Switch Theme:

Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit  [RSS] 

X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/04 10:50:52


Post by: locarno24


1) Weapons Engineer - "You may maintain 2 target locks (only 1 per enemy ship). When you acquire a target lock, you may lock onto 2 enemy ships.", could someone clarify if I declare a TL action with the Weapons Engineer I get two Blue and two Red tokens, the self confusing part of my brain is suggesting it's one Blue and two Red


Essentially whenever you 'target lock' you target lock twice, on two seperate ships (as opposed to Redline, who has the slightly more useful ability -in isolation of other cards - to target lock the same dude twice).


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/08 11:52:03


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


I think I read somewhere that Omega Leader prevented use of C-3P0, is that correct?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/08 13:14:32


Post by: Anpu-adom


 Mathieu Raymond wrote:
I think I read somewhere that Omega Leader prevented use of C-3P0, is that correct?

That is my reading on it, yes. If the source of the modification is not the ship that is locked, then it works. If the source is the ship being locked, then Omega Leader prevents it from working. That includes adding results like C3-PO.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/08 23:41:22


Post by: Peregrine


Correct. Adding results counts as dice modification, and C-3PO adds a die result*. Adding dice (range-1 bonus, Jan Ors, etc), on the other hand, is not dice modification, so you will still add and roll those dice against Omega Leader.

*Interestingly this die result is treated as any other die result. It can be re-rolled, canceled by crack shot, etc.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/09 12:47:37


Post by: Anpu-adom


 Peregrine wrote:
Correct. Adding results counts as dice modification, and C-3PO adds a die result*. Adding dice (range-1 bonus, Jan Ors, etc), on the other hand, is not dice modification, so you will still add and roll those dice against Omega Leader.

*Interestingly this die result is treated as any other die result. It can be re-rolled, canceled by crack shot, etc.


Which is why C-3PO isn't great against Zuckuss Crew.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/13 03:28:22


Post by: Apostasus


Does autothrusters trigger in auxiliary/ mobile firing arcs?

My initial guess is "no" but I've been wrong in the past...


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/13 04:04:37


Post by: Peregrine


Apostasus wrote:
Does autothrusters trigger in auxiliary/ mobile firing arcs?

My initial guess is "no" but I've been wrong in the past...


No. It is still an arc.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/19 14:41:07


Post by: Apostasus


When does one use crack shot? In the "attacker modifies " defense dice step? Or during the compare results stage?

I checked the FAQ and didn't see a clarification on that... so I'd assume that it happens in the former...


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/19 15:19:16


Post by: Anpu-adom


The 'cancel' part of Crackshot is the clue... you only cancel results in the Compare Results Stage (which is too late to change a focus to an evade if they haven't done so already).


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/21 01:38:53


Post by: ScootyPuffJunior


Apostasus wrote:
When does one use crack shot? In the "attacker modifies " defense dice step? Or during the compare results stage?

I checked the FAQ and didn't see a clarification on that... so I'd assume that it happens in the former...
It's in the FAQ on the third page and it says that it happens at the start of the "Compare Results" step.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/21 14:51:03


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


I ran into an interesting situation last night, while playing Ketsu Onyo. I bumped into the Inquisitor during my maneuver. Since he was in both my mobile and regular firing arc (they were one and the same that turn), my opponent and I asgreed that I could assign the Inquisitor a tractor beam token. Thus barrel rolling out of contact, thus leaving him at the mercy of my attack.

Did we miss something, or did we do it right? I was able to really pound him because of that (I had another ship ready to pounce after that second tractor beam token from the title left him at 1 evade die).


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/21 15:14:35


Post by: Anpu-adom


I think that you did things right.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/22 03:13:13


Post by: Peregrine


 Mathieu Raymond wrote:
I ran into an interesting situation last night, while playing Ketsu Onyo. I bumped into the Inquisitor during my maneuver. Since he was in both my mobile and regular firing arc (they were one and the same that turn), my opponent and I asgreed that I could assign the Inquisitor a tractor beam token. Thus barrel rolling out of contact, thus leaving him at the mercy of my attack.

Did we miss something, or did we do it right? I was able to really pound him because of that (I had another ship ready to pounce after that second tractor beam token from the title left him at 1 evade die).


This is correct (and something I mentioned in my first impressions post), Ketsu Onyo is a really nasty blocker if you can get them to bump in your arc. The rule against shooting a ship you're touching only applies if you are touching at the moment the attack is made, touching at some earlier point in the turn and then separating has no effect. And of course Ketsu Onyo's ability does not have anything that suggests you can't put the tractor beam token on a ship you're touching.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/22 23:27:28


Post by: Apostasus


Wording question for ion Torpedoes:

"The Defender _and each ship at range 1 of it_ receives 1 ion token"

Could this be read to mean that the Defender receives 2 tokens? Ships are at range 1 of themselves...


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/23 00:15:10


Post by: Peregrine


Apostasus wrote:
Wording question for ion Torpedoes:

"The Defender _and each ship at range 1 of it_ receives 1 ion token"

Could this be read to mean that the Defender receives 2 tokens? Ships are at range 1 of themselves...


No. That statement establishes a list of which ships to apply the effect to (the defender and each ship at range 1), then tells you what effect to apply (one ion token each). For the defender to get two ion tokens it would have to be something like "the defender receives one ion token, then each ship at range 1 of the defender receives one ion token".


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/23 01:04:30


Post by: Apostasus


Yeah, figured it was probably too good to be true


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/31 01:18:33


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


So... let's assume that I am behing completely silly and load a Gunner into a VCX-100. If I do get one of my TLT shots that does not hit, do I get to shoot my primary guns?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/31 01:36:19


Post by: Crazy_Carnifex


 Mathieu Raymond wrote:
So... let's assume that I am behing completely silly and load a Gunner into a VCX-100. If I do get one of my TLT shots that does not hit, do I get to shoot my primary guns?


Yes, if it is the TLT shot at PS. If you take a gunner attack, you lose the Phantoms shot. If you take the Phantoms shot, you lose the gunners shot. This is because both prevent additional attacks that round.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 10160/10/31 01:38:17


Post by: Smacks


 Mathieu Raymond wrote:
So... let's assume that I am behing completely silly and load a Gunner into a VCX-100. If I do get one of my TLT shots that does not hit, do I get to shoot my primary guns?
I'm pretty sure this was in the FAQ, Gunner was erratad to "you may", but if you use you it you forfeit any secondary attack. So if you miss the first TLT shot, you can "optionally" use Gunner, but you forfeit the second TLT shot. If you miss on the second TLT shot, you can use Gunner for a third shot with your primary. Though as Crazy_Carnifex points out, you can't use it in conjunction with the Phantom.

EDIT: Sorry, wrong information.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/31 12:32:17


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


I was inquiring about the regular, at PS, shot. I hadn't checked the FAQ recently. So it might be more worthwhile to use dice modification on the first TLT shot, make sure it goes through.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/31 13:09:47


Post by: Smacks


Wait, I was mistaken, sorry. I just checked the more recent FAQ with the timing chart, and the entry for Gunner says "When using a secondary weapon that says “perform this attack twice”, both attacks must miss for Gunner to activate."

I was thinking back to an older version which said something like, "When Gunner is used to perform a primary weapon attack, any additional attacks (such as from Cluster Missiles) are forfeited." TLT sounded like the "such as", but I guess with the new timing chart it has changed.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/10/31 14:56:49


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


Well frak. That's not ideal. Not that I was comtemplating doing it, but still.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/11/21 13:47:40


Post by: Apostasus


Question about the Stygium Particle accelerator:

Because the wording is "you may perform a free evade action" does that mean you are limited to 1 evade (total) per round?

I was considering a sigma Squadron to use as a blocker of sorts: decloak, evade, move, cloak (get 2nd evade?), which if it works would be a pretty nimble & survivable blocker (with the ability to take some hard shots when needed). But it's notably less good with only one evade...


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/11/21 14:28:55


Post by: Anpu-adom


Apostasus,
Yes... you can take a specific action only once per turn... even if it is free.

Which is different from receiving a token for that action.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/11/21 14:30:04


Post by: Smacks


Apostasus wrote:
Question about the Stygium Particle accelerator:

Because the wording is "you may perform a free evade action" does that mean you are limited to 1 evade (total) per round?

I was considering a sigma Squadron to use as a blocker of sorts: decloak, evade, move, cloak (get 2nd evade?), which if it works would be a pretty nimble & survivable blocker (with the ability to take some hard shots when needed). But it's notably less good with only one evade...
Yeah, only one of the same action per turn, I can't see why it would be different. I've thought about something similar to use on Echo, but the one Evade bit takes the fun out of it. :(

If you just wanted to use it as a blocker, you could go with Stealth Device instead, and just keep it cloaked rolling 5 dice each turn, and then use your action to Focus. You could also pump defence further with Recon Specialist: 5 Agility and two Focus Tokens is going to be pretty much unkillable. Though I think I'd prefer Enhanced Scopes and Saboteur/Mara Jade on a blocker... Hellish expensive, but it would do what you want..

EDIT: Remember that with 4+ Evade dice, a Focus Token is usually better. Less than 3 Agility dice Evade Token is better.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/11/21 17:06:53


Post by: Apostasus


So, I was watching the MD regionals on Steletv the other day when it was said/ruled that Zuckuss doesn't work on Omega Leader when OL has a TL (cannot modify any dice when attacking or defending).

Would that logic also work on 4-lom? I tend to think that preventing OL from modification by spending a token is different from modification...


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/11/21 18:31:12


Post by: Smacks


4-LOM should work fine against O leader, he doesn't modify dice, he just blocks a token.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/11/22 05:17:56


Post by: Peregrine


 Smacks wrote:
4-LOM should work fine against O leader, he doesn't modify dice, he just blocks a token.


Correct. Preventing the use of tokens is not dice modification. Zuckus, on the other hand, re-rolls dice (obviously dice modification) which is why it doesn't work against OL.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/11/22 15:04:41


Post by: Apostasus


Timing of the Dengar counter attack vs Defender/ D:

In my match last night, it tangentially came up to wonder when Dengar gets to shoot back at a Defender tossing a tractor beam and a primary weapon.

The /D title says that the 2nd shot takes place _after_ the cannon... but the wording is similar for Dengar.

In the interest of time my opponent and I agreed that since I had the initiative, I got to decide the order (and Vessery got his Primary shot before being killed) but I don't know if we played it right.

Thoughts (citations)?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/11/22 15:32:35


Post by: Smacks


You played it correctly.This situation is explained in step 9 of the timing flowchart (see the FAQ).

Spoiler:


Apostasus wrote:
I got to decide the order (and Vessery got his Primary shot before being killed)
Technically, Vessery should always get his primary shot before being killed, as step 9 has to be resolved for all ships before models are removed.





X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/11/22 17:00:27


Post by: Apostasus


Good to know @smacks (especially that last bit - I was worried that the double tap might be especially dangerous for Vessery if it opened him to death before primary) , thanks


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/03 11:23:13


Post by: Turnip Jedi


Do Finn and C3P0 work as a combo on the VCX with its 0 agility, does the added blank result count as a 'roll', I'm erring on the side of no as you haven't rolled any dice for 3PO

Cheers


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/03 11:34:50


Post by: Peregrine


 Turnip Jedi wrote:
Do Finn and C3P0 work as a combo on the VCX with its 0 agility, does the added blank result count as a 'roll', I'm erring on the side of no as you haven't rolled any dice for 3PO

Cheers


No it does not. Adding results is not rolling dice.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/03 11:39:22


Post by: Turnip Jedi


Shame but cheers anyhoo, really should have a read of the FAQ at some point but my brain is dangerous full and I worry any new info might make me forget something useful

(please note this is a dig at my aging thought process that struggles to take in new knowledge, am ever grateful to folks that digest such things to enable my lazyness)


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/07 11:48:57


Post by: Turnip Jedi


Just got my Heroes box set and want to play a silly list with the chance to bomb people on Turn 1 with new old Han (most likely not that torny worthy but lots of fun especially once the Scrap Recovery Crane card lands)

So a quick bomb question, Sabine Wren (Crew) ability is used after the Bomb resolves right, the rulebook says "do bomb effect. remove token." and Sabine says "before a friendly bomb token is removed" so I'm guessing with Sabine that changes to "do bomb effect. Choose to use Sabine or not. remove token"


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/07 13:07:32


Post by: Peregrine


 Turnip Jedi wrote:
So a quick bomb question, Sabine Wren (Crew) ability is used after the Bomb resolves right, the rulebook says "do bomb effect. remove token." and Sabine says "before a friendly bomb token is removed" so I'm guessing with Sabine that changes to "do bomb effect. Choose to use Sabine or not. remove token"


This is correct. Sabine would trigger immediately before the token is removed, which happens after all of the bomb's effects have been resolved. However, it would be difficult to create a real-game situation where the exact timing matters.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/07 13:49:54


Post by: Turnip Jedi


Yep its pretty corner case but I think if you caught a couple of ships with a Proton then whatever crits happened could influence the allocation of Sabine's extra damage (I also think C-Nets are most likely better but going to test both)


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/08 18:32:15


Post by: Apostasus


Just checking, but does Imperial Kath Scarlet have the ability to to deal 2 stress during effects that give multiple attacks (i.e. gunner & cluster missiles)?

The wording of Imperial Kath is a little unclear: "When attacking, the defender receives 1 stress token if he cancels at least 1 critical result."

With cluster missiles, the card says "perform this attack twice" where as gunner says "perform a primary weapon attack"...

But the wording on Kath could be interpreted as only allowing 1 stress per (entire) attack phase...

What do you think?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/09 11:30:36


Post by: Turnip Jedi


I think it works with Gunner because if you look at the flowchart in the FAQ I think you resolve the Stress giving in Step 8 and Gunner in Step 9* , so I think you dish the stress and then get the gunner attack

I don't think it works with Cluster Missiles as per the flowchart you only go to Steps 8 & 9 once

*Steps 8 & 9 are broadly post attack effects, with 8 being things that don't generate a further attack and 9 being things that do

Edited following coffee and glasses !


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/09 11:39:22


Post by: Peregrine


Gunner definitely applies twice, you make two completely separate attacks and start over with the entire attack process (including potentially choosing a new target for the second attack).

Cluster missiles probably apply twice, as the trigger is "cancels at least one {crit} result", not "after attacking, do {thing}" like FCS. That trigger would happen once per attack, just like you can spend a focus token on each cluster missile attack because you are attacking/defending twice. On the other hand, cluster missiles are probably responsible for more rules issues than any other upgrade card, so I wouldn't be surprised if it was ruled to work the other way.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/12 20:23:54


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


To use the same examples about clearing stress with green maneuvers from PTL and Advanced Sensors...

If a Brobot uses PTL and Advanced Sensors, does it just add an extra stress if it had programmed a Segnor's loop, or do the 2 straight white maneuver that is now assigned? Because I could see doing that maneuver on purpose if my path is blocked all of a sudden.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/12 21:21:45


Post by: Peregrine


 Mathieu Raymond wrote:
To use the same examples about clearing stress with green maneuvers from PTL and Advanced Sensors...

If a Brobot uses PTL and Advanced Sensors, does it just add an extra stress if it had programmed a Segnor's loop, or do the 2 straight white maneuver that is now assigned? Because I could see doing that maneuver on purpose if my path is blocked all of a sudden.


Advanced sensors triggers before you reveal your dial. Regardless of whatever happens at that point you will reveal your dial as normal. If you are stressed for whatever reason you will execute the 2-straight maneuver instead of whatever was on your dial.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/13 01:31:21


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


Nice. I'm not sure it was intended that way, but it could be useful.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/17 01:10:04


Post by: Apostasus


Pretty basic question: do multiple obstacles "stack" to grant more than one extra evade die? The wording hints that obstructed is obstructed regardless of how many obstacles and thus grants only 1 extra evade.

It's something that comes up rarely given the limits of the range ruler, but it happened in a friendly match with me today.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2016/12/17 02:09:02


Post by: Peregrine


Apostasus wrote:
Pretty basic question: do multiple obstacles "stack" to grant more than one extra evade die? The wording hints that obstructed is obstructed regardless of how many obstacles and thus grants only 1 extra evade.

It's something that comes up rarely given the limits of the range ruler, but it happened in a friendly match with me today.


No. You gain a single evade die if the shot is obstructed, and "obstructed" is defined by having at least one obstacle. Currently there are no effects from having multiple obstructions, though future ships/upgrades could change this.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/01/17 20:26:31


Post by: Apostasus


Can someone help me with the reference for c-3p0 adding an evade result being the equivalent of adding an evade die, that can then be affected by crack shot?

I'm sure I'm right that this works, but I couldn't find a reference quickly during a match last night so conceded the point (to use CS later) to save time


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/01/19 06:17:58


Post by: Peregrine


Apostasus wrote:
Can someone help me with the reference for c-3p0 adding an evade result being the equivalent of adding an evade die, that can then be affected by crack shot?

I'm sure I'm right that this works, but I couldn't find a reference quickly during a match last night so conceded the point (to use CS later) to save time


There's no explicit FAQ for the interaction, but it's covered by the general rules. C-3PO adds an evade result, crack shot cancels an evade result. The only reason you wouldn't be able to cancel the evade result from C-3PO would be if crack shot happened first, but C-3PO explicitly happens immediately after rolling the defense dice while crack shot has been FAQed to happen in the (much later) compare results step.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/01/27 08:08:12


Post by: Howard A Treesong


I'm going to a summer kit tournament tomorrow for the first time, I've not played many games but I think it's fairly relaxed.

I'm thinking of taking some combination of Countess Ryad, Tomax Bren and Pure Sabacc. Is it right that Ryad can turn all straight manoeuvres into k-turns? Normally only the 4 and 5 length pieces have this alternative marked on them.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/01/27 09:00:54


Post by: Turnip Jedi


 Howard A Treesong wrote:
I'm going to a summer kit tournament tomorrow for the first time, I've not played many games but I think it's fairly relaxed.

I'm thinking of taking some combination of Countess Ryad, Tomax Bren and Pure Sabacc. Is it right that Ryad can turn all straight manoeuvres into k-turns? Normally only the 4 and 5 length pieces have this alternative marked on them.


Yes because Ryad says "When you reveal a (straight) manoeuvre, you may treat it as a (k-turn) manoeuvre.", meaning she can do 2 and 3 speed K-Turns, don't worry about the templates the game has developed quite a bit since the beginning and lots of possible moves aren't noted on them


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/01/28 01:05:42


Post by: Peregrine


 Howard A Treesong wrote:
Normally only the 4 and 5 length pieces have this alternative marked on them.


This doesn't mean anything. The symbols are just a reminder that you use the same template for different maneuvers, not any kind of restriction. For example, b-wings have a 2-K and can clearly use it even though the 2-straight template doesn't have the alternate symbol listed.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/02/03 18:37:18


Post by: Turnip Jedi


Do Upgrade cards allow you to take Upgrades you wouldn't be able to have without the first upgrade ? I'm fairly certain it's okay due to the Slave 1 title giving the Firespray a Torp slot, but does this mean as the Firespray now has a Missile and Torp slot I can take Long Range Scanners ?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/02/03 19:54:53


Post by: Peregrine


 Turnip Jedi wrote:
Do Upgrade cards allow you to take Upgrades you wouldn't be able to have without the first upgrade ? I'm fairly certain it's okay due to the Slave 1 title giving the Firespray a Torp slot, but does this mean as the Firespray now has a Missile and Torp slot I can take Long Range Scanners ?


Yes. You can apply upgrades in whatever order you need. And once an upgrade is equipped losing the slot won't remove the upgrade that depends on it (for example, discarding R2-D6 to integrated astromech will not remove your EPT).

(And LRS on a Firespray is a fairly common thing.)


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/02/03 19:58:42


Post by: Turnip Jedi


Thanks, it's for a silly Emon / Cluster Bombs list, LRS seemed like a free turn 1 Target lock, going with Extra Mun, and Cluster Mines, and playing with the Crane illicit (a bit shaky but sort of 2 and a bit bombs for 8pts)


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/02/28 13:19:28


Post by: Apostasus


Pattern Analyzer mechanics?

I was reading on another thread that a ship with pattern analyzer can do more than just take action after red maneuvers.

According to these folks a ship with PA could (starting from unstressed), reveal a green, take an action that causes stress/ptl and _then_ get rid of the stress from the green maneuver. Is that right? I can kinda see how it goes, but it seems a bit off (and if so, why has it not been seen on PTL Poe before now?).

Thanks folks


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/02/28 14:38:11


Post by: Anpu-adom


Yeah, we have seen that chain before.
Poe w/BB-8 and PTL

Reveal Green
Do BB-8's Barrel Roll
PTL for a focus, take a stress
Complete the green maneuver, remove the stress
check stress
take another action (can't be a barrel roll or focus in this example)

Not sure if Pattern Analyzer works as well... you need a way to take an action after revealing your dial to PTL off of.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/02/28 15:02:54


Post by: Turnip Jedi


Deleted due to slack rules reading


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/02/28 20:32:07


Post by: Peregrine


 Turnip Jedi wrote:
I think they might be thinking of Advanced Sensors, PA 'triggers' after you move it allows you to take an action prior to getting stress, however after that you'd need to clear stress as stress prevents actions ( see rules reference page 4)


Wrong. How it actually works is that pattern analyzer moves "check stress" to after the entire "perform action" step. If you use PTL off that action it interrupts the process and will be resolved before you get to "check stress". So yes, you can reveal and execute a green maneuver, use pattern analyzer to defer the "check stress" step, do your normal action, PTL for a second action, and then resolve "check stress" to remove the a stress token.

The reason you don't see this on Poe is that PTL Poe is bad. Using pattern analyzer instead of BB-8 helps a lot, but you're still extremely limited in your dial options and too easy to counter. And with HSCP in the meta Poe's action economy (and regen, if you use R5-P9) is very fragile.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/02/28 21:14:16


Post by: Turnip Jedi


yarp Mr P is correct, I misread where the action/stress check switcheroo happens


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/03/08 16:49:36


Post by: Apostasus


Targeting synchronizer question:

The way I read the card, you can use it to fire a missile/torp, spending the TL if needed to _fire_ but that, with Homing Missiles for example, you can't use the other ship's TL to reroll dice.

Is this correct?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/03/08 19:46:47


Post by: Peregrine


Apostasus wrote:
Targeting synchronizer question:

The way I read the card, you can use it to fire a missile/torp, spending the TL if needed to _fire_ but that, with Homing Missiles for example, you can't use the other ship's TL to reroll dice.

Is this correct?


Correct. You can only use it when you are instructed to spend a target lock, for example, with concussion missiles. Contrast the wording with Shara Bey, who lets friendly ships treat her target locks as their own (and therefore allows them to spend the TL for any purpose).


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/03/09 01:51:23


Post by: Apostasus


Thanks


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/04/05 11:38:01


Post by: Turnip Jedi


I'll Show You the Dark Side

Was there an official clarification about which players deck the crit comes from ? Locally we've been playing it as the opponents, to avoid muddling cards but there could be a fractional benefit to pulling Blinded Pilot etc from your own deck


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2005/03/20 21:28:23


Post by: Smacks


Question regarding Adaptive Ailerons:

If you equip Adaptive Ailerons and tie2, can you shed stress to perform consecutive red manoeuvres by banking with the ailerons?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/04/05 13:23:40


Post by: Slipspace


Turnip Jedi wrote:I'll Show You the Dark Side

Was there an official clarification about which players deck the crit comes from ? Locally we've been playing it as the opponents, to avoid muddling cards but there could be a fractional benefit to pulling Blinded Pilot etc from your own deck


It comes from your opponent's deck. I've never seen it played otherwise though I don't believe there's any official clarification about it. Also, if it didn't, you could use the old damage deck and put Injured Pilot on the enemy of your choice which would make it even more powerful than it already is.

Smacks wrote:Question regarding Adaptive Ailerons:

If you equip Adaptive Ailerons and tie2, can you shed stress to perform consecutive red manoeuvres by banking with the ailerons?


You can't use the ailerons while stressed, so no.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/04/05 14:41:45


Post by: Turnip Jedi


cheers Slip, it's just the card refer to "the damage deck" but likewise I've never seen it done any other way, its again fractional but thinning the other deck does increase Direct HIT density for Grandpa Vader


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/04/06 03:58:48


Post by: Peregrine


Slipspace wrote:
Smacks wrote:Question regarding Adaptive Ailerons:

If you equip Adaptive Ailerons and tie2, can you shed stress to perform consecutive red manoeuvres by banking with the ailerons?


You can't use the ailerons while stressed, so no.


However, to answer the more general question, "this maneuver becomes green" can apply to "do a white {maneuver}" effects and allow you to clear stress. If not for the explicit ban on using adaptive ailerons while stressed you could use this combo to clear stress.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/04/15 12:19:20


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


Little question concerning the timing of Jyn Erso and Jake Farrell. If I were to use that crew and target Jake to receive focus tokens, and there is more than one involved... would Jake be able to perform both a boost and a barrel roll off of those multiple tokens?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/04/15 16:00:46


Post by: Azreal13


Yep, you're assigned multiple tokens individually, so each one has the opportunity to trigger Jake's ability. Subject to the usual once per action per turn restrictions etc..


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/04/26 02:15:50


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


interesting situation arose tonight, and I'd swear I saw that happen at a tourney.

Someone hit me with a tractor beam and I was within a few hair's breadth of the edge of the battlefield, and he couldn't barrel roll me into his ship. So assuming he does not forgo his option to move me, I argued he could move me out of the play area.

Some people were arguing that no, it was illegal to do so. From my reading, the only illegal move with a tractor beam hit is to cause the tractor-ee to overlap another ship. All other moves seem to be fair game.

What gives, Dakka?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/04/26 03:16:33


Post by: Crazy_Carnifex


 Mathieu Raymond wrote:
interesting situation arose tonight, and I'd swear I saw that happen at a tourney.

Someone hit me with a tractor beam and I was within a few hair's breadth of the edge of the battlefield, and he couldn't barrel roll me into his ship. So assuming he does not forgo his option to move me, I argued he could move me out of the play area.

Some people were arguing that no, it was illegal to do so. From my reading, the only illegal move with a tractor beam hit is to cause the tractor-ee to overlap another ship. All other moves seem to be fair game.

What gives, Dakka?


Can't barrel roll off the edge. Inherent to Barrel Roll, not Tractor Beam.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/04/26 03:19:42


Post by: Peregrine


You can not tractor beam a ship off the table. The tractor beam rules state that it is a boost or barrel roll, so you follow the rules for boosting and barrel rolling unless explicitly stated otherwise (such as tractor beaming onto obstacles). You can not boost or barrel roll off the table, and the tractor beam rules do not mention any change to this rule. So in your situation, with all three possible tractor beam moves either overlapping another ship or being off the table, your opponent would not be able to move your ship and you would only suffer the agility penalty.

(Of course you can tractor beam a ship into a position where no possible maneuver next turn will keep it on the table, as it isn't immediately off the table.)


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/05/04 10:19:10


Post by: Maddok_Death


Thanks in advance! Couple of questions:

1 - When using Backdraft can you also use Accuracy corrector to get 2 hits + a Critical when shooting from you Aux Arc?

2 - When using Backdraft and Special Ops training can you use Accuracy Corrector on both your primary arc attack and secondary arc attack and his ability?

3 - Does Outmaneuver work with your Aux Arc Also?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/05/04 11:29:43


Post by: Anpu-adom


 Maddok_Death wrote:
Thanks in advance! Couple of questions:

1 - When using Backdraft can you also use Accuracy corrector to get 2 hits + a Critical when shooting from you Aux Arc?

2 - When using Backdraft and Special Ops training can you use Accuracy Corrector on both your primary arc attack and secondary arc attack and his ability?

3 - Does Outmaneuver work with your Aux Arc Also?


#1. Adding a dice counts as modifying your dice, so no. Backdraft is the only TIE/SF that doesn't want Accuracy Corrector. The effects are simultaneous so you decide their order. You can add the Crit before the Accuracy Corrector effect happens, but then the crit goes away with the other results. You cannot add the crit afterward because Accuracy Corrector doesn't allow further dice modification.
#2. Better with other TIE/SF but yes, you can use accuracy corrector on both attacks.
#3. Outside their arc is outside their arc.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/05/04 11:32:06


Post by: Apostasus


1) I'd say no because you add the crit result before canceling the results to get 2 hits. Also AC says the dice may not be modified again. Adding a result is considered modification.

2) I'd say that any /sf with AC can use it in both arcs.

3) Yes. The back arc is still an arc, so just like tactician works in the mobile arc of a lancer, outmaneuver works in both arcs


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/05/23 04:13:39


Post by: ingtaer


Can someone who has a brain tell me when the Lt. Kestal (TIE/ag) ability kicks in? From the wording of the card alone it does not specify. Is it during 'attacker modifies dice'? which it seems it should be, but if it is then doesn't her ability actually do nothing most of the time?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/05/23 04:26:19


Post by: captain bloody fists


I would assume during the "attackers Mod" stage


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/05/23 05:02:33


Post by: ingtaer


Step 5i on the flow chart? Makes sense. I wish they included cancelling dice on the chart rather than have it all over the show (crackshot/accuracy corrector/Wampa).


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/06/24 23:27:46


Post by: Apostasus


Question about the targeting sync:

If a ship uses the tl of a different ship with target sync to fire homing missiles, can the firing ship spend the targeting sync tl to reroll?

My instincts say no, but I've been wrong before


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/06/30 05:05:59


Post by: Peregrine


ingtaer wrote:
Can someone who has a brain tell me when the Lt. Kestal (TIE/ag) ability kicks in? From the wording of the card alone it does not specify. Is it during 'attacker modifies dice'? which it seems it should be, but if it is then doesn't her ability actually do nothing most of the time?


It's during the "attacker modifies defense dice" step as it is clearly a case of the attacker modifying defense dice. But it's far from a "do nothing" ability. By canceling those focus and blank results you prevent your opponent from turning them into evades. Yeah, you don't get to cancel their evade after they wasted a focus token to create it, but it's still gone. And it's especially powerful against autothrusters, something very important on a turret ship.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Apostasus wrote:
Question about the targeting sync:

If a ship uses the tl of a different ship with target sync to fire homing missiles, can the firing ship spend the targeting sync tl to reroll?

My instincts say no, but I've been wrong before


Incorrect. The firing ship CAN spend the target lock to re-roll dice. From the FAQ:

Q: What are examples of game effects that instruct a player
to spend a target lock?
A: The cost for a secondary weapon such as Proton Torpedoes, using pilot
abilities like Lieutenant Colzet, or spending a target lock during the "Modify Attack Dice" step to reroll attack dice are all examples of spending a target lock. Removing a target lock or assigning a blue target lock token to
another ship are not examples of spending a target lock.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/07/16 01:53:52


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


One nagging question:

Scum Nym means I can detonate bombs at Range 1 of me and not get damage right? Right?

Another really weird question but it gave me an idea for bumpmasters. Snap Shot. Since the ship is a turret, can you use that EPT 360 degrees?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/07/16 02:10:10


Post by: ingtaer


Thats how we read Nym as well.

For Snapshot its a secondary weapon so it is useable in arc only. Compare the wording to any of the turrets which all stipulate 'even outside of arc'.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/07/16 11:46:40


Post by: Peregrine


 Mathieu Raymond wrote:
Scum Nym means I can detonate bombs at Range 1 of me and not get damage right? Right?


Correct. You may ignore friendly bombs, period, no limit on which parts you ignore. Unless you want to take damage for some odd reason you ignore the damage entirely. This makes Genius + dial-reveal bombs a good combo.

Another really weird question but it gave me an idea for bumpmasters. Snap Shot. Since the ship is a turret, can you use that EPT 360 degrees?


No. Unless explicitly given permission to do so weapons can not fire outside of a ship's primary (forward) arc. A ship with a turret primary weapon has that explicit permission, but only for its primary weapon. While snap shot takes up an EPT slot instead of one of the more common weapon slots it is still a weapon, and follows all the normal rules for them.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/07/16 12:38:08


Post by: Mathieu Raymond


It would have been rather strong. But thanks for the head's up on Nym.

I guess I'll see if I'm the only one who thought it was somewhat worth it or not.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/07/18 17:59:50


Post by: Turnip Jedi


Bit of a silly one but with the new Vaksai title you can have multiple mods, so can you stack G-chips ?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/07/18 21:17:34


Post by: Peregrine


 Turnip Jedi wrote:
Bit of a silly one but with the new Vaksai title you can have multiple mods, so can you stack G-chips ?


No. The title explicitly says "three different modification upgrades".


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/07/19 07:44:56


Post by: Turnip Jedi


Boo, curse my lazy reading (lack of0 skills


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/08/16 06:44:53


Post by: Miradorm


Had this pop up a few weeks ago and never did find out the answer.

I had a Nym, with Genius and bomblet generator, at 1 hull, with stunned pilot crit. I was in a precarious position since I could end up being blocked by either of his 2 scurrgs if I had bumped either one would I have to deal the 1 damage before doing a Genius drop or do I get the decide the order in which they happen?

I think its the second option.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2017/08/18 03:29:32


Post by: Peregrine


Miradorm wrote:
Had this pop up a few weeks ago and never did find out the answer.

I had a Nym, with Genius and bomblet generator, at 1 hull, with stunned pilot crit. I was in a precarious position since I could end up being blocked by either of his 2 scurrgs if I had bumped either one would I have to deal the 1 damage before doing a Genius drop or do I get the decide the order in which they happen?

I think its the second option.


It's the second. Both trigger after completing your maneuver, so as the controlling player of both effects you get to choose which order they happen in.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2018/02/03 16:06:34


Post by: Apostasus


Just wondering, can Rexler Brath (defender) spend a focus to flip up a damage card dealt by the harpooned! Conditions?

Rexler ability: "after you perform an attack that deals at least one damage card..."

Harpooned: "When you are hit by an attack if there is at least 1 uncanceled critical result ... discard this card and receive 1 facedown Damage card."

Kinda a corner case, but it could be fun...


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2018/02/03 18:05:20


Post by: Turnip Jedi


I'm erring tentatively on No, I think its the condition trigger dealing the card rather than Rexlars attack


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2018/10/08 18:00:38


Post by: Apostasus


Second edition question:

Can a TIE prototype/ v1 force user use supernatural reflexes to link from the boost/roll into a (red) focus?

If so can the inquisitors (grand/7th/generic) then perform a blue maneuver to remove stress and then perform another action later in the turn?

The wording of advanced sensors in 2nd ("After you reveal your dial, you may perform 1 action. If you do, you cannot perform another action during your activation." Seems to clarify that the linked red->blue maneuver-> clear stress-> another action no longer works.

But the force power is/seems different enough to possibly allow it...




Automatically Appended Next Post:
Second question:

Does a ship that goes over/lands on an obstacle still count as "fully executing" a maneuver?


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2018/10/28 06:17:10


Post by: Miradorm


Quick question, think its pretty self explanatory but never hurts to ask for 2nd opinion.

Roark Garnet wording is any ship in firing arc engages at initiative 7. So is there a rule somewhere that says I can't make an enemy ship engage at 7?

Note only reason for now I can think to do this is to mess up opponents firing order to one he would prefer not to have.


X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread @ 2018/10/28 06:20:14


Post by: Peregrine


Miradorm wrote:
Quick question, think its pretty self explanatory but never hurts to ask for 2nd opinion.

Roark Garnet wording is any ship in firing arc engages at initiative 7. So is there a rule somewhere that says I can't make an enemy ship engage at 7?

Note only reason for now I can think to do this is to mess up opponents firing order to one he would prefer not to have.


Correct. You may choose an enemy ship, it's just (as you note) going to be a stupid idea to do so in all but the rarest of edge cases.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Apostasus wrote:
Can a TIE prototype/ v1 force user use supernatural reflexes to link from the boost/roll into a (red) focus?

If so can the inquisitors (grand/7th/generic) then perform a blue maneuver to remove stress and then perform another action later in the turn?

The wording of advanced sensors in 2nd ("After you reveal your dial, you may perform 1 action. If you do, you cannot perform another action during your activation." Seems to clarify that the linked red->blue maneuver-> clear stress-> another action no longer works.


Yes, it works. If an ability tells you to perform an action you can do a second action that links from it, if you have the link available. Advanced sensors explicitly states a limit of one action because otherwise you could link (or use other forms of multiple actions), that limit is a property of the upgrade and only applies to a ship using advanced sensors that turn.