Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 20:58:32
Subject: 10+!!!!
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
South Pasadena
|
I just read the 5th ed CSM FAQ and they ruled that a demonweapon can boost a lords number of attacks past 10 because it is only a temporary bonus. With that ruling in mind, can my Ork warboss with a powerclaw get strength 11 on the turn he charges due to furious charge? If not, why not?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 21:07:42
Subject: 10+!!!!
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
If you say that the +1 Strength bonus is applied to his basic Strength of 5, making it 6, and then he gets the double Strength bonus, that would cap it at 10, because the PowerKlaw is not a temporary bonus.
If you say the Strength is doubled, then you add the Furious Charge bonus, then it would be 11.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/14 21:09:34
Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.
Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 21:09:17
Subject: 10+!!!!
|
 |
Ruthless Rafkin
|
Because the chart only goes to 10, and also because it specificly states in 5th ed that ATTACKS can go over ten temporarily. It does not state so for any other statistic.
|
-Loki- wrote:
40k is about slamming two slegdehammers together and hoping the other breaks first. Malifaux is about fighting with scalpels trying to hit select areas and hoping you connect more. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 21:12:41
Subject: 10+!!!!
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
South Pasadena
|
You got a page that we can reference in the 5th ed book? I don't see it on page 6.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 21:19:54
Subject: 10+!!!!
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
There is a specific rule in the book that states that you must apply a multiplication modifier before any addition multipliers. The example that they use is a marine with a PF and furious charge str (4*2)+1=9.
that is on page seven in the box on the right. Page 6 has the clarification that you can never modify any stat over 10, so the Chaos FAQ would be an exception to that rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/14 21:23:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 21:21:12
Subject: 10+!!!!
|
 |
Ruthless Rafkin
|
Page 37, left column
|
-Loki- wrote:
40k is about slamming two slegdehammers together and hoping the other breaks first. Malifaux is about fighting with scalpels trying to hit select areas and hoping you connect more. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 21:24:34
Subject: 10+!!!!
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Valhallan42nd wrote:Page 37, left column
indeed it does,... page 37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 21:26:13
Subject: 10+!!!!
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
South Pasadena
|
I think you are right. I stand corrected.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|