Switch Theme:

Entropic Strike Vs. FNP.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Captain Antivas wrote:
And the capital W is relevant how? The point remains the same. Both are triggered by the same event so both are resolved at the same time. Nothing in the rule gives you permission to resolve FNP before anything else so you cannot do it. Plain and simple.


Although I am of the opinion that FNP happens first (and as I side note, like rigeld I play Nids so having BS activate first would be nice), the reason I made the change to copper.talos' post is not as an attempt to argue that they are different. In my opinion if you are arguing how rules are written it is important that they are written the same way consistently. As it is, if I had the Necron codex, I would have also changed wounds to Wounds for that as well, which is why I appreciate copper pointing that out.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Happyjew wrote:
Captain Antivas wrote:
And the capital W is relevant how? The point remains the same. Both are triggered by the same event so both are resolved at the same time. Nothing in the rule gives you permission to resolve FNP before anything else so you cannot do it. Plain and simple.


Although I am of the opinion that FNP happens first (and as I side note, like rigeld I play Nids so having BS activate first would be nice), the reason I made the change to copper.talos' post is not as an attempt to argue that they are different. In my opinion if you are arguing how rules are written it is important that they are written the same way consistently. As it is, if I had the Necron codex, I would have also changed wounds to Wounds for that as well, which is why I appreciate copper pointing that out.


OIC. I guess the only question I have is what in the rule makes you say FNP goes first?
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Remember page 9 of the rulebook deals with simultaneous special rules. They happen in an order determined by the player whose turn it is. This usually benefits the attacker.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Tarrasq wrote:Remember page 9 of the rulebook deals with simultaneous special rules. They happen in an order determined by the player whose turn it is. This usually benefits the attacker.

Yes, unless the special rule gives you other guidelines. Like using the word "immediately."
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






copper.talos wrote:You also got it wrong then since it's:

The logic behind "the wound must be completely resolved before applying ES" is completely flawed.

ES: Any model that suffers one or more unsaved Wounds, ...
FNP: When a model with this special rules suffers an unsaved Wound, ...

The event that triggers both rules is exactly the same. EXACTLY. If the event is good enough to trigger one effect then it's clearly good enough to trigger the other. There is absolutely no indication that the wound must be fully resolved before applying any rules that trigger when a model "suffers" one or more unsaved wounds, because you wouldn't be able to resolve FNP itself!

Since the trigger event is the same then both rules apply. ES happens first because the model "immediately" loses the armor save. And immediately means immediately. Not when it pleases your opponent...


Say what you want, copper, but you must have ignored everything else I said. You have your interpretation, I have mine. Neither of us are wrong (no matter how right you want to be).


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Captain Antivas wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
Captain Antivas wrote:
And the capital W is relevant how? The point remains the same. Both are triggered by the same event so both are resolved at the same time. Nothing in the rule gives you permission to resolve FNP before anything else so you cannot do it. Plain and simple.


Although I am of the opinion that FNP happens first (and as I side note, like rigeld I play Nids so having BS activate first would be nice), the reason I made the change to copper.talos' post is not as an attempt to argue that they are different. In my opinion if you are arguing how rules are written it is important that they are written the same way consistently. As it is, if I had the Necron codex, I would have also changed wounds to Wounds for that as well, which is why I appreciate copper pointing that out.


OIC. I guess the only question I have is what in the rule makes you say FNP goes first?


What makes you think it goes second?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/29 02:19:15


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Remember the part where FNP is triggered on wounds. And taking tests for a wound can only happen if you took the wound in the first place.

1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Kevin949 wrote:What makes you think it goes second?

The use of the word "immediately".
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

Tarrasq wrote:Remember page 9 of the rulebook deals with simultaneous special rules. They happen in an order determined by the player whose turn it is. This usually benefits the attacker.



This seconded. My turn I have you roll FnP after I have wounded you, and my special rule if you survive it. Your turn you can do it the other way.

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





captain wrote:
Yes, unless the special rule gives you other guidelines. Like using the word "immediately."


I understand that and happen to agree with you however the post was intended for those who disagree with that point. Just making the point that if ES doesn't resolve first it must resolve at the same time as FNP as the rules allow for such a situation.

Also FNP does not remove wounds retroactively. It simply replaces an unsaved wound with a saved wound. That does not mean that the unsaved wound never happened, as it says right in the FNP rules that it did.
   
Made in us
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds




Houston, TX

Tarrasq wrote:
captain wrote:
Yes, unless the special rule gives you other guidelines. Like using the word "immediately."


I understand that and happen to agree with you however the post was intended for those who disagree with that point. Just making the point that if ES doesn't resolve first it must resolve at the same time as FNP as the rules allow for such a situation.

Also FNP does not remove wounds retroactively. It simply replaces an unsaved wound with a saved wound. That does not mean that the unsaved wound never happened, as it says right in the FNP rules that it did.


'immediately' means nothing, this is not Magic where we have defined keywords on timing. Until someone shows me where this timing mechanic is, 'immediately' has no effect on the rules. No one has been able to tell me what goes before/after 'immediate' actions. Does that mean as soon as I point to a model and say "unsaved Wound here" even if I'm still thinking? That is immediately is it not? What if I'm using dice as unsaved Wound indicators and as I am thinking I place one next to a model, does ES take effect then? We are told "immediately", and that is 'immediately'.

Again, if you apply the effect of ES how are you ignoring the Wound? If you keep any effect of the Wound you are not ignoring it and thus breaking the rules for FnP. I'm not understanding how this simple concept is just pushed asided.

DS:70S++G+MB+++I+Pw40k01#-D++++A++/mWD279R+T(D)DM+

>Three engineering students were gathered together discussing who must have designed the human body.
>One said, "It was a mechanical engineer. Just look at all the joints."
>Another said, "No, it was an electrical engineer. The nervous system has many thousands of electrical connections."
>The last one said, "No, actually it had to have been a civil engineer.
>Who else would run a toxic waste pipeline through a recreational area.

 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

hisdudeness wrote:
Tarrasq wrote:
captain wrote:
Yes, unless the special rule gives you other guidelines. Like using the word "immediately."


I understand that and happen to agree with you however the post was intended for those who disagree with that point. Just making the point that if ES doesn't resolve first it must resolve at the same time as FNP as the rules allow for such a situation.

Also FNP does not remove wounds retroactively. It simply replaces an unsaved wound with a saved wound. That does not mean that the unsaved wound never happened, as it says right in the FNP rules that it did.


'immediately' means nothing, this is not Magic where we have defined keywords on timing. Until someone shows me where this timing mechanic is, 'immediately' has no effect on the rules. No one has been able to tell me what goes before/after 'immediate' actions. Does that mean as soon as I point to a model and say "unsaved Wound here" even if I'm still thinking? That is immediately is it not? What if I'm using dice as unsaved Wound indicators and as I am thinking I place one next to a model, does ES take effect then? We are told "immediately", and that is 'immediately'.

Again, if you apply the effect of ES how are you ignoring the Wound? If you keep any effect of the Wound you are not ignoring it and thus breaking the rules for FnP. I'm not understanding how this simple concept is just pushed asided.

I'm sorry but you cannot ignore a word used by GW simply because it has no definition in the rules. Not all words used in the rules are going to have clearly defined meanings in game terms, and when one does not have a clearly defined definition in game terms you cannot simply ignore it because it is inconvenient to you.

And for the record, I have answered your question you just refuse to see it. But because I really think this is worth discussing, I will do it again in a different way to help you see our side of the coin.

1. Your question of timing is answered by page 9. It tells us there that timing is important as different things can effect how you and your models interact. So you can say that timing is irrelevant, but GW disagrees. It further tells us two different things: the order in which simultaneous effects are applied is determined by the player whose turn if is, and the special rule will tell you when to resolve it. What this means is we look to the special rule and determine if there is any guidance about timing. In the absence of guidance we apply all effects triggered simultaneously and let the person whose turn it is decide in what order they are applied. In this case the FNP rule tells us the trigger, when the model suffers an unsaved wound, but nothing further. Nothing says it must go first or can be done before we do anything else, so therefore it does not. It cannot go first, by the way a permissive ruleset works. ES rule gives us the trigger, when a model suffers an unsaved wound, and further tells us that immediately after that something happens. The special rule provides us guidance about when to apply it so we turn to that first. The wording, in full context, says you apply it immediately after you have acknowledged the model suffers one or more unsaved wounds.

2. There is no such thing as an immediate action in WH40k. We don't claim there is. That's not to say that the use of the word immediately is somehow ignored. Immediately means just that, immediately. Once a special rule is triggered by an event you immediately, before anything else, resolve the rule. You then continue to apply any other rules triggered by that event. The game doesn't stop because we went off track to do something that happens using words the rules don't clearly define.

3. "does that mean as soon as I point to a model and say "unsaved wound there" even if I'm still thinking?"
Not even a little bit. You don't get to think further about an unsaved wound, there is no concern. Look on page 16 (pretty sure, I don't have my book with me) under the Take Saving Throws paragraph. It says, in effect, that you take Wounds, take any saving throws allowed, then count the number of unsaved Wounds applied. So for an unsaved Wound to exists the decision about where to put it has been made, it is allocated to the closest model to the firing unit, and you have already failed the save it was allowed. Note: in the situation where more than one model is the same distance away it does say suffers an unsaved wound. When you are considering which model gets to die the model has not suffered the unsaved wound. So again, no conflict. It seems you are overcomplicating things and it is not required. The answer is really quite simple. Has the model suffered a wound. If you place a die next to it but are clearly still deciding then no the model has not clearly suffered a wound and thus ES is not yet applied.

4. Someone else brought up a very good point: ES is not an effect of suffering an unsaved wound, it is an effect of the ES special rule being triggered by an unsaved wound. A FNP roll is triggered by an unsaved wound but is not an effect of suffering a wound but an effect of the FNP rule. Removing a wound from the model's wound characteristic is an effect of failing your save. This is evidenced by the fact that with mixed saves you allocate the wound, take the save if allowed, an remove the wound from the wound characteristic. (with a squad of the same save there is no allocation the unsaved wound is given to the closest model first.) FNP modifies removing a wound from the model's wound characteristic not failing the save. Treat it as having been saved and don't remove the wound, but FNP does not modify ES.

5. "If you apply the effect of ES how are you ignoring the wound?" A single wound model doesn't die. As I pointed out above FNP modifies removing the wound not failing your save. You are ignoring the wound being removed.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Captain Antivas wrote: In this case the FNP rule tells us the trigger, when the model suffers an unsaved wound, but nothing further. Nothing says it must go first or can be done before we do anything else, so therefore it does not. It cannot go first, by the way a permissive ruleset works.

and this is where you are incorrect.

We do not know the status of the wound until FNP is resolved.

It may be a saved wound after FNP, so logically we resolve FNP to see if it is actually a saved wound, or not.

Otherwise it is Schrodinger's unsaved Wound, hanging there in limbo both saved and unsaved...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Locking as circular. The arguments have been clearly expressed, and are just being repeated. Thanks, folks. Everyone remember to email GW the question so we maximize the chance that it gets FAQ'd.

Cheers.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: