Switch Theme:

Mark of Tzeentch plus Grimoire of True names = 2++ Invul?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Can you apply the limit of '3++ only' to the Mark of Tzeentch alone, and subsequently buff this with another source to 2++?
Yes, Tzeentch-part is limited to 3++ and then Grimoire pushed it to 2++ when activated.
No, the Mark specifically prohibits saves greater than 3++ and the Grimoire does not get past this block.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ton - you absolutely are treating the modifiers differently, as you are claiming the MoT is something permanent. You have no actual rules for that, that, just your assertion.

You are also modifying a n inv save, claimin you aren't using the rules on page 2, but cannot show how you are allowed to do this. You have Provided nothing at all.

Follow he tenets, or concede.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
So you're also ignoring the rules I've cited in this thread?
Cool story bro.


Not ignoring anything, I've given a specific example that shows there are additional saves that are not the same. It's clearly in the BRB, we know INV are not Armor saves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/15 21:27:24


 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





Stormbreed wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
So you're also ignoring the rules I've cited in this thread?
Cool story bro.


Not ignoring anything, I've given a specific example that shows there are additional saves that are not the same. It's clearly in the BRB, we know INV are not Armor saves.

You do realize he has never said Armor save and Invulnerable saves are the same, right?
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




 Nilok wrote:
Stormbreed wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
So you're also ignoring the rules I've cited in this thread?
Cool story bro.


Not ignoring anything, I've given a specific example that shows there are additional saves that are not the same. It's clearly in the BRB, we know INV are not Armor saves.

You do realize he has never said Armor save and Invulnerable saves are the same, right?


True my bad, this whole thread is about something else as well and has been horribly side tracked by Invulnerable saves being called characteristics. Which as close as they may be I don't think they are.

Not that it changes my opinion on the poll which is 2++ = No.
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






It's often the case that people side track threads when they can't back up their arguments relevant to the topic.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Tonberry7 wrote:
It's often the case that people side track threads when they can't back up their arguments relevant to the topic.

That's amusing coming from the person who has cited no rules support.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

Well the New wording of the New inquisition codex means you can have a chance at nullifying the grimoire, since it switches off all deamonic gifts and is now a malediction. Small mercies and all that
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Formosa wrote:
Well the New wording of the New inquisition codex means you can have a chance at nullifying the grimoire, since it switches off all deamonic gifts and is now a malediction. Small mercies and all that


If you can get past the 4+ DTW since there'll be a lvl 3 herald and inquisitors are ml1.

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

Hence small mercies, 55pts to at least have a chance vs this is a small price to me
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Tonberry7 wrote:
It's often the case that people side track threads when they can't back up their arguments relevant to the topic.

Planning on giving any rules support yourself soon. Or answering the questions that also destroy your argument.? No? Just troll then,
   
Made in gb
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




Behind you...

As far as I am concerned the grimoire of true names adds a seperate modifier that takes no restraint from different speciel rules. And as the MoT is applied at the start of the game it is not the MoT that is taking it over 3++


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Chaos Rising wrote:
As far as I am concerned the grimoire of true names adds a seperate modifier that takes no restraint from different speciel rules. And as the MoT is applied at the start of the game it is not the MoT that is taking it over 3++


So maybe you can answer the question that were posed to Tonberry? So far he has been unwilling or unable to.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Chaos Rising wrote:
As far as I am concerned the grimoire of true names adds a seperate modifier that takes no restraint from different speciel rules. And as the MoT is applied at the start of the game it is not the MoT that is taking it over 3++

So of course you can cite rule support for there being a different modifier?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






 easysauce wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:

I am modifying 5 by -1 and then by -2, and getting to 2++. Breaking no rules.




except, you know, that rule that specifically prohibits you from using that -1 modifier from MoT to get better then a 3++


at this point, I cannot help you if you cannot see that...

you are, 100%, using MOT, , this is a proven fact

you do, in your equation (not in the game rules) end up with a 2++ after using moT, again, also a proven fact

the rule for MoT say "you may not use MOT to get better then a 3++",

seriously, you are being obtuse at this point... you on one hand, deny you are using MoT to get a 2++, yet you clearly are using MoT to get a 2++ in your equation, it would not add up to 2++ without MOT, yet you claim you are not using MOT at all.

you cannot claim to be correct simply by repeatedly, and falsely, stating (without RAW BACKING) that applying MOT before, somehow gets past its restriction of "no 2++"




respond to these very valid questions then, if you want to keep contending that you are not using MoT to get a 2++, yet you cannot get a 2++ without MoT.

how are you using modifiers rules to add them, yet contending that additional rules exist that state we add up modifiers at different times?

not only do those rules not exist, they wouldnt even prove you're are not adding them for the purposes of achieving that 2++.

you have not proven that order of applying modifiers matters, nor have you shown in any way or form, that you are not using MoT to get the 2++.

you are not using MoT to get a 4++, and you are not using GOTN to get a 2++,

you are using BOTH MOT and GOTN to add +3, and get a 2++, and you cannot prove otherwise.

In fact you keep saying you are in fact casting MoT, but that because its first, it "doesnt count" for some un defined, un RAW backed up reason.

order of modifyers does not matter, and two additive modifiers would be added at the same time, before the save is made.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/17 03:27:43


 
   
Made in gb
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch





Eye of Terror.

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Ton - you absolutely are treating the modifiers differently, as you are claiming the MoT is something permanent. You have no actual rules for that, that, just your assertion.

You are also modifying a n inv save, claimin you aren't using the rules on page 2, but cannot show how you are allowed to do this. You have Provided nothing at all.

Follow he tenets, or concede.

Preview
Post Re:Mark of Tzeentch plus Grimoire of True names = 2++ Invul?
Actually, the Mark of Tzeentch does permanently improve the Invulnerable save by 1. This is because if you read Abbadon the Despoiler's entry in the Chaos Space Marines codex, there is a clause clearly stating that: due to the Mark of Tzeentch, the Invulnerable save granted by Abbadon's Terminator Armour is a 4++. Therefore, it is fixed and not tested as a modifier. Consequently, a Daemon unit with Mark of Tzeentch does permanently improve Invulnerability by 1, so he has 4++, and the Grimoire of True Names improves it to 2++.

At War With Fate? Maybe I am and maybe I'm not... 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




A) threadnomancy
B) nope, modifier. Same as a thunder wolf mount. This is backed up by rules.
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

Thread is being locked due to thread necromancy.

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: