Switch Theme:

XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Drone without a Controller



Myrtle Beach, SC

 Crimson wrote:
 Peregrine wrote:

No it isn't. The bullet points in the army list and the items in the upgrade list are formatted entirely differently. One is a list of yes/no questions, one is a menu of choices that you can take up to X items from.

The only difference in formatting is because some codices use armoury type of formatting and some don't. There is no inherent difference that would alter their function. Now I'm not saying that this actually should limit how you can buy Tau weapons, merely that the consistency and clarity you imagine is not actually there.


Exactly. If you are buying two weapons you pay the cheaper price and get a twin-linked weapon that takes up two of your choices. What you keep missing is the fact that there is absolutely nothing preventing you from taking one weapon, and then taking one weapon again.

And then you are taking two weapons! (1+1=2, check from a math professor if you don't believe me.) You are trying to weasel from using a rule provided for specific situation pretending that if you buy first one weapon, and then second, you are not buying two weapons. Are you similarly ignoring all other further instructions that may be in armories? Oh, the Chaos Lord entry said I can have artefacts, so I just ignore this pesky clarification concerning the specific situation of buying this axe that I need to have a Mark of Khorne!

Yes, you can have three weapons, and then the weapon entry further specifies the procedure of buying two of the same weapon. And that's the way you have to do it. It is not a suggestion, it is a rule.


This is not a yes/no question here. If we're weaseling around it then you're drawing clarity out of thin air. It's an extremely ambiguous statement to try and utilize the simple answer you're trying to get out of it. It speaks of twin linking weapons but offers no grand statement saying that every two weapon combo utilizes the second point list and is twin linked, there's no statement saying that you cannot take multiple of the same item, there's nothing but explaining how the first/second point value system works. Nothing else. I understand if you don't want it to be true, but until we get a FAQ that shines some light here, there's no way to definitively prove either side.

WIP
3500

Once again snatching defeat,
From the jaws of victory. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Here is a question. Can a Crisis Suit take three of the same weapon - one twin linked and another not twin linked ?

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





That's literally what this thread is about. Way to read it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

Just my two cents,
It says if there are two points costs then the first is for the standard single version.
From that, I gather that if I pay the first cost I will get one standard plasma rifle.
It also goes on to state that the second points cost is to buy two of a weapon ( counting as twin-linked).
From that it is very clear that if I opt to use the second points cost I will buy two plasma rifles but these to count as one twin-linked plasma rifle.

Because there are no restrictions like there was in previous editions on buying the same item multiple times I can purchase the standard single version twice using the first points cost. Because I used the first points cost I follow the rules for that, which would mean two standard plasma rifles unlike if I bought the second points cost and got two plasma rifles that counted as one twin-linked weapon.

IXLoiero95XI

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in cn
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Dozer Blades wrote:Here is a question. Can a Crisis Suit take three of the same weapon - one twin linked and another not twin linked ?


There are 8 full pages devoted to bickering about that very question....


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/22 03:56:35


- 3000 painted 2500 based



13 Wins
2 Draw
3 Losses 
   
Made in us
Drone without a Controller



Myrtle Beach, SC

No, actually, 8 full pages of bickering are about whether or not I can take two plasma rifles and utilize them as individual weapons. The twin link one weapon take another example is pretty much undeniably accepted. Nothing says no, you're following what the book says about twin linking, and you've got the three systems limit.

WIP
3500

Once again snatching defeat,
From the jaws of victory. 
   
Made in fi
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Anbutou wrote:
[
This is not a yes/no question here. If we're weaseling around it then you're drawing clarity out of thin air. It's an extremely ambiguous statement to try and utilize the simple answer you're trying to get out of it. It speaks of twin linking weapons but offers no grand statement saying that every two weapon combo utilizes the second point list and is twin linked, there's no statement saying that you cannot take multiple of the same item, there's nothing but explaining how the first/second point value system works. Nothing else. I understand if you don't want it to be true, but until we get a FAQ that shines some light here, there's no way to definitively prove either side.


I'd be glad to be able to equip two of the same weapons independently, I just don't think that's intended nor that is what the rules say. However, I agree that regardless of how clear each of us thinks the wording is to one way or to another, it is obvious it is not clear enough and needs a FAQ; these nine pages of disagreement should be enough proof of that.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/22 17:46:35


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I think its unclear enough to need a FAQ entry. The paragraph does not make it clear that if you go with two of the same weapon you can elect to pay for two non twin linked weapons or if the twin linking is a requirement. However, I do not this its unclear at all that you can select the same weapon multiple times. No other codex has put such a restriction on a list with out explicitly forbidding it.
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





London

FAQ is up with some sort of explination (could still have been clearer in my opinion) It Speaks of 3 but not 2.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3170231a_Tau_Empire_v1.0_APRIL13.pdf

How do people interpret this?

It explicitly says a Crisis can be equipped with 3 non TL burst cannons. Implying that 2 non-twinlinked is totally legal.

Thats my opinion anyway

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/23 09:19:53


Our FLGS
https://www.facebook.com/Warboar
https://twitter.com/warboarstore
 
   
Made in gb
Focused Fire Warrior





 Messy0 wrote:
FAQ is up but its still ambiguous in my opinion on weather you can take 2 Single Weapons. It Speaks of 3 but not 2.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3170231a_Tau_Empire_v1.0_APRIL13.pdf

How do people intemperate this?

IT explicitly says a Crisis can be equipped with 3 non TL burst cannons. Implying that 2 non-twinlinked is totally legal.

In my opinions thats /thread.


I was staring at the FAQ for 10 minutes trying to figure out if I was just missing something or if it was new or what. But the FAQ clearly states you can take 3 (non-twinlinked weapons) if you want. Taking 2 non-twinlinked would make sense, as the above says...here is a copy and paste for people who don't like clicking...

"Q: Can I take three of the same (not Twin-linked) weapons on my
Crisis suit? (p100)

A: Yes. Remember though that a Crisis battlesuit can still only fire a maximum of two weapon systems per Shooting phase. For example: A Crisis battlesuit could be equipped with three (non Twin-linked) burst cannons, or one Twin-linked burst cannon and one (non Twin-linked) burst cannon, so long as you pay the appropriate cost in each instance. In either case,
make sure your opponent is aware how you have chosen to equip such models at the beginning of the game."

Is this new? Its not in magenta like the other stuff, but if this has been up, how have people been arguing for 8 pages?

Successful Trades: 2
"The human body is a paradigm of perfection and purity. Its makeup is an example to all lesser creatures and races (and be assured, all other creatures are less than human) that our place as dominators of the galaxy is right and just.” The Imperial Infantryman's Uplifting Primer 
   
Made in fi
Courageous Space Marine Captain






It is new and it is pretty clear. You can have multiple non-twin linked weapons. I'm glad to be wrong; now to equip all my crisis suits with two plasma rifles!

   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





London

Its strange its not in Magenta, but that is pretty Cut and Dry.

Possible Weapon Combinations

1 Weapon - normal

2 Weapons - Twin-Linked
2 Weapons - Non- Twin-Linked

3 Weapons - Twin-linked + normal
3 Weapons - All Non- Twin-Linked

4 Weapons - Double Twin-linked
4 Weapons - All Separate (although using all 4 not legale under the Multi Tracker rules)

2 Plasma Rifles/ 2 Fusion Blasters all Non-Twinlinked for 60 points....awesome super customised multi-roll commanders with the ability to choose what combination of weapons to fire depending on the target...ill take that

Am I missing something? the FAQ pretty much clears that up.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/23 09:51:03


Our FLGS
https://www.facebook.com/Warboar
https://twitter.com/warboarstore
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Yeah I agree FaQ has cleared this up gonna have to look at my lists.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in no
Dakka Veteran




Hmmm... Crisis suits armed with Dual missile pods for sniping and shennanigans...

 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

Vary glad to see they cleared that up right away. I was really wanting to double up on certain guns. Plus, who needs twin linked when you've got BS 5?


 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Indeed. Fun debate and thanks for playing

I wonder when GW will start charging for the ability to argue around the meaning of their rules as its almost part of the game at this stage

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

 Flinty wrote:
Indeed. Fun debate and thanks for playing

I wonder when GW will start charging for the ability to argue around the meaning of their rules as its almost part of the game at this stage


Lol.. Maybe Yak should lookout for a hostile takeover of Dakka... Then DCM will take on a whole new meaning...

OT- Glad they FAQ'd this issue so quickly as this thread was merely solidifying the two camps for a long seige...
Yay for suit specialization!

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

I was reluctant to use doublesuits since i was worried it'd be FAQ'd away and make me feel like a tool. Now though the safety's off


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Unshakeable Grey Knight Land Raider Pilot





   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter








Indeed.

Thank the Ethereals!

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





London



Plasma Rifles for everyone!

Our FLGS
https://www.facebook.com/Warboar
https://twitter.com/warboarstore
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

The FAQ says you can....

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in ca
Angered Reaver Arena Champion






I've never been so happy to be wrong. It's wonderful!

Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





Mountain View, CA

 Dracos wrote:
I've never been so happy to be wrong. It's wonderful!


lol

After seeing the subpar DA codex then getting FAQ nerfs I'm super glad to be playing Tau!


Armies I field - Tau, Dark Angels, Necrons, Blood Angels  
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

I thought they only got one nerf and the rest was imrovements/clarifications.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





Mountain View, CA

They donkey punched the DA assault reserve rule as well as the power field generator pretty hard.


Armies I field - Tau, Dark Angels, Necrons, Blood Angels  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Ministry wrote:
They donkey punched the DA assault reserve rule as well as the power field generator pretty hard.


Like Dark Angels is the only codex that has been nerfed:
Tyranids - cannot manually fire weapons.
Eldar - Embarked Farseers cannot cast Farseer powers
Misc - Psykers with a BS0 cannot use Witchfire powers that automatically hit.
Misc - weapons with special rules that allow them to target units out of sight still cannot allocate wounds.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





Mountain View, CA

 Happyjew wrote:
 Ministry wrote:
They donkey punched the DA assault reserve rule as well as the power field generator pretty hard.


Like Dark Angels is the only codex that has been nerfed:
Tyranids - cannot manually fire weapons.
Eldar - Embarked Farseers cannot cast Farseer powers
Misc - Psykers with a BS0 cannot use Witchfire powers that automatically hit.
Misc - weapons with special rules that allow them to target units out of sight still cannot allocate wounds.


Well there are several Tyranid and Eldar builds that are viable, DA took nerfs to the LR build and the Terminator build. There are very few ways to make DA competitive already, nerfing them via FAQ just makes it that much harder to make a very poorly written codex fun to play.


Armies I field - Tau, Dark Angels, Necrons, Blood Angels  
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





[quote=Happyjew 518877 5536824 a3fae5798e2295f4eb6d8384a609c52d.png

Misc - weapons with special rules that allow them to target units out of sight still cannot allocate wounds.


What are you talking about here? You allocate as if there was no intervening cover



quote fail

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/23 19:00:08


Tyranids will consume the universe!!! There is no chance for survival!!
.........eventually anyways......... 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Wolfnid420 wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:


Misc - weapons with special rules that allow them to target units out of sight still cannot allocate wounds.


What are you talking about here? You allocate as if there was no intervening cover

Cite rules. That's not what things like the Impaler Cannon say.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: