Switch Theme:

Can space marine techmarines repair their allie's vehicles?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Title says it all. If I have a techmarine can he repair anything that is allied in from another codex?

Thanks.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

I don't believe there's anything restricting it - his rule says "friendly" vehicles if I'm not mistaken. That said, being an ally means he can't actually hop on board any allied transports.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior





Canada

Friendly vehicle would mean it would have to be a battle brother tho,
Since all other allies are still treated as enemies

Necrons
Tau  
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

All friendly vehicles. Might get changed in the future, but right now, all friendly vehicles.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight






Georgia

Nope (from the end of the BRB faq)

Q: Can models from an Allied Detachment that have the ability to repair Hull Points or Immobilised/Weapon Destroyed results from the Vehicle Damage Table use this ability on Allied vehicles? (p112)
A: No.

So it doesn't matter what level of ally they are, the mechanics of their systems are too different (righty loosey opposed to lefty loosey)

But if they both have the same chapter tactics I would say they can as it says something to the effect that "blah blah" I don't have the book

I looked this up because I had a battle brother tech marine follow a demolisher with a PFG

(Any spelling mistakes are the fault of GW as I copy/pasted from the FAQ)

My IG WIP log

40k is as exciting as riding a pony, which doesn't sound very exciting.......

But the pony is 300 feet tall and covered in CHAINSAWS! 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Portuges is correct, I believe. If they are different chapters with the same Chapter Tactics in the same detachment, they're fine. If they've got different Chapter Tactics, and thus different detachment charts, they cannot. (Unless I'm wrong in how the FAQ applies.)

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Well spotted, portugus. Different Chapter Tactics detachments wouldn't allow it then, as these are still an Allied detachment - the FAQ doesn't mention anything about being from the same Codex.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight






Georgia

Keeping in mind I don't have the Space marine book, I thought it said marines with the same chapter tactics are counted as the same army. I would think it could work if you have the same chapter tactics but like i said i don't have the book so cannot read that part.

My IG WIP log

40k is as exciting as riding a pony, which doesn't sound very exciting.......

But the pony is 300 feet tall and covered in CHAINSAWS! 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

That's not exactly how that bit works. You choose a CT for each Space Marines detachment, whether primary or allied. The normal rules would then normally prevent you from taking an allied detachment from the same Codex - but the Codex then overrides this by saying you can ally with a different CT detachment. There's still no permission to ally with the same CT (normal rules also forbid this for double FOC as this states both primary detachments must be from the same Codex).
The only other mention it makes is that "you may field models from two different Chapters that have the same Chapter Tactics (such as Ultramarines and Praetors of Orpheus) in the same detachment" (emphasis mine) - that's just to cover different colour schemes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/11 17:51:30


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: