Switch Theme:

Screaming into combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator




So I was looking over the vampire count book under the Terrorgheist's scream and the banshees scream and I noticed that it is not considered a "shooting attack". It is called a "special attack that is resolved in the shooting phase". As it is not a shooting attack, does it mean that I can scream into an enemy that is engaged in combat?
   
Advert


Login or Register to make this and other promotional elements disappear from your dakka browsing.
Made in us
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms





Auburn CA

If you keep reading it tells you that you can scream into a combat that it is in

 
   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator




Yes it does, so if it is engaged in combat it is limited in its screaming to the enemy that it is engaged with. What if it is not in combat and wants to scream into one though.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





By hard RAW you could do it. By hard RAW you can also get the Terrorgheist in combat with one unit, and then shoot at another different unit. But I think most reasonable people would take a RAI outlook and do neither.
   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator




Interesting... so what your saying is that the rules the way they are written say that you CAN scream into combat. I wasn't playing it that way the other day because I assumed it was considered it a 'shooting attack' (which is a weird thing in a vamp counts army).

I guess it makes some sense, i'll just have to think of it like the difference between magic missiles and direct damage spells.

Sorry, but I have read nothing indicating that it was intended to not work if someone was engaged.

Thanks for your help Dakka :-)
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I think they put that in there so that the scream couldn't be neutralized by the storm banner, or Pha's Protection, or the Chalice of Dark Rain, and similar.

Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat.
 
   
 
Forum Index » WHFB You Make Da Call
Go to: