Switch Theme:

Ordering yourself in the Chimera?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Can a commander issue an order to himself if he's inside a Chimera?


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







HoverBoy wrote:Can a commander issue an order to himself if he's inside a Chimera?
No. Page 29 Clearly states when a unit cannot be given an order.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/20 23:43:52


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Buffalo NY, USA

Yes but the Chimera has a special rule allowing it the commander to issue orders while inside of it. I think this is a legitimate question.

ComputerGeek01 is more then just a name 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut







p29 - An officer may attempt to issue orders provided that he is not falling back, embarked in a transport vehicle etc. ....Orders Cannot be issued to squads that are embarked in a transport vehicle

p39 - Mobile Command Vehicle: An office embarked within a Chimera may still issue orders to squads. Measure range etc.
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







Gwar! wrote:
HoverBoy wrote:Can a commander issue an order to himself if he's inside a Chimera?
No. Page 29 Clearly states when a unit cannot be given an order.
Gwar! Fail.

Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Brunius wrote:p29 - An officer may attempt to issue orders provided that he is not falling back, embarked in a transport vehicle etc. ....Orders Cannot be issued to squads that are embarked in a transport vehicle

p39 - Mobile Command Vehicle: An office embarked within a Chimera may still issue orders to squads. Measure range etc.


So he can issue orders (Mobile Command Vehicle) but not to his own squad, who are embarked in a transport.
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

forkbanger wrote:
Brunius wrote:p29 - An officer may attempt to issue orders provided that he is not falling back, embarked in a transport vehicle etc. ....Orders Cannot be issued to squads that are embarked in a transport vehicle

p39 - Mobile Command Vehicle: An office embarked within a Chimera may still issue orders to squads. Measure range etc.


So he can issue orders (Mobile Command Vehicle) but not to his own squad, who are embarked in a transport.


RAW he cannot issue the order to his own squad whilst embarked in a Chimera

here is another weird scenario - company commander issues an order to his own squad and fails.. they have a Vox caster so they get to re-roll as the issueing and receiving squad has a Vox (they couldn't hear the commander while he is standing right next to them but it comes through clearer on the Vox??)

when i play.. i don't re-roll because i purely believe that they do not deserve to
   
Made in ca
Mounted Kroot Tracker





Ontario, Canada

Klawz wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
HoverBoy wrote:Can a commander issue an order to himself if he's inside a Chimera?
No. Page 29 Clearly states when a unit cannot be given an order.
Gwar! Fail.

Gwar! Win.

The squad he is embarked with is inside a transport, and therefore cannot be Ordered. And technically you should get the vox reroll, although kudos to you if you don't take it due to fluff.

Night Watch SM
Kroot Mercenaries W 2 - D 3 - L 1
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.

Nightwatch's Kroot Blog

DQ:90-S++G++M-B++I+Pw40k08#+D+A--/cWD-R+T(S)DM+
 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




interestingly enough, if the company commander issues an order to his own squad, RaW, he cannot issue any more orders since he and the squad may not act further during the shooting phase after receiving an order.

So make sure you don't order your senior commander to do something before he has a chance to order another squad!
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

yeah his squad is alway the last order to be issued - if i do issue to them

i know they are entitled to the reroll but as i said if they fail the first time they do not deserve the re-roll
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Klawz wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
HoverBoy wrote:Can a commander issue an order to himself if he's inside a Chimera?
No. Page 29 Clearly states when a unit cannot be given an order.
Gwar! Fail.
Erm, No?

The unit he is trying to order is embarked on a Transport vehicle, so cannot receive an order.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Lancaster PA

Catachan_Devil wrote:
forkbanger wrote:
Brunius wrote:p29 - An officer may attempt to issue orders provided that he is not falling back, embarked in a transport vehicle etc. ....Orders Cannot be issued to squads that are embarked in a transport vehicle

p39 - Mobile Command Vehicle: An office embarked within a Chimera may still issue orders to squads. Measure range etc.


So he can issue orders (Mobile Command Vehicle) but not to his own squad, who are embarked in a transport.


RAW he cannot issue the order to his own squad whilst embarked in a Chimera

here is another weird scenario - company commander issues an order to his own squad and fails.. they have a Vox caster so they get to re-roll as the issueing and receiving squad has a Vox (they couldn't hear the commander while he is standing right next to them but it comes through clearer on the Vox??)

when i play.. i don't re-roll because i purely believe that they do not deserve to


Nah, see he yells the order, and when everyone looks at him and say "What?" he grabs the vox, hits a guy with it and screams "CAN YOU HEAR MY NOW?!" into the mouth piece. Works like a charm


Woad to WAR... on Celts blog, which is mostly Circle Orboros
"I'm sick of auto-penetrating attacks against my behind!" - Kungfuhustler 
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

Wehrkind wrote:
Catachan_Devil wrote:
forkbanger wrote:
Brunius wrote:p29 - An officer may attempt to issue orders provided that he is not falling back, embarked in a transport vehicle etc. ....Orders Cannot be issued to squads that are embarked in a transport vehicle

p39 - Mobile Command Vehicle: An office embarked within a Chimera may still issue orders to squads. Measure range etc.


So he can issue orders (Mobile Command Vehicle) but not to his own squad, who are embarked in a transport.


RAW he cannot issue the order to his own squad whilst embarked in a Chimera

here is another weird scenario - company commander issues an order to his own squad and fails.. they have a Vox caster so they get to re-roll as the issueing and receiving squad has a Vox (they couldn't hear the commander while he is standing right next to them but it comes through clearer on the Vox??)

when i play.. i don't re-roll because i purely believe that they do not deserve to


Nah, see he yells the order, and when everyone looks at him and say "What?" he grabs the vox, hits a guy with it and screams "CAN YOU HEAR MY NOW?!" into the mouth piece. Works like a charm


LOL!!!!!! maybe i will start re-rolling.. that seems to work fluff wise - i do tend to use Straken so it would fit the Character
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: