| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/11 15:55:19
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Sorry to bring this up again, but the last thread was closed as BOLS was declared "safe". My virus checker has fished out two different things in the last few minutes as I was browsing it, so I think this needs to be brought to attention.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/11 20:30:44
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
Ultramarine Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
What AV program are you using and what exactly is it flagging?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/11 23:46:05
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
Bane Knight
Washington DC metro area.
|
"safe" is a relative term.
Their ad service has been 'sketchy' of late
|
Special unique snowflake of unique specialness (+1/+3versus werewolves)
Alternatively I'm a magical internet fairy.
Pho indignation *IS* the tastiest form of angry!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/12 01:07:35
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Basingstoke, UK
|
Something on there managed to shut down Windows Firewall earlier today, and it keeps trying to download phantom pdfs
|
Poi
Honk if Pluto is a planet. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/12 01:26:05
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It's possible that they've been compromised, it's happened to my site before - I even had to go through the google procedure to have it removed from the listings.
http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?client=Firefox&hl=en-GB&site=http://www.heresy-online.net/forums/gallery/index.php
I know they use Burst Media to serve adverts to their readers so it's possible Burst have let dodgy sites into their program. They might install tracking cookies on your machine to enable them to serve relevant adverts too. It's spyware.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/12 01:32:11
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/16 10:49:16
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
oni wrote:What AV program are you using and what exactly is it flagging?
Sorry, I've been away from work for a few days. At my workplace we use something called Sophos Anti-Virus, and I've just looked around BoLS this morning and had this pop up.
"Virus/spyware Mal/ObfJS- CM has been detected in "htt0://gjbeeklgpnf.com/nte/AVORP1TREST10.php"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/16 18:00:15
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
When I visit Bell of Lost souls, my virus protection software blocks a bloodhound pdf 18 Heuristic Virus, what ever that is
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/16 18:01:20
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/16 18:51:33
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
Has anyone thought to contact BoLS about this?
They might want to remedy the situation =)
|
Bellus bellum gratia.
<Make war for war's sake.> |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/16 19:25:09
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
[DCM]
.
|
Scary in that I've gone there quiet a bit using Firefox and I've never had a problem or seen a warning...
Ouch!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/16 19:26:06
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)
|
Alph, i generally dont worry about it lol, im on a works comp, so if i do get a problem at some point, ill let people know.
|
Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/16 20:30:35
Subject: Bell of Lost Souls - safe?
|
 |
Ultramarine Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Howard A Treesong wrote:oni wrote:What AV program are you using and what exactly is it flagging?
Sorry, I've been away from work for a few days. At my workplace we use something called Sophos Anti-Virus, and I've just looked around BoLS this morning and had this pop up.
"Virus/spyware Mal/ObfJS- CM has been detected in "htt0://gjbeeklgpnf.com/nte/AVORP1TREST10.php"
Sophos makes a good AV, especially for business applications. That message doesn't tell me much other than it flagged something for "malicious behavior". The term "malicious behavior" can mean many different things and is the easiest to be what's called a "false positive". Basically means the AV is being over zealous. It's not always the case though. This seems to be PHP code related which if not kept in constant check can leave a website vulnerable to hackers and malicious code. I can only assume that BoLS may have been victim due to their recent additions of social networking widgets... which all use PHP code to my knowledge.
Bottom line is... BoLS needs to stop with all the advertising and social networking integration bull gak.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|