Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 13:25:03
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I was playing in a game and had a squad of grey hunters in combat with a tyranid prime and carnifex. My GH luckily lived threw the first round of combat. So on my turn I drove a rhino with a RP next to the combat and there was plenty of space for me to Jaws the back of the Carnifexs base. So I jawsed him and he failed his test.
Now what im asking is is this legal? Also when it dies do the GH stay there or pile into the prime?
This honestly seems legal, but completely cheesy.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/05/29 13:36:06
3000pts
2500pts
3000pts Dark Elves |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 13:44:30
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Potentially Legal, and cheesy. Of course it is, its a PK codex....
There is an implication that, as this is a PSA, you cannot target a unit in combat, and the first model touched by the line IS the target as far as Jaws goes (see the FAQ) - so if you didnt hit anything before the fex, then i would say "no"
They would not pile in, as pile in moves are made after combat, not before, and it wasnt an assault move so no move or defenders react. You sit there waiting to pile in next round, if anything is left alive.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 14:07:14
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I don't believe that you can do it because as nos said the first model touched is the "target" and you can't "target" models in CC with a shooting attack. Had there been another model in front of it not in CC and you "targeted" it, but the line hits the carnie afterward then I believe it would be legal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 14:08:48
Subject: Re:JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
A psychic shooting attack occurs in the shooting phase and is a form of shooting attack. You may not fire into close combat.
With JWW, you could have targeted an enemy unit outside of combat and ensured that the line you drew ran into the enemy in combat, but you targeting a unit in cc with a shooting attack is illegal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 15:29:48
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Since the power is classified as a shooting attack, and you can't shoot into melee...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 15:42:50
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
juraigamer wrote:Since the power is classified as a shooting attack, and you can't shoot into melee...
Not true - you cannot *target* a unit in combat, however Jaws works fine passing through combat - its just, I believe, the initial target (the first model touched) that cannot be locked in combat
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 15:45:10
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Potentially Legal, and cheesy. Of course it is, its a PK codex....
A bit offtopic I know but given the consensus I'm going to go ahead briefly, are you seriously suggesting one or both of Ward and Cruddace is better than Kelly?
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 16:07:30
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes. Gross internal imbalance and stupid entire-game-design-ignoring rules == kelly.
Eldar - atrocious internal balance. Broke 4th ed royally with flying circus stupidity - even less fun to play against than the worst spam GK army, as at least you could kill something in that game. 1/36 chance of killing a falcon back then.
DE - monstrous imbalance in the codex - why wouldnt you double the number of shots on your cheap transport for only 10pts? cheap elite blaster spam
SW - first way of breaking 5th with spam fest LF and razor spam, and undercosted GH
Orks are probably his best, and even they have some complete nobrainers and complete stinkers of unit choices
For his rules wackyness Ward has at least the concept of internal balance, gives you codexes you can write varied army lists with that are all reasonable - he just got screwed, with GK, by the accountants. The original dex didnt have 'backs or cheap psy ammo, and everything cost a heck of a lot more.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 16:21:42
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
fair enough, I won't get into a discussion here, as mentioned it's not really the place, was just very interested because it really doesn't mesh with my opinion or that of most people in my regular gaming circles.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 19:17:15
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:juraigamer wrote:Since the power is classified as a shooting attack, and you can't shoot into melee...
Not true - you cannot *target* a unit in combat, however Jaws works fine passing through combat - its just, I believe, the initial target (the first model touched) that cannot be locked in combat
Nonsense, it's still a shooting attack, it's just you don't need to roll to hit (something I'm furious about)
You cannot deliberatly shoot into melee unless given permission, and the only thing that can affect melee (with regard to shooting attacks) is if a weapon that uses scatter dice scatters onto a melee.
With regard to the nonsense of phil kelly:
I'm surprised how much people rant on ward. It doesn't help that most DE players are wych spamming fools and eldar have fallen by the wayside.
That only leaves SW and their stupid cheap, stupid good, stupid spammy and stupid powerfulness.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 20:11:15
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
juraigamer wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:juraigamer wrote:Since the power is classified as a shooting attack, and you can't shoot into melee...
Not true - you cannot *target* a unit in combat, however Jaws works fine passing through combat - its just, I believe, the initial target (the first model touched) that cannot be locked in combat
Nonsense, it's still a shooting attack, it's just you don't need to roll to hit (something I'm furious about)
You cannot deliberatly shoot into melee unless given permission, and the only thing that can affect melee (with regard to shooting attacks) is if a weapon that uses scatter dice scatters onto a melee.
Can you prove that with some quotes? I think you are well wrong. You can shoot into combat so long as you don't target the unit in combat.
A firing unit can choose a single enemy unit that is not
locked in combat as its target, and may not split its fire
among different targets. Automatically Appended Next Post: Jaws targets only the first model that it hits. It doesn't matter where the rest of the models are or what they rae doing just so long as the first is a valid target.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/29 20:13:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 20:22:41
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Jurai - again, reread the rules. The restriction is on targetting. Thats it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/29 20:32:42
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
And that is why the Vibro-cannon is able to shoot models in close combat, because there is no target. Though I do agree it is stupid that JotWW and Blood Lance don't require a To Hit roll.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 03:34:23
Subject: Re:JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So...death rays can hit units in CC...because you never select a target, just 2 points lol
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 03:55:50
Subject: Re:JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Basimpo wrote:So...death rays can hit units in CC...because you never select a target, just 2 points lol
Arguably yes. Because its a line - similar to JotWW - I'd say that the first unit hit is the target... But after that it's fair game.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 04:13:05
Subject: Re:JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
purging philadelphia
|
rigeld2 wrote:Basimpo wrote:So...death rays can hit units in CC...because you never select a target, just 2 points lol
Arguably yes. Because its a line - similar to JotWW - I'd say that the first unit hit is the target... But after that it's fair game.
Not to derail this topic onto death rays but i think the deathray rule actually provides a precedence for what it is 'targeting.' IIRC it can choose any one unit that it hits (enemy) to fire its tesla destructor into. That would de-facto be the target for the deathray as well since the vehicle firing can still only choose one 'target.'
So the priest is with a unit of grey hunters and they want to shoot their bolters and jotww a unit thats on the other side of a combat...wouldnt that unit be the 'target'? Any intervening models would just so happen get hit by the jotww effect?
|
2013 Nova Open Tournament Champ-
2014 Las Vegas Open Best Tau Player/13th overall
2014 NOVA Open Second to One
2015 Las Vegas Open Best Tau Player/10th overall
I play:
all the 40k
http://www.teamstompinggrounds.com
https://www.facebook.com/teamsgvideos
http://www.twitch.tv/sgvideo
@teamsgvideo
writer for http://www.torrentoffire.com/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 04:55:44
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The SW FAQ defines that the first model crossed by the line is Jaws' target.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 04:58:13
Subject: Re:JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
thanatos67 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Basimpo wrote:So...death rays can hit units in CC...because you never select a target, just 2 points lol
Arguably yes. Because its a line - similar to JotWW - I'd say that the first unit hit is the target... But after that it's fair game.
Not to derail this topic onto death rays but i think the deathray rule actually provides a precedence for what it is 'targeting.' IIRC it can choose any one unit that it hits (enemy) to fire its tesla destructor into. That would de-facto be the target for the deathray as well since the vehicle firing can still only choose one 'target.'
So the priest is with a unit of grey hunters and they want to shoot their bolters and jotww a unit thats on the other side of a combat...wouldnt that unit be the 'target'? Any intervening models would just so happen get hit by the jotww effect?
Not even in the slightest. You MIGHT have a point of precedence, if the SW FAQ didn't specify that the first unit hit by JotWW is the target.
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 05:21:37
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
purging philadelphia
|
Ah wasnt aware of the FAQ, so in my above description then you cant use jaws through an intervening combat?
|
2013 Nova Open Tournament Champ-
2014 Las Vegas Open Best Tau Player/13th overall
2014 NOVA Open Second to One
2015 Las Vegas Open Best Tau Player/10th overall
I play:
all the 40k
http://www.teamstompinggrounds.com
https://www.facebook.com/teamsgvideos
http://www.twitch.tv/sgvideo
@teamsgvideo
writer for http://www.torrentoffire.com/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 06:33:50
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
Not legal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 06:48:20
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
purging philadelphia
|
I dont play wolves, so this is good to know. I've always thought my above example was correct but didnt realize it had been faq'd.
Also with the new faq regarding shooting attacks etc out of transports I'm guessing you can jotww out of a rhino anymore?
If so...good riddance
|
2013 Nova Open Tournament Champ-
2014 Las Vegas Open Best Tau Player/13th overall
2014 NOVA Open Second to One
2015 Las Vegas Open Best Tau Player/10th overall
I play:
all the 40k
http://www.teamstompinggrounds.com
https://www.facebook.com/teamsgvideos
http://www.twitch.tv/sgvideo
@teamsgvideo
writer for http://www.torrentoffire.com/
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 07:21:17
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
thanatos67 wrote:I dont play wolves, so this is good to know. I've always thought my above example was correct but didnt realize it had been faq'd.
Also with the new faq regarding shooting attacks etc out of transports I'm guessing you can jotww out of a rhino anymore?
If so...good riddance
You can cast JOTWW out of any transport as long as you would normally be able to fire a ranged weapon from said transport.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 09:10:39
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
thanatos67 wrote:I dont play wolves, so this is good to know. I've always thought my above example was correct but didnt realize it had been faq'd.
Also with the new faq regarding shooting attacks etc out of transports I'm guessing you can jotww out of a rhino anymore?
If so...good riddance
The FAQ that explicitly allows you to use psychic powers, or shooting attacks, of which Jaws is both?
The FAQ disallows NON-shooting, NON-psychic attacks from using firepoints to draw LOS
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 15:57:30
Subject: Re:JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Alessio Cavatore
United Socialist Republic of Maryland
|
Realllyyyy CHEESY when you do it to your Dad's carnifex in a tournament!
JERK!
|
"Stupidity is usually fatal" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 16:16:21
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
Not legal and I've seen People DQd at tournaments for this.
|
Do not fear |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 19:12:14
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
@ 666: Do you have a rules backing for it not being legal, other than how to's have decided?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 20:04:45
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
Read the latest SW FAQ. It directly addresses this particular situation.
|
Do not fear |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 20:17:50
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Is jaws of the world wolf legal? No. Lol but you can't target into combat but it can hi into combat. I hate this spell with a passion.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 20:42:46
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I should have asked, are you saying drawing the lie so the first target hit is in cc is illegal, or hitting a unit in cc period is illegal?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 20:50:24
Subject: JotWW - is this legal?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
You cant snipe with it.
|
Do not fear |
|
 |
 |
|