Switch Theme:

Mad doc grotsnik and the Green Tide.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Contagious Dreadnought of Nurgle





Hell Hole Washington

Yesterday i played a little apoc. with some freinds and i was wondering if it is legal to put mad doc Grotsnik in a Green Tide.
i had a warboss and over 100 boys in a unit. so i dont see any problem with attaching grotskik and giving all of the boys Cybork Bodies. this made for a relativly expesive unit that basically destroyed three times its points worth of Khorn. is this legal. my foes suggested that i should not be able to attach another special character to the tide and thus confer his special Docs tool ability to the entire unit.

Pestilence Provides.  
   
Made in ca
Drew_Riggio




Vancouver, British Columbia.

There's nothing preventing you from attaching multiple special characters to the same unit, or indeed, to each other. However, there is nothing in Grotsnik's profile that allows you to give the unit he is attached to cybork bodies either. The ability to take the cybork upgrade is a property of the Nobs unit when they upgraded with a Painboy, not a property of the Painboy itself. That said, Grotsnik does confer Fearless and Feel No Pain to the unit without any additional cost, so he's not that bad a deal. The "One Scalpel Short of a Medpack" rule could absolutely kill you though- if your Orks are forced to charge a dreadnaught, you have pretty much wasted the entire unit unless the powerclaws happen to be in the right place.
Also: Green Tide is terrible. You end up with a huge, unweildy unit with too many basic bodies with not enough powerclaws.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





San Jose, CA

I've done this before.

Is it effective? Not at all.

Is it fun? Very much so.
   
Made in us
Contagious Dreadnought of Nurgle





Hell Hole Washington

@triggerbaby. Thanks for the eads up. if you check out grotsniks entry it does say that you are allowed to take one unit in your army with cybork bodies for +5 pts.
is this fun. Yes. Effective... sometimes. worthdoing, always.

Pestilence Provides.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




sennacherib wrote:@triggerbaby. Thanks for the eads up. if you check out grotsniks entry it does say that you are allowed to take one unit in your army with cybork bodies for +5 pts.
is this fun. Yes. Effective... sometimes. worthdoing, always.


Actually if you have the Loon you can give EVERY unit in the army cybork bodies for 5 points each. So if you want you can have 180 cybork Gretchin for 8 points each.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






ohhhhhh nasty,.... I never thought of giving it to the gretchin!!!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: