Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 19:18:55
Subject: Psychic Powers in Serpents
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Okay I have found a lot of contradicting stuff on the internets so Im hoping YMDC can settle this.
1. Does fortune on a unit transfer to its skimmer too?
2. I know a farseer can cast inside a transport to effect its own unit, but are there any powers that can be used on ANY other units while inside a tank?
3. Yes or no can I doom a unit while inside a tank?
Im basically wondering if this is a legit move:
Turn one, three skimmers in a row, middle is Eldrad with Warlocks sitting outside of their tank. Fortune the left tank with DAs inside. Fortune Eldrads unit or tank, guide the DA serpent to the right.
Hop in, Eldrad and left DA tank haul ass for 3+ cover save. Next turn, doom a unit, guide the DAs in the other serpent, fortune Eldrads unit. Hop out and assault.
If that falls apart, where exactly?
Thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 19:29:57
Subject: Re:Psychic Powers in Serpents
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
1. It's a point of contention about Fortune covering the tank. The power says any friendly "unit", therefore, I would assume that Fortune can cover the skimmer as well, it being a unit in-and-of itself. Now, if you Fortuned Eldrad's unit inside the skimmer, then no, it wouldn't "transfer", but you could Fortune the skimmer, a neat little trick when you're about to turbo-boost to drop off your Fire Dragons or Harlequins.
2. The GW FAQ says that you can use psychic powers that do not need line of sight while inside a transport (if there are no fire points). None of Eldrad's powers need line of sight except Mind War and Eldritch Storm. So, you can Doom, Fortune and Guide while inside a transport, and the range is measured from the hull.
3. See 2.
In your strategy, first of all, you don't need to start Eldrad outside of a Serpent. Since you can use powers inside the tank, and a serpent can be bought as a Dedicated Transport for the locks, then you're good there. Then, you'd have to use Guide as your second power (remember, your third power has to be the duplicate). Then you could use fortune again. So, you'd fortune the left Serpent, Guide the right Serpent, and then Fortune Eldrad's Serpent. Then, turbo-boost. Next turn, Doom a unit (from the tank), guide the DA's and Fortune Eldrad's unit. Yes, all legal.
In fact, in one of my tournaments, some of my army included: Eldrad attached to Asurmen and a unit of DA. Eldrad fortuned his own Serpent, turbo-boost. Eldrad fortuned his own unit (covering Asurmen and the DA), Guided his own unit (covering Asurmen and the DA) and then Doomed a unit of Nobz. So, Asurmen and the DA piled out (leaving Eldrad in the skimmer for protection) and then the DA and Asurmen opened up with Bladestorm. That's 35 shots that get a reroll for Guide and a reroll to Wound for Doom. Then, I assaulted. Asurmen, having a Diresword and going first was great. And them being Doomed helped. But not only that, Asurmen had a 2+/4+ and the Avengers all had 4+/5+ with rerolls for Fortune. Their killing power was amazing.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/20 19:30:48
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 19:30:49
Subject: Psychic Powers in Serpents
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
GMMStudios wrote:Okay I have found a lot of contradicting stuff on the internets so Im hoping YMDC can settle this.
1. Does fortune on a unit transfer to its skimmer too?
2. I know a farseer can cast inside a transport to effect its own unit, but are there any powers that can be used on ANY other units while inside a tank?
3. Yes or no can I doom a unit while inside a tank?
Im basically wondering if this is a legit move:
Turn one, three skimmers in a row, middle is Eldrad with Warlocks sitting outside of their tank. Fortune the left tank with DAs inside. Fortune Eldrads unit or tank, guide the DA serpent to the right.
Hop in, Eldrad and left DA tank haul ass for 3+ cover save. Next turn, doom a unit, guide the DAs in the other serpent, fortune Eldrads unit. Hop out and assault.
If that falls apart, where exactly?
Thanks!
1) No.
2) If he is in a transport, he can affect units outside. What you cannot do is use a farseer outside to affect the unit inside the tank.
3) Yes.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 19:40:13
Subject: Psychic Powers in Serpents
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Okay great, thanks a lot. So a units fortune doesnt transfer, but it wont matter in the end with that strategy. The turn I come out I am done with the serpent anyway so it doesnt need the fortune.
Thanks guys!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 20:10:58
Subject: Re:Psychic Powers in Serpents
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
Los Angeles, CA
|
Turn one, three skimmers in a row, middle is Eldrad with Warlocks sitting outside of their tank. Fortune the left tank with DAs inside. Fortune Eldrads unit or tank, guide the DA serpent to the right.
Hop in, Eldrad and left DA tank haul ass for 3+ cover save. Next turn, doom a unit, guide the DAs in the other serpent, fortune Eldrads unit. Hop out and assault.
One thing that I believe Willydstyle caught a week or so ago, that should be brought up, is that only Eldrad's THIRD power can be a duplicate of a power he already cast. So no "fortune-fortune-guide." HERE it wouldn't really matter, but if you wanted to use mindwar or eldritch storm, you couldn't use fortune twice, since you would have to use either of those powers last.
Also, remember that skimmers moving fast get a 4+ cover save. Only bikes and jet bikes get a 3+ for turbo boost.
|
Eldritch Raiders 2500
Ogre Kingdoms 1500
LotR-Mordor 750 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 23:07:30
Subject: Psychic Powers in Serpents
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I thought Psychic shooting attacks, even if they don't require LOS, cannot be used if you don't have a fire point? Same as, weapons wise, a CHapter Master cannot Orbital Bombard from insdie a LR.
Could be wrong though...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 23:11:33
Subject: Psychic Powers in Serpents
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No, you are right, but most of the Eldar Powers are not Shooting attacks
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/20 23:18:54
Subject: Psychic Powers in Serpents
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
That's correct... He's just saying that if you wanted to use one of the psychic shooting attacks later, after maneuvering and disembarking and so forth, you'd only be able to get a single instance of any other power off in the pre-turn phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/20 23:19:20
|
|
 |
 |
|