Switch Theme:

Telion and stealth  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
Author Message

Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.

Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine

Long Island, New York

Does Telion confer his stealth special ability to the squad he joins. If so, would camo cloaks further enhance the cover save and/or a techmarines bolster the defenses even further enhance the cover save? Basically, is there any limitation to get it to a 2+ cover save?

War is not your recreation. It is the reason for your existence. Prepare for it well.

Give me a hundred Space Marines. Or failing that, give me a thousand other troops.
~Rogal Dorn  
Made in us
Dakka Veteran

actually its pretty clear in the characters section that those models do not confer their special rules to the squads their in, and do not benefit from the special rules of their squads.

Made in us
Sinewy Scourge

Bothell, WA

He doesn't provide his stealth ability to the Squad he is with. However, a squad with Camo clocks, in a ruin with Bolster defences would have a 2+ cover save.

Salamander Marines 65-12-13
Dark Eldar Wych Cult 4-1-0
Dark Eldar Kabal 36-10-4
2010 Indy GT Tournament Record: 11-6-3
Golden Ticket Winner with Dark Eldar
Timmah wrote:Best way to use lysander:
Set in your storage bin, pick up vulkan model, place in list.
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User

what is bolster defences?
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User

Lysander's and Techmarine's ability to fortify a ruined building before the game starts.

It gives a ruined building in your deployment zone +1 to its cover save for any of your units in it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/02 18:06:43

Made in us
Ultramarine Terminator with Assault Cannon

Actually he does. He is not an independant character. He's an upgrade character. Thus the section that says independant characters don't confer special rules doesn't apply, Likewise, Stealth is not marked with a *, so doesn't remove from an IC, or from a squad when joined. So the only thing that applies is the description of Stealth. Which says the unit gains +1 to their cover save. However, once Telion dies, if you didn't buy Camo cloaks, the entire unit loses stealth.

I imagine it as Telion telling his young charges where to sit/stand/crouch to take maximum advantage of the cover. Personally I'd buy the camo cloaks anyway.

To answer the rest of your questions:

You cannot benefit from Telion's Stealth and Camo Cloaks at the same time. You can only take advantage of stealth once. Likewise, you may only bolster the defenses of a ruin once, whether it was Lysander or a Techmarine, or a Master of the Forge. So yes, Stealth(from whatever source) + Bolster Defenses + Ruin = 2+ Cover Save. I advise Cluster Mining that same piece of area terrain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/02 18:13:50

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon

The House that Peterbilt

But the unit doesn't have stealth -- the Telion model does. How can he confer it to the unit?

snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."

Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." 
Made in us
Dakka Veteran

The whole reason Telion has Stealth is because he can't buy the Camo Cloaks like the rest of the Scouts can. It's pretty obvious that he and only he gets it - his rule does not go away as part of the unit, but it does not extend to any models outside of himself.

Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator

Arlington, Texas

It doesn't make sense that he wouldn't confer stealth. He's not an IC. Plus, if you buy camo cloaks you have to buy them by the squad. So it would be saying that you would have to buy Telion a cloak that is not in his wargear. You can't.

Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime

Hmmm, Two Year Necro.

Smells Good!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/23 17:13:13

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
Made in us
Sentient OverBear

Clearwater, FL

nivondu, please read here.

Thank you.


Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k.                                                                                                       Rule #1

Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: