Switch Theme:

Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Hahaha lmao... You're right, it doesn't say that a unit can't embark into an enemy vehicle.. So they could embark in it theoretically. The last FAQ for the BRB only states wargear and such..

So the question is, after you embark on an enemy vehicle, who controls it? The unit may or may not be able to control the vehicle, and whether they can get the crew to do anything by threating them is another issue. Guess they'd have to take a leadership test each turn or something. Great way to hide a VIP you don't want to die, cause you can't shoot at your own units and you can't shoot at units embarked, so all they could do is try to go into dangerous terrain or ram something if it's a tank hoping that it blows.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It doesnt say they can embark. Given you cannot get within 1", and embarking is movement, youre stuffed.
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

yakface wrote:
DarthDiggler wrote:
Is there a deadline in your mind for GW to publish the GK FAQ before you would put the INAT together and publish it? Say a month has gone by with no FAQ would you consider putting together a GK INAT?


Well, we're already way past when we normally put out the update, but I do have a pretty good indication that the GW FAQ is imminent.

With that said, one way or another we will have the INAT update out in time for WargamesCon, which is July 7th.



I can't wait for GW to post the FAQ. There are a few strategies and units that really are going to depend on FAQ rulings to be viable.
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

I'm not sure if this is in here or not, but it could probably use a clarification.
What happens when a unit with the brotherhood of psykers rule is charged yb a unit with psyk-out grenades?
Is it an "attack" that would be resolved against on model? Or since the unit counts as a psyker, does it reduce the 'psyker' to I1?


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The unit counts as a psyker, so is entirely reduced to I1
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

nosferatu1001 wrote:It doesnt say they can embark. Given you cannot get within 1", and embarking is movement, youre stuffed.


You only have to be within 2" to embark though.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

nosferatu1001 wrote:The unit counts as a psyker, so is entirely reduced to I1


That's the same argument DoP was using for crucible of malediction. I don't think it's as clear as that.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




When casting powers they are one psyker. THis isnt casting powers.
   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

Dok wrote:I'm not sure if this is in here or not, but it could probably use a clarification.
What happens when a unit with the brotherhood of psykers rule is charged yb a unit with psyk-out grenades?
Is it an "attack" that would be resolved against on model? Or since the unit counts as a psyker, does it reduce the 'psyker' to I1?


Page 21 of the Grey Knight Codex - Brotherhood Of Psykers:

"If the Grey Knight unit suffers the Perils of the Warp, or any attack that specifically targets psykers it is resolved against the Justicar or Knight of the Flame (if he is alive) or against a random non character model in the squad if the Justicar or Knight of the Flame is dead."

Despite there being so many holes in this codex, I think that the Brotherhood of Psykers rule is quite clear. The whole unit does count as a psyker but only for using the squad's psychic powers. Anything else and you don't get to say that they are all psykers. So that means no cheap attacks against them using psychic powers and no cheap tactics they can use against their enemies a la the Culexus.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Psykout grenades are not an attack
   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

Well, if someone threw a grenade at me, I'd consider myself to be under attack.

Ok, they are used as part of an assault - are you saying that a unit that is assaulting another unit is not attacking it?

I think that this is a case of getting hung up on a technicality. The Justicar or Knight of the Flame would be affected in my opinion. You've posted 11,000 times more than me so probably have more experience and therefore a better inkling of which way a FAQ may rule but this is just what I believe.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except in 40k "Attack" is a well defined term - it refers to hitting people in close combat.

Psykout grenades modify an assault, they do not constitute an attack in and of themselves.

Also, having lots of posts means nothing when it comes to guessing GWs seemingly random FAQs, trust me!
   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

Well, the codex does say 'any attack that specifically targets psykers'.

Can you only target them in CC? If there is even one move in the whole game that targets psykers from range, then I don't think that the codex author was referring to the definition of attack that you are referring to.

Also, if you look at page 45 of the GK codex - Coteaz's entry under his 'I've been expecting you' - the blurb there states, 'If an enemy unit arrives from reserve within 12" of Coteaz and within his line of sight, Coteaz and his unit can immediately make an out of sequence shooting attack against it'.

So, as you can see, 'attack' doesn't have to be in close combat.



OOOPS, sorry I seem to have veered into a rules debate here :( Mods feel free to delete

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/10 19:02:08




 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

This is one of the reasons I'm still inclined to keep Daemonhammers on my Justicars - they'd still be going a I1 regardless.

At my venue, we have had a number of GK on GK match ups, with the BoP rules used for resolving the Pschout on Psychout assault.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought






Psychout grenades on GK units are IMO a low priority FAQ, and I could see it going either way. I only call it a low priority FAQ because it only happens when GK fight GK so it's not like a ruling either way has any potential to make the GK codex better or worse.

Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail, and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some are given a chance to climb, but refuse. They cling to the realm, or love, or the gods…illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is, but they’ll never know this. Not until it’s too late.


 
   
Made in us
Yellin' Yoof




North Texas

Both the Rulebook and GreyKnight FAQ's are up.

3500 4000 5000
iproxtaco wrote:Is it weird that I read all of yakface's posts in Sean Connery's voice?

Jidmah wrote:Old ork riddle:"Wot goes Krunch and den tump-tump-tump-tump-tump?"
"Dunno."
"Five beakies in a rhino-wagon!"
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Pied_Piper11 wrote:Both the Rulebook and GreyKnight FAQ's are up.


Indeed! Time to get to work putting out the INAT FAQ covering the issues that GW didn't get to this time around!



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Assault Kommando





Pied_Piper11 wrote:Both the Rulebook and GreyKnight FAQ's are up.


wow grey knights got a MAJOR nerf. that sucks.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/13 17:18:29


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Hellstorm wrote:
Pied_Piper11 wrote:Both the Rulebook and GreyKnight FAQ's are up.


wow grey knights got a MAJOR nerf. that sucks.


I read through the FAQ's and didn't see any major nerf. What are you speaking to specifically?

The only thing I say that gave me minimal pause was the fact that the Nemesis Falchions give just one attack. Seems like a expensive upgrade for that.

All the other statements clairifed how the army works. My strategy wasn't effected at all.

Pre-Heresy Thousand Sons

The Black Ocean Sci Fi Wargaming Podcast 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





San Diego, California

Wish they did the Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator round, though.

2000 pts 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Gavo wrote:Wish they did the Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator round, though.


They did. It's in the rulebook FAQ:

Q: How does Rending work if you get to roll multiple dice for the Armour Penetration roll? (p31)

A: The player gets to add a D3 to the total for each dice that comes up with a 6.

Pre-Heresy Thousand Sons

The Black Ocean Sci Fi Wargaming Podcast 
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

I am fairly unsatisfied with it. The dreadknight CCW not doubling it's strength was a major disappointment. It makes sense with the rest of the models stats that it doesn't... but it is very expensive to not have str 10.
I don't like that they didn't address the vindicaire shots vs monoliths and wave serpents.
I don't like that they didn't clarify cleansing flame vs wyches.
I don't like that they ruled dreadnoughts to be scoring, but that opens up the cheese that is grand master x 2 plus msu strikes and as many dreads as you can fit as a more prevalent list type.
The falchion thing is whatever to me. I wasn't using them before, I probably wouldn't have used them if they ruled +2 attacks. Halberds are cheaper and better for what I need them for.
All in all, I'm glad some of those questions were answered so that we can move forward and build lists appropriately.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

OK, INAT guys! You're still needed to rule on the Vindicare - is the Turbo penetrator 4D6 or do you get 4D6 plus 3 STR?

Edit: I see that the Vindicare issue has already been raised

They also didn't clarify the issues surrounding how many psykers a unit of Grey Knights counts as for things like psyk out grenades, the culexus etc etc

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/13 18:24:02




 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

Don't forget the Cleansing flame issue. When exactly does it take place, in or out of CC?

Do wyche saves work against it?
Does NF Staff work against it?
Are cover saves allowed? (if both previous questions are a no)

There's a huge post on this, and I have my own thoughts, but this needs to be answered.

Also what happens to a squad when it is in the range of a Crucible of Malediction?
Does the Justicar die?
Does the squad die?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 19:23:00


"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

Sothas wrote:Don't forget the Cleansing flame issue. When exactly does it take place, in or out of CC?

Do wyche saves work against it?
Does NF Staff work against it?
Are cover saves allowed? (if both previous questions are a no)

There's a huge post on this, and I have my own thoughts, but this needs to be answered.

Also what happens to a squad when it is in the range of a Crucible of Malediction?
Does the Justicar die?
Does the squad die?


Crucible of malediction: any attack that specifically targets psykers is resolved against the Justicar or Knight of the Flame. So, the unit isn't affected. Just their leader.



 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Dok wrote:I am fairly unsatisfied with it. The dreadknight CCW not doubling it's strength was a major disappointment. It makes sense with the rest of the models stats that it doesn't... but it is very expensive to not have str 10.


Take the Daemonhammer as the Init. value of the Dreadknight isn't reduced that way IIRC :3.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





For all the questions out there, seems kinda short. But then again maybe they don't know the answers to some of the questions. 4 points gives you cleansing flame and 2 CC attacks, is the value high enough that it ignores CC Invuls or is it cheap enough to give CC Invuls. Now that falchions give them 1+ attack at the same cost of a hammer or more expensive, then I would say that the 4 pts for the extra CC attack and flame means that the CC Invuls do work.

Course, there are other major things around points. Storm bolter is normally 3 pts, power weapons 15 points, and you get both along with warp quake and a possible instant death attack for 4 pts (strike vs tactical squads). So who knows.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

The only big mistake I noted in the GK FAQ is how Halberds lose their Initiative bonus if the model is reduced to I1 by an ability. This is directly opposite their previous ruling in 'Nid FAQ.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

yeah, that made absolutly no sense.


and being in complete conflict with the Nid FAQ really makes it wierd.








How bout how the Plasma Siphon basically effects every freakin Tau weapon


drive a Ordo Xeno Inquisitor up in a Chimera to the middle of the Tau army. the Chimera suddenly becomes almost untouchable

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Assault Kommando





Grey Templar wrote:yeah, that made absolutly no sense.


and being in complete conflict with the Nid FAQ really makes it wierd.








How bout how the Plasma Siphon basically effects every freakin Tau weapon


drive a Ordo Xeno Inquisitor up in a Chimera to the middle of the Tau army. the Chimera suddenly becomes almost untouchable


except railguns aren't on that list so it still might die.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: