Switch Theme:

IG new rules questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Can you use the "First Rank Fire, Second Rank Fire" on hot shot lasguns? I think you can and is most likely why the Storm Troopers are so expensive but was curious what the consensus is. Also, if you take a Griffion with the reroll on scatter with other artillery variants how does that work? Do you lose that ability if lets say a Colossus is in the squad?

Thanks
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator





Has 'You make da call' suddenly ceased to exist? Make sure you post in the right forum.

RAW suggest that hot shot lasguns dont benifit from first rank fire, second rank fire because they have a different profile to lasguns.

taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live?
 
   
Made in us
Imperial Recruit in Training




Bremerton, Washington USA

Of course you can. That is the only reason to re-name a "hellgun" to a " hot-shot lasgun".


Redheads don't need a reason, they ARE the reason. 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Greenville, South Cacky-Lacky

I'd say no, a hot shot lasgun is a different weapon with a different name and a different profile.

Alles klar, eh, Kommissar? 
   
Made in us
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman






Commissar Molotov wrote:I'd say no, a hot shot lasgun is a different weapon with a different name and a different profile.


Agreed- the order only works on regular lasguns.



Anyway, to answer the second question (A good question by the way- it deals with a unit firing a multiple barrage consisting of different weapons, one of which has a reroll), the rules state to start with the weapon closet to the target. I'd say, if it is the Griffon (And the Griffon is in range), resolve it and use the reroll if you wish, then continue resolving the other shells according to the multiple barrage rules, without a reroll on these shells of course. If it is another barrage weapon, resolve that first according to the rules, then resolve the Griffon and take the reroll on the Griffon's shell if wanted. So, according to my interpretation at least, if the Griffon is positioned properly (Meaning the closet vehicle), you can use the Mortar sort of as a "ranging shot" and use the reroll to reposition the whole salvo.
I bet this whole thing will get FAQed eventually.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






GW has made rules like this before and they almost always only pertain to one specific weapon. The case here is no different. The rule specifically states lasguns and hotshot lasguns are completely different weapons with a different stat line.

 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General






A garden grove on Citadel Station

bremmer925 wrote:Of course you can. That is the only reason to re-name a "hellgun" to a " hot-shot lasgun".


The reason that they renamed hellguns to hot-shot lasguns is to prevent people from claiming their 10 point inquisitorial storm troopers have hellguns with AP3 for 10 points.
FRFSRF does not apply to hot-shot lasguns.

ph34r's forgeworld Phobos blog
+From Iron Cometh Strength+ +From Strength Cometh Will+ +From Will Cometh Faith+ +From Faith Cometh Honor+ +From Honor Cometh Iron+
The Polito form is dead, insect. Are you afraid? What is it you fear? The end of your trivial existence?
When the history of my glory is written, your species shall only be a footnote to my magnificence.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: