Switch Theme:

Can you take Coteaz twice?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




Here's an interesting question: Can you take Coteaz (Or that other inquisitor on the giant chair) twice? Once from the Grey Knights codex, once from the Inquisition codex? They're technically different units with the same name, and since they're from a different codex I would assume there's nothing stopping it exceot the cheese.
Also, if two Coteaz were in the same squad, would they get to fire I've Been Expecting You twice?
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior






One per army as he is unique. So no.

   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




teban wrote:
One per army as he is unique. So no.

But it's two different Coteaz's. Two models, two different entries, from two different codices. One can enter Grey Knights transports. The other can't. They even use different warlord trait charts. They just happen to have the same name, stats, and special rules.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Waaaghpower wrote:
teban wrote:
One per army as he is unique. So no.

But it's two different Coteaz's. Two models, two different entries, from two different codices. One can enter Grey Knights transports. The other can't. They even use different warlord trait charts. They just happen to have the same name, stats, and special rules.


And they are both unique characters with the same name. So no you can't take him twice
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




Where does the rulebook say that having the same name matters? It says you can't take the same unique character twice. Not that you can't take two unique characters with the same name.

I realize it's stupid, and I would never take 2 Coteaz' in a game, but there really isn't any RAW against it.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Where in the rulebook does it say different codex entries makes the same special character different?
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




 CrownAxe wrote:
Where in the rulebook does it say different codex entries makes the same special character different?

What if you had two models with the same fluff, rules, and stats, were in the same codex, and they had a different name? Can they be taken separately then?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Waaaghpower wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
Where in the rulebook does it say different codex entries makes the same special character different?

What if you had two models with the same fluff, rules, and stats, were in the same codex, and they had a different name? Can they be taken separately then?

Yeah
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




 CrownAxe wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
Where in the rulebook does it say different codex entries makes the same special character different?

What if you had two models with the same fluff, rules, and stats, were in the same codex, and they had a different name? Can they be taken separately then?

Yeah

Because the two different Coteaz have a lot more difference. Their allies are different. Their Warlord trait is different. Their codex entry is different. The vehicles they can enter and units they can join are different. They are not the same. So why are you counting them as the same?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





They are both are the same unit because they are both denominated as Coteaz.

Changing gear and rules don't matter. A Tactical Marine who bought a flamer and has chapter tactics salamanders is still a Tactical Marine. A Chosen CSM with Mark of Nurgle is still a Chosen CSM. a Chapter Master on a bike is still a Chapter Master They're still the same kind of unit either way, so why should a Special Character change?
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

They are both the same guy. So unless you get your opponent to agree I wouldn't do it.

Try some type of warp storm fluff and 2 of Coteaz show up. That could be cool in a fun game but in a tournament I bet you'd get ruled against.

01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





They have difference rules, so i say you can

Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Wow.

1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in us
Hacking Interventor




The only thing you can take from Coteaz being in C:I and C:GK is that there will be no Inquisitors in the new GK dex.

Until that happens we have to put up with a little bit of odd stuff.

That fact that this question has been asked makes it pretty clear that you know they are the same guy, albeit from different Codexes.

So really, why ask? Unique is unique and they are obviously the same character.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/15 10:43:30


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"Coteas" is unique, you cannot have more than one coteaz. Nothing in the rule for unique characters states that this denomination is relative to the codex, so you don't get to say "he is coteaz(gk) so is not coteaz(I) " as codex, nor rules, are considered.

No, you don't get him twice
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





This is actually a legitimate question or trolling?
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Legitimate question i do believe.

I have once seen the argument that "Unique character" on page 5 or 6 says that they have "the same profile", but Coteaz(GK) and Coteaz(I) have different stat values. (Do they?)

If one has WS4 the other WS5, they are "different" unique characters.

I am however clearly on the side that the name of the (Unique) makes him the same character

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in au
Hacking Interventor




Coteaz has the same profile in both Codexes
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

I just remember it as an argument (if it was ever changed). If he is the exact same profile, wargear etc, then the Rule for (unique) in the first pages of the BRB is what RaW bans you from taking both.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Using Inks and Washes




St. George, Utah

Waaaghpower wrote:
Where does the rulebook say that having the same name matters? It says you can't take the same unique character twice. Not that you can't take two unique characters with the same name.

I realize it's stupid, and I would never take 2 Coteaz' in a game, but there really isn't any RAW against it.
Sammael in his Jetbike and Sammael in his Landspeeder are actually vastly different in terms of stat-line, and what they bring to the battlefield. The Coteaz in both those books as far as I know is completely identical, save which army he's a part of.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Well , since you are obviously cheating by using a the fact the Inquisitors got there own codex to try and justify fielding two of the same character... I can't fathom how anyone could respond to this apart from bursting out laughing?
   
Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot





Equestria/USA

page 110 under unique it says
"Each special character is unique, so a player cannot include multiples of the same special character in an army."
So the way it reads to me, if the entry says Coteaz, you get one Coteaz(Choose either GK or INQ), regardless of codex source since it says one unique special character in "An army" not per detachment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/15 14:53:43


Black Templars 4000 Deathwatch 6000
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Per page 3 of the rulebook, each model has a profile, unit type, and possibly wargear (including weapons and armour) and possibly special rules.

The question is if two models have the same name, the same profile, the same unit type, the same wargear, but different rules, are they the same unit?

If so, then you cannot take multiple Coteaz. If not then you can. Both readings of RAW in this case are correct. However, I seriously doubt RAI would be 2 Coteaz.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Still curious:
Can anyone name any other unit that has a similar problem?
Or is it just Coteaz being included in multiple current codex/supplements?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




JinxDragon wrote:
Still curious:
Can anyone name any other unit that has a similar problem?
Or is it just Coteaz being included in multiple current codex/supplements?

There's also that other Inquisitor on a fancy walker thing. Same deal, he's in the Inquisition book and the GK book.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Which means he won't be a good precedent case.... though I doubt, even if we found one other, that the problem would of been officially addressed.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior






Waaaghpower wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
Still curious:
Can anyone name any other unit that has a similar problem?
Or is it just Coteaz being included in multiple current codex/supplements?

There's also that other Inquisitor on a fancy walker thing. Same deal, he's in the Inquisition book and the GK book.


You are referring to Karamazov and he is also another unique character. Same as Coteaz. One per army, mate


You could look into generic inquisitors though

   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator






This maybe not the best example but red scorpions have two versions of carab culln, veteran sgt and chapter master. Although the rules are forgeworld they specifically forbid you taking both as it represents the same character at different points in his career.

I'd personally treat the two coteaz's (plural coteii?) the same way.

   
Made in ge
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





Republic Of Georgia

Blood Angels Chapter Master Dante, in the codex he is one price with a couple of extra buffs, in the data slate he is cheaper without the hit & run or precision strike.

However you are limited to choosing one or the other in my opinion.

So they have us surrounded? Excellent, now we can shoot in any direction we want!!!
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Tarthenal wrote:
This maybe not the best example but red scorpions have two versions of carab culln, veteran sgt and chapter master. Although the rules are forgeworld they specifically forbid you taking both as it represents the same character at different points in his career.

I'd personally treat the two coteaz's (plural coteii?) the same way.


Same with Tycho, from BA. Again though, the BA codex specifically disallows you to take both versions.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: