made his D6 roll?

Spoiler:


Does Zahndrekh's "Adaptive Tactics" on a Command Barge effect the sweep attack as well? Tank Hunter on the Barge also benefit the Lord's Sweep Attack?

Spoiler:


No, the lord and the barge are separate.

If a rending weapon is used by a unit that has the Tank Hunter USR, what values does its weapons rend on?

Spoiler:


Why would it be different than 6 as that is the rending rule?

If the enemy army has units awaiting to deep strike from reserve, can they use Phased Reinforcements to deep strike with any Necron units that are doing so?

Spoiler:


If Obryon is attached to Zandrekh's unit, can he choose to deepstrike anywhere without scatter, as he will always arrive within 6" of zandrekh?

Spoiler:


Yes, by RAW.

Is Obryon supposed to leave Zandrekh's unit if it is assaulted and he is joined to it? For example, assume Zandrekh and Obryon are both joined to a unit of Spyders (why not have 6 toughness for free?). Their unit is assaulted by ork boyz. RaW, it appears Obryon leaves Zandrekh and the Spyders, then piles in to the same combat anyway. If his side loses combat, is it intentional that he tests seperately?

Spoiler:


When does Obryon pile in after teleporting to Zandrek? Does he pile in after the first model successfully reaches Zandrek's unit or after all models are finished making the assault move, or before any assault moves are made at all?

Spoiler:


If it is before the current player's assault moves, is it possible for him to block an assault after it has been declared (by standing in the way of models near the end of the 6" charge range)?

Spoiler:


If he piles in later, can he choose to do so from any direction or does he still follow the normal pile-in moves?

Spoiler:


As he is an independent character, could he choose to pile in before Zandrekh in such a way that zandrekh's model cannot reach base contact with an enemy?

Spoiler:


Can an enemy vehicle effected by Anrakyr the Traveller's Mind in the Machine ability fire upon itself?

Spoiler:


No, a unit/model can not target itself [intentionally] for shooting.

If multiple mindshackle scarabs are targeting a unit, and the same model is selected at random multiple times, does it attack xd3 times or still just 1d3, where x is the number of times it has been randomly selected? Or does each mindshackle scarab have to randomly determine a different model than one that has already been selected?

Spoiler:


Still just 1d3 I'd say, but maybe xd3. Tough to say.

If a walker is in combat with a model with mindshackle scarabs, does it automatically fail its test and attack itself as it has no ld value?

Spoiler:


Typically models that have no leadership value are assumed to pass automatically, I believe that is in the rulebook (no I don't know the page, sorry).

How does Quantum Shielding work against Lance weapons?

Spoiler:


Kinda tough call, the actual AV of the vehicle IS 11, it simply has a +2. It just depends on when you technically apply the Lance rule and when you apply the QS rule, I guess.

The 'Arc' description of the tesla destructor's second effect says it happens after the "initial shot" has been resolved. As the Destructor has four shots, is the arc portion resolved four times?

Spoiler:


Nope, just once.

Can cover saves be taken from the arc attacks?

Spoiler:


Why not? Though it's all AP - anyway so it's rare that cover will be better than armor.

What facing are vehicles hit on when hit by arcs? If this is calculated based on the models in the originally targeted unit, what if they are split amongst its facings?

Spoiler:


Resolve from the firing unit/model as normal. It's no different than a deviating blast mark weapon still hitting a vehicle but not directly, even if the marker deviates and is only hitting the side of the vehicle, it's still considered to be whatever vehicle facing arc the firing unit/model was in (unless it's barrage of course).

Abyssal Staff causes wounds based on the targets leadership rather than toughness but is strength 8. Will it cause instant death to a toughness 4 model whose leadership is not also 4?

Spoiler:


By RAW I'd say yes. It meets the stipulation of instant death requiring to be "twice the toughness of the model", nothing says the attack has to be resolved against toughness as well.

Abyssal Staff uses the unit's leadership instead of its toughness for determining to wound rolls. Is the majority leadership used to determine this value as would be normal with to wound rolls, or as the leadership of the model with the highest value, as would be normal for leadership tests?

Spoiler:


Majority, it's still a shooting attack and not a test.

If a unit suffers a deep strike mishap using a veil of darkness or any other form of deep strike and rolls a "Delayed" result, can they choose to disembark from a monolith on that same turn?

Spoiler:


No, the delayed result I believe specifies they are delayed for a game turn. Either way, by the time the unit has used the veil the movement phase has begun and reserves rolls are finished.

Can a veil of darkness be used from inside a transport vehicle?

Spoiler:


As the unit is not on the board, I'd have to say no.

If Obryon is in a Command Barge, and the barge moves flat out, three sweep attacks are then made. Can Obryon then choose to use his ghostwalk mantle to teleport elswhere, as he does not count as moving?

Spoiler:


No, see above, he's embarked in a vehicle and has to disembark before he can move "as normal".

Can a chronometron re-roll ANY roll? Icluding imotekh's night fight, reserve rolls, orikan, etc etc?

Spoiler:


Chronometron allows models to re-roll one of their "d6" rolls per phase. Does this include rolls of 2D6 (re-rolling just one of the D6's) or rolls of D3(which according to the 40K rulebook still utilizes a D6), or scatter dice (which are technically a D6) or specifically only rolls of a single D6 counting capable of values of 1-6.

Spoiler:


Yes, you can reroll any D6 (even out of multiple D6's) but not a D3 roll, even if rolled on a D6. Not scatter die either, they are "not" a D6 just because they have six sides.

If the new host for Trazyn is randomly determined using a d6, can a chronometron allow a re-roll of that d6? What about the randomized target of mindshackle scarabs? What about a d3 rolled using a d6 as described by the rulebook?

Spoiler:


Do you roll to hit, then roll to see if it 'haywires' the target, and -then- also roll to see if it glances or penetrates the old-fashioned way?

Spoiler:


There's no reason you wouldn't, I believe.

Can a person who takes 2 royal courts allow 2 crypteks/lords to join a squad of warriors/immortals/etc, one from each court joining it?

Spoiler:


That is how the rule reads, it specifies "THE COURT" not "Any Court".

Do attached members of Royal Courts gain the special rules of the squads they are attached to? Specifically deep strike and reactive reserve from deathmarks?

spoiler][/spoiler]

Deep Strike, no. No way to know on the deathmarks, but since it doesn't say then I'd say no. Only USR's that are conferable.

What counts as a Cryptek harbringer "unique wargear"? Does it include the free upgrade that comes with upgrading to a special discipline (in which case only one Cryptek in a Royal Court could have a Tremorstaff, for instance) or is only the additional two pieces of optional wargear available to a Disipline?

Spoiler:


Staff is required, the gear is the unique piece. Otherwise there would be no reason to say that you can have any number of any cryptek harbinger in your army as you'd ALWAYS be limited to 1 per court.

What exactly are the restrictions on crypteks in a royal court? 0-1-5, 0-5-1, 0-5-5?

Spoiler:


What?

This is where I put the wip notes:

Sweep attacks are next! That's a big one, if I recall, so it'll be a while till the next update, especially since I have to go explain some of the issues to the TO's I'm playing with in the next couple weeks. Ok, that was a lie. It took me longer to sort in the 10 or so new questions. I'll probably go back and cover the ones that got sorted into the earlier parts of the codex before moving on.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
puma713 wrote:Kitzz,

I didn't see a question regarding Solar Pulse ending Imotekh's Night Fighting abilities (not Lightning, actual Night Fighting). I know the general concensus is that it does not actually affect Imotekh's ability, but it might be a question worth asking.

If you use a Solar Pulse in your opponent's turn, can Imotekh still choose to "keep Night Fighting rules in play" for following turns (starting with the next Game turn)?


Since the night fighting rules cease to be play directly at the end of your opponents phase and before your turn begins, you can not. Plus, if you have imotekh in your army and night fighting is not in play then you have already failed your roll and can never re-attempt another one anyway.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/12 00:00:19


 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Kevin949:

1. READ THIS POST IN ITS ENTIRETY BEFORE POSTING.

2. After doing so, if you do not see your question dealt with, or on the wait list to be dealt with, THINK CAREFULLY ABOUT EVERY RULES ASPECT OF YOUR QUESTION.

3. PLEASE DO NOT POST ANYHTING BESIDES NEW QUESTIONS.

I never said that any of my interpretations were right. I never said that some of these questions didn't have obvious answers. I never asked anyone else to answer the questions I had already posted for me.

I also look up every aspect of the rules I post here, and I spend a lot of time doing so. I don't post anything other than rules or what functions people oftenmost have assumed the rules in question to have, whether they are right or not.

I appreciate that you have an opinion, and I appreciate your interest, but if you would please listen to my requests and pm me if you have further issues, that would be greatly appreciated. There doesn't seem to me to be any reason to quote that massive wall of text for nothing but more interpretations that I've already listed or have planned on listing. Honestly, all it has managed to do (at least to me) is make slight the effort I have put into this thread.

Next time, please read and think before posting. Or just pm me.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

I didn't see this in the list, so here we go :

If an IC or MC is infected by mindshackle scarabs, does he attack himself, not all all, or does he just ignore the effect of the wargear?

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Kitzz wrote:Kevin949:

1. READ THIS POST IN ITS ENTIRETY BEFORE POSTING.

2. After doing so, if you do not see your question dealt with, or on the wait list to be dealt with, THINK CAREFULLY ABOUT EVERY RULES ASPECT OF YOUR QUESTION.

3. PLEASE DO NOT POST ANYHTING BESIDES NEW QUESTIONS.

I never said that any of my interpretations were right. I never said that some of these questions didn't have obvious answers. I never asked anyone else to answer the questions I had already posted for me.

I also look up every aspect of the rules I post here, and I spend a lot of time doing so. I don't post anything other than rules or what functions people oftenmost have assumed the rules in question to have, whether they are right or not.

I appreciate that you have an opinion, and I appreciate your interest, but if you would please listen to my requests and pm me if you have further issues, that would be greatly appreciated. There doesn't seem to me to be any reason to quote that massive wall of text for nothing but more interpretations that I've already listed or have planned on listing. Honestly, all it has managed to do (at least to me) is make slight the effort I have put into this thread.

Next time, please read and think before posting. Or just pm me.


I did read your whole post, and considering this is an open forum for discussions in YMDC I felt it more prudent that all entering the thread saw the input from a member of a forum instead of being disseminated by one person, plus many of your questions didn't have answers. I didn't presume to think that you said or thought your interpretations were correct nor did I ever say anything negative about any of your interpretations.

So believe me, I read and thought before posting, I just chose to disregard your request of a PM and instead opted to leave this up for open discussion.
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Almost halfway, only one non-SC left. Please pm me if you have unaddressed issues, or post here. I no longer care about anyone having normal conversation/discussion in this thread (now that it's off the ground), unless it is of a vitriolic nature. Feel free to comment and post your thoughts; I will take them into consideration. I ask only two favors:

1. Do not ask why a question appears on the list or as to its simplicity or state the obvious nature of its answer.

2. Do not ask about the relevance of a given issue, or say that the issue would never come up/never happen.

Thank you.

Known issues addressed: 72
Known issues unaddressed: 24

Total questions: 96

This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2012/01/17 01:59:11


Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Fort Wayne, IN

Read through the first post, didn't see either of these questions. Sorry if they're there and I missed them.

If Imotekh perishes, does the Lord of the Storm special rule persist? (Relevant rules: Lord of the Storm; page 55 in the Necron Codex)

While I believe I know the answer to this question, I still feel it should be asked for the sake of clarity:

Does a gauss flayer array count as one weapon or five for the purposes of wrecking a vehicle (ie glancing it to death)? (Relevant rules: Gauss Flayer Array, pg 48 in the Necron Codex; Vehicle Damage Results on page 61 in the WH40k 5th edition book).

DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes; the special rule is assigned to the army, and not tied ti the status of imotekh

One weapon, as it has a name. Cf to hurricane bolters
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Apologies for the long hiatus, but now I'm about 2/3 of the way through. I got a bit frustrated at how long it was taking.

And let this be a lesson to game designers: playtest your work before publishing it. Have one or two other people test your product before you sell it.

Some of the questions in the list are, I agree, rather nitpicky. But others come from problematic passages four or five times repeated by now (Gate of Infinity from inside a vehicle --> Veil of Darkness inside a vehicle). Some are so obvious that I am truly amazed no one in playtesting saw them (like anything having to do even tangentially with crypteks/royal courts).

I have begun to consider that perhaps these issues were left vague and seem careless on purpose. Perhaps they were intended to force people to just roll with a 4+ decision, kill things, and then go home. Perhaps the designers thought that doing this would encourage people to care less about the game and more about the hobby.

I don't really mean this as much as a rant as a series of observations. But I'd like to get outside of my head.

What does dakka think? Does GW write vague/contradictory/problematic rules intentionally?

Thanks for your questions, and please, keep them coming. I want this FAQ to be as comprehensive as possible.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/16 03:46:44


Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Kitzz wrote:

What does dakka think? Does GW write vague/contradictory/problematic rules intentionally?


Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

The Necron FAQ is out, and it has substantially reduced the number of questions in my FAQ (from 122 to 95). It also has answered most of the major and/or crippling issues when it comes to most units.

I think a few units are still likely to cause arguments, such as Zandrekh/Obryon and the Doom Scythe, but I'm overall happy that GW was able to identify most of the larger problems and fix them. I'd say PFP and like rules still are a huge issue for RP, but at least that's really only one army.

Overall, mostly thanks to Royal Courts being almost completely cleared up, I can now feel confident in playing my codex. If anyone still has new questions, please pm them to me or post them here.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

The FAQ is finished. Please pm me with your e-mail if you want a fully-formatted, gold leaf, leather bound pdf. Again, it is 60 pages, and isn't terribly light reading, but should be as comprehensive as anything you'll see out there.

Thanks again to everyone that helped me with this project, by either sending me questions or giving me new interpretations.

~Kitzz

PS: I apologize for the double-post.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: