Switch Theme:

Tank Shoking from reserves?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator








Kroots infiltrating and moving twice before I could place units on the table.

Can you Tank Shock when a tank is coming from reserves? I'm guessing you can't because you're supposed to Tank shock during your Movement Phase, and reserves arrive before movement, but I'm short on a rulesbook at the moment. Your thoughts?

Have a good giggedy!

SkizO!

"This is a gentleman's game."

Hellfire: No excuses, hobby like a champion
 
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




Am I correct in asuming that those kroots have moved through your deployment zone and now you cant deploy the tank without moving within 1" of them?

Well in the reserve rules it states that the unit moves onto the table as specified in the reserves section of the mission oir as specified in the unit type (for jump troops, skimmers...).

Thus as they move onto the table I would say yes, you may tank shock them as you arrive.

I sure hope you play guard, a few hellhounds arriving to flame the hell out of the kroots will soon have him stop doing that.

Stelek wrote:Dude, you cannot FNP MC CC attacks. I don't care how you "read" the rules. I even don't care if you are correct and GW says you can. lol
In short GW rulings are void!  
   
Made in ca
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator






Yeah... I play a SM Heavily mechanized List, I had only a command squad on the table at the start of the game. Those kroots infiltrated and got 2 turns to line themselves up to prevent ANY of my army from getying on the board...

Second question: Can skimmers fly over such troops, assuming their movement ends more than 1" away from ennemy models.

"This is a gentleman's game."

Hellfire: No excuses, hobby like a champion
 
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch





Los Angeles

Reserves move on from the table edge, so in essence, reserve units start the movement phase at some point along the table edge (but off the table) and then make a normal move from that point. Since you are allowed to tank shock as part of your movement, there is nothing that would prevent you from tank shocking as you come in from reserves. Infantry are going to have issues since you can't move though enemy models and you can't be within 1" of enemies either. Tanks however will just tank shock their way through and go on with life...unless the kroot pass their morall check and decided to death or glory. Haha

**** Phoenix ****

Threads should be like skirts: long enough to cover what's important but short enough to keep it interesting. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






There is the perfect example of why I don't normally game at my local store. I'll bet that this guy was real proud of himself for clogging up your deployment zone like that.

What was the outcome? Did he just sit there for 4 more turns and declare himself the winner?

   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




Yes skimmers are free to move over any models in its path as long as it ends its move atleast 1" from any enemy models.

In short fly dem babies in there

Stelek wrote:Dude, you cannot FNP MC CC attacks. I don't care how you "read" the rules. I even don't care if you are correct and GW says you can. lol
In short GW rulings are void!  
   
Made in ca
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator






Well the kroot player is one of my regular opponent, so no he was not an donkey-cave about it, I actually gave him the idea of forming a big line. After he actually did the line, we wondered if I could indeed tank shock his troops. Having no clue as to the answer atm, we rolled for it.

The game lasted 2 and a half turns ( the only unit that failed both reserve roll were 3 tornado speeders which could have saved me a little if they came before the rest of the army. ) We called it a draw and played another game without escalation.

Anyways, thanks for the help, I shall TANK SHOCK my way in should this arise again.

Have a good giggedy!

"This is a gentleman's game."

Hellfire: No excuses, hobby like a champion
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: