Switch Theme:

X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in si
Foxy Wildborne







http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/x-wing/support/faq/X-Wing-FAQ.pdf

Page 8

Touching multiple ships
A ship can end its maneuver touching multiple ships. If a ship overlaps two ships, and its own base ends its maneuver touching both ships it has overlapped after moving backwards along the template, the overlapping ship is considered to be touching both overlapped ships, and both overlapped ships
are touching it.


The old meta is dead and the new meta struggles to be born. Now is the time of munchkins. 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




I'd say with bumping ships its easy to say an X-wing/TIE, etc can only really bump one ship, small base to either small or big, but a Falcon/Slave 1 could easily smack into 2 ships that are for all appearances exactly the same distance apart. Its easier to just go with the rules stating multiple ships can bump than waste time arguing that only one of those ships is hit and trying to figure out minuscule amounts to agree which one is bumped. A big ship stops when it hits something, but that bigger base extends the bump-able surface.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Sure thing man. Pg 8 of this PDF, right side column.
Current FFG X-Wing FAQ

Edit: apparently there was more than one "First unread" haha...ninjad

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/08 01:34:48


 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator





Florida, USA

I have a quick question about Leebo for the YT-2400. Can he take this action and another action? I always get confused by 'Free action'. It seems to me that the word free, would mean that I would be able to Focus, and then do a boost with Leebo.. or else it just seems like a wasteful card since I'm taking an ill affect from it. I reviewed the FAQ to see if that card was on there, but I didn't find it, maybe there is a precedence already?

You don't see da eyes of da Daemon, till him come callin'
- King Willy - Predator 2 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Matt1785 wrote:
I have a quick question about Leebo for the YT-2400. Can he take this action and another action? I always get confused by 'Free action'. It seems to me that the word free, would mean that I would be able to Focus, and then do a boost with Leebo.. or else it just seems like a wasteful card since I'm taking an ill affect from it. I reviewed the FAQ to see if that card was on there, but I didn't find it, maybe there is a precedence already?


Free action means that it doesn't use up your once-per-turn action that happens during the "perform action" step of a ship's activation. The reason the boost is a free action is that activating Leebo requires you to spend an action. Calling the boost a free action just clarifies that it doesn't cost a second action to perform the actual boost once you've spent the first one to use Leebo.

As for why you'd use Leebo, cheaper point cost and using up a crew slot instead of a modification slot.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator





Florida, USA

Another perhaps silly question that may be in the FAQ... but can you use Push the Limit AND Experimental Interface in the same turn? I was thinking of adding Daredevil to Tycho to make him a bit more sneaky with his stress... just not sure if you can do it... I mean then it gives Tycho 3 actions per phase at all times, including a hard 1 either way he wants... might not be too useful, although I was thinking of tossing some Proton Rockets on him.

You don't see da eyes of da Daemon, till him come callin'
- King Willy - Predator 2 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Matt1785 wrote:
Another perhaps silly question that may be in the FAQ... but can you use Push the Limit AND Experimental Interface in the same turn?


Ask yourself this: why can't you use it? They both trigger when you perform an action, and both cause you to perform an action. So assuming there is nothing else preventing you from taking an action you are free to use both cards in the same turn. In fact, you can even use them both on a pilot other than Tycho if you're willing to take extra stress. You perform your first action, trigger PTL, perform the second action, trigger EI, perform the third action, receive the stress from EI, then return to the interrupted resolution of PTL and receive the second stress token.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator





Florida, USA

Ah, I thought that the stress token came right away meaning I'd have to stop actions. I didn't even think of that. Thanks.

You don't see da eyes of da Daemon, till him come callin'
- King Willy - Predator 2 
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

But doing a green maneuver will only rid you of a single stress correct?

"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 Nicorex wrote:
But doing a green maneuver will only rid you of a single stress correct?
Correct.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

I have another rules question.
Say I am using Dash Rendar in a 2400 with a HLC and the "Outrider" upgrade but I also add a "Gunner" as the crew member.
"Outrider" says ignore primary weapon and use cannon outside arc. "Gunner" says if you miss try again with primary weapon.
So do I use the HLC again, the basic primary weapon or do I get no extra shot at all because one upgrade says do not use and the other says use in this situation.
I am a tad confused.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/26 19:13:22


"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

Nicorex,
This question is not covered in the current most FAQ, and I am somewhat surprised at my conclusion.


Errata to Gunner and Luke change the first line to
"After you perform an attack that does not hit you may immediately perform a primary weapon attack."


All those things seem to tell me that putting a Gunner or a Luke on your Outrider is not a good use of points... you will not be able to use their abilities to shoot again. Not with the HLC and not with a primary weapon either. Just don't do it... Gunner says to make a primary weapon attack if you miss, but you can't make primary weapon attacks with the Outrider. Or at least you can't until you get hit with Munitions Failure.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/07/27 03:27:49


DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

I see your point Anpu-adom. I will just not use a gunner with that set up. Saves me 5 points.

"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 Nicorex wrote:
I see your point Anpu-adom. I will just not use a gunner with that set up. Saves me 5 points.
Correct, Gunner and the Outrider title do not work together and therefore a waste of five points (besides, Kyle Katarn or Recon Specialist are a better fit for Dash anyway! )

It isn't in the FAQ because situations like this are mentioned in the core rulebook:
BREAKING THE RULES:
Some abilities on cards conflict with the general rules. In case of a conflict, card text overrides the general rules. If one card ability forbids an effect, while another ability allows it, the effect is forbidden.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

Thanks for the clarification Scooty..

Now I have another one.

If I was using the Lando Pilot yt-1300 and I bumped another ship even thought i set the dial to a green maneuver. Would his ability still go off?

"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

Yes, because it simply says execute, not successfully execute, so, like the removal of a stress token, will trigger.

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

Coolness!

"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

I have another one...

So Han Solo's pilot rule says he MUST reroll all the dice he can.
So say I get a hit and 2 focus, So I must reroll those 2 focus before I can spend my focus token to change them to hits?

I am just not sure what dice I MUST reroll.

"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

Only rerolled dice, not modified dice, cannot be rerolled. So if you spent the focus token to modify the dice, then used Han's ability, you'd have to reroll them.

Because Han's ability isn't an action and doesn't require an action to activate, it is best used in circumstances where you've either lost your action or spent it elsewhere. Generally speaking, most other rerolls (target lock, Predator etc) are more useful, but they of course need points or actions spent in order to be used.

Rule of thumb, modify dice after you've rerolled all you want/are able to.

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 Azreal13 wrote:
Rule of thumb, modify dice after you've rerolled all you want/are able to.
Indeed.

Say you are at range 1 and you are rolling four dice. You roll {eye}, {blank}, {blank}, {blank}. You have a focus token and a target lock on the the defender. You choose to spend your target lock to reroll your blanks and you roll {crit}, {hit}, {blank}. You can now choose to your focus token to turn the {eye} into a {hit} and lose the token for defense, or gamble using Han's ability to reroll the {eye} result from the initial roll in the hopes of scoring a {crit} or {hit} without spending the focus token. You could also roll an {eye} and then use your focus token or roll blank... which is why it's a gamble and fits thematically with Han Solo.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

Okay if I am understanding you two...
I roll 3 die for Han's shot, I get a focus and two blank.
I choose to use his reroll so I must reroll all three. I can not save the eyeball (because I know I have a focus token) and then hope I either get hits, crits or eyeballs.
Have I got that right?

I am thinking of using him in a store tourney next week.
That's why I am trying to clarify so much these days.

"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

Yes, you have that right, only if you have physically picked up a dice and rolled it for a second time already is it excluded from his ability, any other effect that changes the result doesn't count.

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

Ahh okay.. thanks

"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Guys, I'm going insane trying to find this:

Where are the rules for the "Limited" keyword on upgrades written? I did a ctrl+f in the rule back and the FAQ PDFs, but couldn't find it.

I think I've been mixing up Limited and Unique, and thinking that the Outlaw Tech upgrade is one per fleet instead of one per ship.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

Limited is One Per Ship
Unique is One Per Fleet

Unique is described in the main rulebook. The rule you seek will be in one of the expansion rulebooks. I don't have my books along to look, but I'm guessing that it is in the Shuttle, Falcon, or Slave I rulebooks.

DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 streamdragon wrote:
Guys, I'm going insane trying to find this:

Where are the rules for the "Limited" keyword on upgrades written? I did a ctrl+f in the rule back and the FAQ PDFs, but couldn't find it.

I think I've been mixing up Limited and Unique, and thinking that the Outlaw Tech upgrade is one per fleet instead of one per ship.
Yes, you have it backwards Limited is described in the GR-75 rule book (the first ship to have "Limited" upgrade cards packaged with it) on page six:
LIMITED UPGRADES

Some of the Upgrade cards in this expansion pack are labeled "Limited." A ship cannot equip multiple copies of the same card if that card is labeled as "Limited."


Unique is signified with the black bullet [ • ] in front of the card name, like this: • Han Solo

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/21 13:20:49


 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 ScootyPuffJunior wrote:
Yes, you have it backwards Limited is described in the GR-75 rule book (the first ship to have "Limited" upgrade cards packaged with it)

That's what I was looking for, thanks. Explains why I couldn't find it in the rulebook or the FAQ, though you'd think that FFG would throw that into the main rule book at some point. At least the FAQ.
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 streamdragon wrote:
 ScootyPuffJunior wrote:
Yes, you have it backwards Limited is described in the GR-75 rule book (the first ship to have "Limited" upgrade cards packaged with it)

That's what I was looking for, thanks. Explains why I couldn't find it in the rulebook or the FAQ, though you'd think that FFG would throw that into the main rule book at some point. At least the FAQ.
If indeed we are getting a new core set (and it certainly seems that way), it will probably be incorporated into the core rule book.

The FAQ is for clarifications and assumes you have access to all printed rules ("Limited" is also found on page four in the general Huge Ship Rules available on FFG's website).

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






New question:

The Hound's Tooth title card lets you deploy the Nashtah Pup when the parent ship is destroyed. Nashtah Pup has a PS of * and no upgrade slots.

Let's say I take Bossk in a YV-666. I equip the Veteran Instincts EPT and the Hound's Tooth title card. Ordinarily, Bossk is PS7. He's PS9 with Veteran Instincts.

During the course of play, the YV-666 is destroyed and I deploy the Nashtah Pup.

What is Bossk's Pilot Skill now?

The Nashtah Pup ship card says that you retain the Pilot Skill and Pilot Ability of the friendly ship that equipped the Hound's Tooth title. As far as I can see, you don't discard upgrades on the original YV-666 pilot card, so should he be PS9? Or would the modification from the VI card no longer apply and he'd drop to PS7? I can't imagine you'd get any other EPT abilities on the Nashtah Pup (e.g.: Daredevil or Predator) and the Nashtah Pup doesn't specify that you do. Would VI carry through regardless, since it directly modifies the PS of the Bossk YV-666 pilot card?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

I think it would go back down to PS7, since there's no particular permission given to use the upgrade cards from the destroyed ship.

To throw a wrench it it: would the situation be any different if Bosk had received the Injured Pilot crit (which makes you ignore VI) prior to being destroyed and deploying the pup? What about if Bosk had received Damaged Cockpit (which lowers him to PS0)?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/01 16:44:02


 
   
 
Forum Index » Atomic Mass Games (Star Wars & Marvel: Crisis Protocol)
Go to: