Switch Theme:

Dreaded 13th interpretation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
Made in gb
Dusty Skeleton




Ok, dreaded 13th says loose 4d6 models from the unit.

Now, if that roll comes up as, say, 5 - and there are still some left in the unit, do they stay standing?
i.e does the unit only mutate into clan rate IF the 4d6 roll is greater than the no of guys in the unit?

Also, if no armour saves of any kind are allowed, can a unit take the wounds and then try to regen them afterward?
The rules lawyer in me says yes, since the regen is not an armour save and the text doesn't say no regen allowed.
However, the fluff in me says the power of the horned rat rules, so regen would be cheesy.

 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Uhm, the spell specifically states what happens if there are more models than you rolled for...it doesn't say "no armor saves" either, it says that no saves of any kind are allowed.

The spell's ruling is pretty clear in the book...if you don't roll high enough, you just cause n unsaveable wounds, no clan rats are created.


   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Thats a very interesting point the OP has made about regen.
Regen is not a save and you have to die or take a wound before you can actually use it so therefore it would suggest that you can indeed use Regen.
I also dont think its cheesy. You have made a very good point.
   
Made in us
Crafty Clanrat



san diego

you don't use regen. regen can only be taken against wounds and the dreaded 13th does not cause wounds.

for 40k

skaven for fantasy. for the under empire! daemons as well.

for infinity 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

GBDarkAngel wrote:
Thats a very interesting point the OP has made about regen.
Regen is not a save and you have to die or take a wound before you can actually use it so therefore it would suggest that you can indeed use Regen.
I also dont think its cheesy. You have made a very good point.


Regen is most definitly a save.

P74: "A model with the Regeneration special rule is permitted to make a special regenerate saving throw... To take a regeneration save, roll a D6."

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran




The lack of reading really astounds me sometimes.
   
Made in gb
Dusty Skeleton




Meh ok.

I just came accross the wording in the liazardman book of no amour, ward or regen save allowed.
whereas the 13th just says no saves of any kind allowed.
so maybe regen is a kind of save as stated above.. that would work.


 
   
Made in nl
Battlefield Tourist






North of your position

The Dreaded 13 doesn't cause wounds, it removes models.

   
Made in gb
Booming Thunderer







No saves allowed means exactly that, NO SAVES, regeneration is a save.

In regards to the OP, I have been on the receiving end of this spell many times. Roll 4d6, if you roll less than the number of models in the unit then that many die, if you roll equal to or more than the number of models left in the unit (eg if there are 12 guys and you roll 12+ on your 4d6) then they are all turned into clanrats. Simple. No saves and doesn't matter how many wounds you have.

Also slightly off topic but it's important to note the distinction between 'causes a wound' and 'removes a model as a casualty', the D13th is the latter and most of the time these spells do not allow any saves, the former will usually still allow some kinds of save eg magic resistance
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

And just to make sure, you are only casting this spell on Infantry right?

It doesn't work on any other unit type, including Monstrous Infantry.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Regen/Ward/Armor can only be applied to wounds. Dread does no wounds. If an infantry unit has 2389423892358923 wounds and is hit, it won't matter. If they have 1 wound it will do the same.

RAW it says infantry. Infantry is a unit type. Which isn't MI. I don't see it working on anything other than pure infantry.

   
Made in gb
Dusty Skeleton




Thanks for you comments, has helped me see it all a bit more clearly.
Means the grey seer just went to #1 on my kill list.

 
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer Fantasy Battle Legacy Discussion
Go to: