Switch Theme:

Boarding plank assault vs. dreadnought  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Doesn't the rule state the ork counts as charging?

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, now find the rule that states the Ork is in BtB

Hint: it isn't.

"Counts as Charging" /= "is actually charging", otherwise it wouldnt be "counts as"

Clues in the language used, oddly enough.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, now find the rule that states the Ork is in BtB

Hint: it isn't.

"Counts as Charging" /= "is actually charging", otherwise it wouldnt be "counts as"

Clues in the language used, oddly enough.

And making an orks attacks as if it were charging, which is what the rule actually calls for =/= ork counts as charging or actually charging

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/02/07 19:30:06


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Green Blow Fly wrote:Doesn't the rule state the ork counts as charging?

G


It says "A Single Embarked Ork to make his close combat attacks against the enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as if the ork were disembarked and charging, provided neithe vehicle has moved more than 12"."

NOUN: "A Single Embarked Ork"
Action Allowed by the rules: "to make his close combat attacks against the enemy vehicle within 2"
Limits or modifications to the action: "exactly as if the ork were disembarked and charging, provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12"

The rule does not grant anything to happen except the attacks of the embarked ork. Rules are permissive.

What you are reading the rule to say is: "A Single Embarked Ork is allowed to resolve a round of combat against the enemy vehicle within 2" by allowing the ork to disembarked and assault into BtB, provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12". During combat, the single model counts as a unit for combat resolution. At the end of combat resolution, the model immediately re-embarks on to the vehicle.

The rule doesn't say any of this. Which makes your interpretation RAI by definition.

Rules say what you can do... And this rule as written doesn't allow in any way for the normal rules of close combat to be executed. It simply doesn't due to the definition of the English phrase "as if" and sentence structure.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/07 20:14:02


My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





The rule states the model counts as charging? What does charging mean in 5th Ed. 40k? So what attacks can the Ork make? It is asking for a situation not covered by the rules. So surely the plank is entirely useless by RAW?

You certainly don't get +1A +1S +1I by RAW as it doesn't say you are initiating an assault.

What does making it's attacks as is disembarked and charging allow it to do? What attacks does a charging model make? I can find no reference to this in the BRB please enlighten me?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Like I said it breaks the rules when used against a walker.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Green Blow Fly wrote:Like I said it breaks the rules when used against a walker.

G


Again, you make a statement with no rules backing, which is in fact in complete contrary to what the *actual* rules say.

Troll much?

To make it clear: when used against a vehicle (walker) it breaks no rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/07 21:39:05


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





To make it clear: when used against a vehicle (walker) it breaks no rules.


But what rules does it use to resolve the attacks? What "attacks" does a model make when charging? What does charging mean by RaW in 5th Ed.?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Exactly! Does it hit Based on far the dread moved?

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Green Blow Fly wrote:Exactly! Does it hit Based on far the dread moved?

G
Errm... What? Do you normally hit based on how far the dread moved? Or are you just trolling, as usual?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

wOw next you'll say it hits on hte rear armor.

* face palimony *

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: