Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 03:46:01
Subject: Re:5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
Holloman
|
Red
Don't be mad about being wrong. Since now it is possible to MOVE or SHOOT in the shooting phase, it defaults to being a piece of wargear used in the SHOOTING phase of that turn. And although it is nice to picture a piece of wargear as a weapon (other then the real wargear that is a weapon). It seems like you are making things up to fit what you want and not keeping an open mind when reading the rules.
I have learned over the last few days that the FAQ's and this forum are not about changing the game or balancing the armies. It is about looking at the rules and the army's codex to find poorly written rules. Then with an open mind, finding the way things work in the game. Even if it was not the intent of the rule, or makes something more powerful then it should be. Since the rules have changed but the codexes have not, everything is up for revisiting. So just because the portal didn't work that way in 3rd edition (which it did because of the DE fleet move), and then in 4th (which most people carried the rule over from 3rd). The sun is shining on a new day for 5th.
So until you show me your GW employee ID, your degree in rules lawyering, or that English is truly your first language. We can agree to disagree, but I am right.
--Don't get all offended, this is all in fun, and jest--
|
In a world gone soft, someone has to be hard -- Mike's Hard Lemonade (but I just like the saying) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 03:50:48
Subject: Re:5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
Holloman
|
New topic,
When moving on from a table edge, any table edge, does it count as moving? We go over this all the time. We have a SM player who can infiltrate his devastator squad. Some cheesy thing the SM stole from the IG. Anyways, he always wants them to show up on the board and be able to shoot all the heavy weapons that turn. How is this addressed in the rulebook, and how does everyone else play it?
|
In a world gone soft, someone has to be hard -- Mike's Hard Lemonade (but I just like the saying) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 05:28:27
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
"INSTEAD OF MOVING or shooting that TURN" turn not phase. If you move in the movement phase did you move that turn? If you moved in the shooting phase did you move that turn? Its actually fairly clear. I don't know why you are trying to make the word turn mean phase... but it doesn't, if you move in the movement phase you moved that turn, therefor cannot place the Webway portal, since it requires you to remain stationary for a turn, though it is important to note that you can assault after placing the portal (as this happens after it is dropped and the codex says after it is dropped the model may move away freely). On your other topic- P.94 "arriving from reserve" its actually very clear on this. They measure their movement from the table edge then are placed and count as moving (because they did) so the space marine devs could not fire heavy weapons and such.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/14 05:33:52
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 05:37:59
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Guys, this thread is not the proper place to hash out rules questions and answers.
While I agree that many of these questions are properly answered by reading the rules, it doesn't hurt to have the questions submitted in this thread.
Anyone compiling their own FAQ can simply ignore the questions they think don't need to be included.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 05:44:43
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
yakface wrote: Guys, this thread is not the proper place to hash out rules questions and answers. While I agree that many of these questions are properly answered by reading the rules, it doesn't hurt to have the questions submitted in this thread. Anyone compiling their own FAQ can simply ignore the questions they think don't need to be included. But...but...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/14 05:45:19
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 05:47:16
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
I'm guessing Jaradakar hasn't noticed the Yo-Yo tactic that Skyleap affords.
132 points for a chance to land on an objective and contest it is a bargain.
Hopefully you figure out why, without bullet pointing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 05:57:39
Subject: Re:5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
Holloman
|
I like the cartoon.
Hopefully this question will not make me look like I have not read the rulebook cover to cover.
It goes back back to the swooping hawks (SH) and the skyleap. Now before everyone groans hear me out.
It says that the SH can drop their grenades each time they enter play by deep striking. Now the rules for the grenades gives the range as N/A. So "by the book" since the grenades are not classified as a guess or barrage weapon, do the SH need to have LOS to the location where the template is from where they land, and does the unit that just got bombed get a cover save? Now I know the logical answers would be no and no because they are dropping the grenades from the sky and the direction of the attack is straight down. BUT... Do the rules support this speculation?
|
In a world gone soft, someone has to be hard -- Mike's Hard Lemonade (but I just like the saying) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 06:13:48
Subject: Re:5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The Sarge wrote:Insaniak,
You are right about it saying turn in the codex.
And there you go, then.
If you're actually interested in discussing it further, feel free to start a new thread so we're not clogging up Yak's FAQ thread with discussion.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 06:49:25
Subject: Re:5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer
|
Just because there was some discussions in another thread:
Do Chaos characters with wings take dangerous terrain tests when landing in difficult terrain?
Can a character on a bike who joins a squad that turbo boosted shoot and/or assault?
Does that same character get a cover save if a majority is made with the turbo boosting squad?
Does a character leave a squad at the beginning or end of the movement phase? I.e. does he move independently until the end of the phase, at which point he rejoins any squad within 2"?
In Apocalypse games, can characters join one's teammates' squads?
|
"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."
-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/14 23:47:38
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
Aliso Viejo, CA - But wishing I was in Seattle
|
Stelek wrote:I'm guessing Jaradakar hasn't noticed the Yo-Yo tactic that Skyleap affords.
132 points for a chance to land on an objective and contest it is a bargain.
Hopefully you figure out why, without bullet pointing.
Stelek, I'm fully aware of the yo-yo tactic, I've tried it many times and imo it's not as good as some like to make it out. Did you read any of my previous posts? Not only do they mention yo-yoing:
This last game, I did nothing but DS and drop grenades each turn.
The one prior to that logically outlines why (What's wrong with bullet points?). In the future if you disagree, please presenting a logical argument for/against, rather than imply a person is ignorant, which doing so is slightly insulting.
Yakface, sorry I'll stop posting in this thread. I had originally done so because the OP has the exact opposite information on psychic powers from inside a transport as the main thread dealing with it and I was wanting it corrected... then I got carried away, sorry ;-)
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2008/08/15 03:02:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/15 21:19:56
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
From a recent thread on the subject:
If a unit is forced to Emergency Disembark during the opposing player's turn, what abilities does it lose? Does it count as having gone to ground? Does this carry into the next player turn (the owning player's turn)?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/17 20:25:17
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
Do intervening units allow a unit a cover save when a weapon that doesn't require LoS (such as a Tau Smart Missile System or Seeker missile) targets said unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/20 23:42:03
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Tau Question 1:
If a unit slips fire via the target lock in the shooting phase and then assults do all of the units assault the primary target in the shooting phase, have the choice of the primary or secondary target from the shooting phase, or assault both the primary & secondary target (or even third of 4th if multiple target locks are within the unit)
|
Salamander Marines 65-12-13
Dark Eldar Wych Cult 4-1-0
Dark Eldar Kabal 36-10-4
2010 Indy GT Tournament Record: 11-6-3
Golden Ticket Winner with Dark Eldar
Timmah wrote:Best way to use lysander:
Set in your storage bin, pick up vulkan model, place in list. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/21 06:18:26
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
asugradinwa wrote:Tau Question 1:
If a unit slips fire via the target lock in the shooting phase and then assults do all of the units assault the primary target in the shooting phase, have the choice of the primary or secondary target from the shooting phase, or assault both the primary & secondary target (or even third of 4th if multiple target locks are within the unit)
N/A since by RAW target locks are a broken peace of wargear that people currently play with house rules. So if you use functioning target locks at all its a house rule issue.
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/21 17:01:16
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Well then:
Question #2:
What is a target priority test in 5th edition? (we all know it'll be a LD test but for those who need everything spelled out for them......)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/25 23:05:24
Salamander Marines 65-12-13
Dark Eldar Wych Cult 4-1-0
Dark Eldar Kabal 36-10-4
2010 Indy GT Tournament Record: 11-6-3
Golden Ticket Winner with Dark Eldar
Timmah wrote:Best way to use lysander:
Set in your storage bin, pick up vulkan model, place in list. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/21 22:36:37
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Anchorage
|
Epidemius vs Necron. Round 1 you drop in, with epidemius and knock down 10 necrons using daemons of nurgle or with his marks. Those necrons are eligible for WBB rolls. Come the beginning of the necron turn, 5 make the roll and stand back up. Assuming Epidemius is still on the table at the beginning of the daemons second round, is the tally at 10, or at 5?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/22 02:41:03
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
thats awesome.. the necrons will spell their own doom with their resiliance.. if they are foolish enough to not simply shoot epidemus off the board on turn 1
|
A True Humanitarian Understands it is Sometimes Necessary to Cull the Herd.
R.J.M.P. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/22 03:02:47
Subject: Re:5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
Transport question 1
can multiple units embark into a transport. Eg 5 space marines get in a land raider can another 5 space marines from another unit also get in, also does this work in the same way for dedicated transports
|
I don't expect you to die a meaningless death I expect you to die for the emperor now CHARGE
You know what we do to liars Petty
No wait I'm not ARGHHH
We kick em in the balls
Brother octavius ''open up on the genestealers''
Brother there are rippers closing in on the right RIPPERS''
"there only 3 of them"
"Fire upon the rippers NOW'' |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/25 11:38:02
Subject: Re:5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
|
The IG FAQ states that an independet commissar that joins a unit adds one to the commander's leadership and will execute him if a morale test is failed. What happens if an independet commissar joins a unit of conscripts (who doesn't have a commander)?
|
/Peter |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/25 13:02:43
Subject: Re:5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Aristotle wrote:Transport question 1
can multiple units embark into a transport. Eg 5 space marines get in a land raider can another 5 space marines from another unit also get in, also does this work in the same way for dedicated transports
No, only a single unit plus any joined/attached ICs can ride in a transport at one time.
PeterWelzien wrote:The IG FAQ states that an independet commissar that joins a unit adds one to the commander's leadership and will execute him if a morale test is failed. What happens if an independet commissar joins a unit of conscripts (who doesn't have a commander)?
He executes a regular trooper. Was in the old IG FAQ and needs to be added back into the current FAQ.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/25 20:31:40
Subject: Re:5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
|
Another question:
If a transport gets shot up and enemy models blocks all the access points, can I then do an emergency disembarkation? Or is the unit destroyed?
|
/Peter |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/27 04:06:39
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
the answer is no.. they get to deploy on top of the wreck of the vehicle. but are entangled for a turn.
yakface.. please come up with an answer to weather or not a deff rolla can be used during a ram move. we're stuck after 3 pages of debate and need an answer
NaZ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/27 18:55:15
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
NaZ wrote:the answer is no.. they get to deploy on top of the wreck of the vehicle. but are entangled for a turn.
yakface.. please come up with an answer to weather or not a deff rolla can be used during a ram move. we're stuck after 3 pages of debate and need an answer
NaZ
this isn't true... they only get to do this if the vehicle is blown up RAW. If they are blocked in and it is destroyed with out blowing up they are destroyed.
It is very clearly stated in the rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/27 20:11:42
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
|
frgsinwntr wrote:this isn't true... they only get to do this if the vehicle is blown up RAW. If they are blocked in and it is destroyed with out blowing up they are destroyed.
It is very clearly stated in the rules.
On page 67 under "Destroyed - wrecked" it says: "The passengers must immediately disembark..". And under "Disembarking" is says: "If any models cannot disembark because of enemy models or because they would end up in impassable terrain, the unit can perform an 'emergency disembarkation'...". So if the access points are blocked, but other parts of the vehicle are not, that must mean I can choose to do an emergency disembarkation?
|
/Peter |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/27 20:26:30
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Evasive Eshin Assassin
|
PeterWelzien wrote:frgsinwntr wrote:this isn't true... they only get to do this if the vehicle is blown up RAW. If they are blocked in and it is destroyed with out blowing up they are destroyed.
It is very clearly stated in the rules.
On page 67 under "Destroyed - wrecked" it says: "The passengers must immediately disembark..". And under "Disembarking" is says: "If any models cannot disembark because of enemy models or because they would end up in impassable terrain, the unit can perform an 'emergency disembarkation'...". So if the access points are blocked, but other parts of the vehicle are not, that must mean I can choose to do an emergency disembarkation?
that's the way i read it too so if you want to kill the occupants of a vehicle by destroying it then you would have to completely surround it so that they cant make an emergency disembarkation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/27 20:29:46
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
hmm I see now why it is confusing. The way it is written is suggests if they are getting out of the vehicle on purpose they can be deployed anywhere.
BUT if they are bailing out because of damage then they are destroyed if all hatches are covered.
Basically you can think of it as more of a rush and not enough time to get out the smaller hatches with the vehicle blowing up while getting on purpose it would be a little less rushed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/28 00:32:06
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
It was my understanding that "emergency disembarking" was added so that even if access hatches were blocked the passengers could survive. To prevent occasions like piranha feeding frenzy.
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/28 01:52:19
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
without quoting exactly.. the answer is on pg 67 of the main rulebook.
models are deployed anywhere within 2" of the vehicles hull
and -if even this disembarkation is impossible, they can't disembark.
so I suppose you could completely surround a vehicle to make sure they can't do that and stay 1" away from your models.
NaZ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/01 03:25:03
Subject: Re:5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Human Auxiliary to the Empire
|
When defending with a multi-toughness or multi-WS unit, what exactly does 'majority' mean? For example, if a unit with two WS 2 models, one WS 3 model and one WS 4 model is assaulted, does two out of four units count as a majority? Or is the unit WS 4 since no single type is > 50% of the units?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/07 16:17:39
Subject: 5th Edition codex FAQ submission thread
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
Okay... you all will probably get angry at me. I have three different GW people answering me on this question. I would love a FAQ on this matter.
Can a unit with Fleet disembark from a transport and run and therefore Assault?
I am asking this question now because of the new space Marine Ravensgaurd army. Space Marines with the fleet rule. I would like a real answer on this.
GW people have told me that if you can run you can fleet. therefore assault out of transports. I know we had a huge discussion on this topic. but this needs to be in a General FAQ. I played a game with a player telling me he can do it out of a rhino because he has fleet.
|
Armies owned
5th Ed:
Tau Stats: 14-2-8 Won against: :
Eldar Stats: 5-0-3 Won Against:
Space Marine:
Ork:
4th Ed:
Tau 82% Win, 5% Tie 13% Loss
Blood Angels: 70% |
|
 |
 |
|