Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 12:37:42
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Say a Librarian and Sanguinary Priest are in an Assault Squad - the Librarian and Priest do not have the Red Thirst rule, but they are joined to the squad at the beginning of the game.
I roll for thirst, and receive a 1, meaning the squad gets Furious Charge and Fearless for the duration of the game. Do the ICs get that rule while they're in the squad?
If they do, what happens if they leave the squad for any reason?
|
Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) - |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 12:40:41
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
Based on the way USR are defined in the BRB (i.e. certain rules explicitly say they are applied/lost when an IC joins/leaves a unit), unless the rule specifically says that the SP and the Librarian are affected, i'd say they weren't affected. Speculation only though, YMMV.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/09 12:41:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 12:43:03
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Here's my take: the rules say "on a score of 1...the entire squad is treated as having the furious charge and fearless special rules".
So the Librarian would fall back, and the squad would take fearless saves? Seems odd to me.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/09 12:43:34
Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) - |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 12:46:02
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
Well if I rember correctly, doesnt Fearless get added to an IC joining a fearless unit? I can;t honestly remember. If the IC DOES gain fearless from joining a fearless unit, then yes he'd be fearless - but he wouldn;t have the red thirst unless he failed his own individual roll. Furious Charge IIRC, is definately NOT an ability that an IC gains from joining a unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/09 12:48:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 13:06:13
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
liam0404 wrote:Well if I rember correctly, doesnt Fearless get added to an IC joining a fearless unit? I can;t honestly remember.
If the IC DOES gain fearless from joining a fearless unit, then yes he'd be fearless - but he wouldn;t have the red thirst unless he failed his own individual roll. Furious Charge IIRC, is definately NOT an ability that an IC gains from joining a unit.
This is correct
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 13:09:57
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
That sounds right - thanks!
And the Librarian and Priest do not have their own thirst roll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/09 13:10:28
Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) - |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 17:28:39
Subject: Re:The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
I agree the Librarian can't get FC from the assault squad's red thirst roll, but he'll get it from being within 6" of the priest.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 17:32:04
Subject: Re:The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Right. Don't think of it as 'The Red Thirst' rather than thinking of it like the assault squad has Fearless and Furious Charge (that was granted via the Red Thirst rule). Now, if they had those two USRs independantly of the librarian, would the libriarian be affected? Fearless - yes. FC - no.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 18:14:23
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
As a BA player I would disagree. The Red Thirst rule, says you roll after deployment to see if the squad falls to the Red Thirst. If you attach any IC's to a squad are they not a part of the squad?
Since they are a part of the squad they are affected by the roll. They lose ATSKNF and gain fearless becasue they are a part of the squad when you rolled for Red Thirst.
|
8000+points of |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 18:23:07
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
I would love to agree with both sides, as I can see both sides, but I'm afraid I'm going to have to come down onto the side of 'Libby gets RT bonuses'. This is because when an IC joins a unit/squad, they become a part of said unit, correct? The BA codex then says, pertaining to the RT rule, that, if it is failed (or passed, depending on your point of view  ) the UNIT (/squad, whatever, same thing  ) gains the following USR's, Fearless and FnP, therefore, as the Libby is part of the unit, surely he should also gain the bonuses? My $0.02
|
"There's too much blood in my caffeine system!!"
Students around the world |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 18:24:23
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I thought they gained Furious Charge? FnP would be a bit much...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 18:26:00
Subject: Re:The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
So what happens when he leaves the squad or they are killed around him? Does he then retain Fearless and Furious Charge (not FnP)? I don't think so.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 18:26:01
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Ah, my bad, both begin with the same letter  Yes I meant FC @Arschbombe; I think I agree with you, as he WAS part of the unit, thus elligible to gain the rules, but if he detaches/unit dies, he becomes his own unit again doesn't he, so yes, I would say (also as a BA player) that he would lose those abilities.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/09 18:28:57
"There's too much blood in my caffeine system!!"
Students around the world |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 18:38:20
Subject: Re:The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
I think everyone's on the same page with regard to Fearless since it is a USR that does get conferred to ICs who have joined with units who have it. FC is not one that gets conferred. There's no mechanism for the Red Thirst rule itself to get conferred as it is not a USR and there is no text in the BA dex that says ICs without it get it from squads they're attached to.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 18:53:10
Subject: Re:The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
Page 48, Right Column, Special Rules.
"When an independent character joins a unit, it might have different special rule from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself (as in 'Stubborn' special rule), the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the character<snip>"
Claiming that a model without Red Thirst to get the benefits and drawbacks of Red Thirst because the squad of the unit to which he is joined is a stretch.
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 23:01:11
Subject: Re:The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
Mahtamori wrote:Claiming that a model without Red Thirst to get the benefits and drawbacks of Red Thirst because the squad of the unit to which he is joined is a stretch.
QFT.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 23:02:30
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
So, in short, No, the IC doesn't suffer the Red Thirst's effects because he doesn't have the Red Thirst Rule.
He will be "Fearless" if he is with a Fearless unit, but won't have FC.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 06:17:24
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
Gwar! wrote:So, in short, No, the IC doesn't suffer the Red Thirst's effects because he doesn't have the Red Thirst Rule.
He will be "Fearless" if he is with a Fearless unit, but won't have FC.
Only problem with this is that most of the BA IC's do have a rule which is effected when the red thirst roll is "successful".
If you read the whole Red Thirst Specail rule, it says at the end that the unit has Fearless and FC instead of ATSKNF. So at that point lets say for instance, Dante is joined to a sqaud who rolls a 1 on red thirst, he would then loose ATSKNF because he is a part of the unit. He will also gain Fearless and FC.
This is just like Vulkan and his chapter tactics. Dreadnaughts are all to gain the ability of Vulkan with the twin-linked melta's but they do not give up combat tactics because they do not have.
|
8000+points of |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 12:58:33
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
Kapitalist-Pig wrote:Gwar! wrote:So, in short, No, the IC doesn't suffer the Red Thirst's effects because he doesn't have the Red Thirst Rule.
He will be "Fearless" if he is with a Fearless unit, but won't have FC.
Only problem with this is that most of the BA IC's do have a rule which is effected when the red thirst roll is "successful".
If you read the whole Red Thirst Specail rule, it says at the end that the unit has Fearless and FC instead of ATSKNF. So at that point lets say for instance, Dante is joined to a sqaud who rolls a 1 on red thirst, he would then loose ATSKNF because he is a part of the unit. He will also gain Fearless and FC.
This is just like Vulkan and his chapter tactics. Dreadnaughts are all to gain the ability of Vulkan with the twin-linked melta's but they do not give up combat tactics because they do not have.
No. ATSKNF is not transferable to squads the IC joins to and Red Thirst is not transferable to ICs joined to the squad. Dante still has ATSKNF, but in a squad that is fearless it has no meaning. It should be noted that as long as Dante is part of the squad, he is Fearless and will be subject to No Retreat! as well.
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 18:18:25
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
Mahtamori wrote:Kapitalist-Pig wrote:Gwar! wrote:So, in short, No, the IC doesn't suffer the Red Thirst's effects because he doesn't have the Red Thirst Rule.
He will be "Fearless" if he is with a Fearless unit, but won't have FC.
Only problem with this is that most of the BA IC's do have a rule which is effected when the red thirst roll is "successful".
If you read the whole Red Thirst Specail rule, it says at the end that the unit has Fearless and FC instead of ATSKNF. So at that point lets say for instance, Dante is joined to a sqaud who rolls a 1 on red thirst, he would then loose ATSKNF because he is a part of the unit. He will also gain Fearless and FC.
This is just like Vulkan and his chapter tactics. Dreadnaughts are all to gain the ability of Vulkan with the twin-linked melta's but they do not give up combat tactics because they do not have.
No. ATSKNF is not transferable to squads the IC joins to and Red Thirst is not transferable to ICs joined to the squad. Dante still has ATSKNF, but in a squad that is fearless it has no meaning. It should be noted that as long as Dante is part of the squad, he is Fearless and will be subject to No Retreat! as well.
It is not whether ATSKNF is transferable it is that the Red Thirst rule specifically says and I quote "On a score of a 1, one or more members of the squad have succumbed to the red thirst and the ENTIRE squad is treat as having Furious Charge and Fearleass specail rules instead of And They Shall Know No Fear for the Duration of the game."
So at which point would Dante be a part of the squad? Is he a part of the ENTIRE squad? Does he have ATSKNF? Does Red Thirst effect all models in a squad?
|
8000+points of |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/12 18:28:57
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Dante is never part of the squad. He is an IC attached to the squad at deployment.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/13 05:28:56
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
Gwar! wrote:Dante is never part of the squad. He is an IC attached to the squad at deployment.
So Gwar what your saying is attaching a IC to a squad is not the same as a squad that has an IC in it? Help me understand your logic please! As far as I know when you attach an IC to a squad you treat it as a model in the squad. The only times there are execptions to this is when you are moving the IC away from the squad or during attacks in close combat, which are both rules that specificy what to do in those instances. So to say an IC is attached to the squad but not part of it is ludicris.
Additionally, I would like you to cite a page reference to back up your statment thank you.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/13 05:30:27
8000+points of |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/13 06:38:18
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happens after deployment, and it's not a USR IC is part of the unit... unless I've missed something...
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/14 06:18:46
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Special rules do not transfer to characters unless otherwise specified.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/14 06:43:51
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
I think that is USR's.
In this case The Red Thirst specifies that the entire squad is treated as having Fearless and Furious Charge instead of ATSKNF.
So is the IC a part of the squad? Yes. Did the squad roll a 1 for The Red Thirst? Yes. The Entire Squad gains these rules and loses this rule.
|
8000+points of |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/14 06:51:35
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Kapitalist-Pig wrote:I think that is USR's.
In this case The Red Thirst specifies that the entire squad is treated as having Fearless and Furious Charge instead of ATSKNF.
So is the IC a part of the squad? Yes. Did the squad roll a 1 for The Red Thirst? Yes. The Entire Squad gains these rules and loses this rule.
No, He is not part of the squad.
If he was, he would never be able to leave.
Secondly, the IC doesn't have The Red Thirst, so he wouldn't be affected by the roll anyway.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/14 06:52:41
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Unless you can find some refference that gives specific rules how to treat army specific special rules, we have no choice but to treat them the same way we do universal ones.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/14 07:15:32
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
Gwar! wrote:Kapitalist-Pig wrote:I think that is USR's.
In this case The Red Thirst specifies that the entire squad is treated as having Fearless and Furious Charge instead of ATSKNF.
So is the IC a part of the squad? Yes. Did the squad roll a 1 for The Red Thirst? Yes. The Entire Squad gains these rules and loses this rule.
No, He is not part of the squad.
If he was, he would never be able to leave.
Secondly, the IC doesn't have The Red Thirst, so he wouldn't be affected by the roll anyway.
First thing first, Gwar when an IC joins a squad you treat them as part of the squad. Such is the case in shooting coherency and if the unit is falling back. So to say that an IC that has joined a squad is not a part of it is unfounded.
Secondly, Hoverboy on page 74 of the BRB it outlines that "Many units of models in Warhammer 40k have unique specail rules. There are, however , quite a few specail rules that are shared by several units, even across different codex books...." When it comes to army specific rules they are governed by the codex. When they have a reference they refer you to the USR's. It also states that if the Specail rule is different, the one in the codex takes precedence. So the only time you are to treat rules like USR's are when they are like USR's and refer to to them. Even at that point most of the time the Codex takes precedence.
And you have it the other way around (which I did not catch at first)!Specail rules marked with an * (Asterisk) are automatically lost by an IC joining a unit without this rule and vice versa. The Red Thirst has no such mark.
|
8000+points of |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/14 07:54:56
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
~!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/14 08:10:43
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/14 08:05:59
Subject: The Red Thirst - does it affect ICs that are part of the squad at the start?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Kapitalist-Pig wrote:First thing first, Gwar when an IC joins a squad you treat them as part of the squad.
Exactly, you TREAT them as pert of the squad for the purposes of shooting only. THEY DO NOT BECOME PART OF THE SQUAD. Secondly, the IC does not have the Red Thirst Special Rule, so why would it affect him when the Red Thirst only affects models with that special rule? Sorry Kapitalist-Pig, but you are completely and utterly wrong.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/14 08:06:56
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
|