Switch Theme:

Vehicle Shooting with One-Shot Weapons?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







RAW "One Shot" means it can fire once (Ergo ... one shot). Every time we spend points we purchase a new instances which has nothing to do with any previous instances (otherwise I'd be buy replacement models every time they died).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/16 18:52:54


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except the RAW argument isnt what Fling says it is: fling, despite evidence to the contrary, is willfully misinterpreting the clear English usage of "One shot" to pretend there is a problem.

There isn't.
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







I know but just point out clearly how it does work for all those complaining that RAW doesn't work (it's true there are places its damn ropey but this isn't one)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/16 18:56:15


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

FlingitNow wrote:All those have defined English meanings. The One-shot rule doesn't, whilst it most likely means 1 shot per game it could easily mean 1 shot per turn or 1 shot per player turn (i.e. saying you could even fire it in your opponents turn). As written we just don't know so it doesn't override any of the existing rules for shooting as it is not specific in any way.

It has a very clearly defined English meaning. It means 'one shot'... as in 'one'... meaning singular, solo, one... and 'shot'... meaning 'shot'....

It gets one shot. So you get to fire it once.

Until you can point to anything that indicates that the 'one' means anything other than 'one', or to something that allows it to fire every turn, doing anything other than firing it once is going to be against the rules, because without any rule to the contrary you're left with the actual meaning of the words being the definition of what it does in game.

No matter how hard you try, you can't manufacture a RAW issue out of this. The meaning is clear. 'One shot' means 'one shot'.

 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles





Alaska

I'm going to be honest here, I love reading the strange, convoluted, and often slightly unhinged RAW arguments that spawn from these YMDC threads, sometimes.

However, a small caveat back on topic: Nobody in this discussion disagrees with my ability to fire more than one of my missiles from a single vehicle, providing I subtract the number I fired from the total number of missiles remaining? (As the rules clearly state)

Slaneesh may seem fun now, but when you find yourself in bed with a he-goat and several implements of pain, you'll know you've gone too far. -Emperor's Faithful

"Oh, Brother Asmodai! Yes, spank me! I've been heretical!"
"Feel the Emperor's judgement, Azrael!"
"Oooh, yes! Purge me! Purge me!" -Cheese Elemental

'In the eye of Terror, it's still the '80's. And that's a good thing.' -Necroagogo 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine






RAW:
Please define 'rolling' in relation to dice. I percieve 'rolling' to being a 'a state of being rolled' and therefore perpetual. Since the dice do not continue to be rolled eternally but rather stop you're cheating.

You have 4 missiles. You can fire each one once.


   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Shelegelah wrote:I'm going to be honest here, I love reading the strange, convoluted, and often slightly unhinged RAW arguments that spawn from these YMDC threads, sometimes.

However, a small caveat back on topic: Nobody in this discussion disagrees with my ability to fire more than one of my missiles from a single vehicle, providing I subtract the number I fired from the total number of missiles remaining? (As the rules clearly state)


Sure, as long as you obey the restriction on how many weapons you're allowed to fire based on how far the vehicle moved. Each missile is a weapon.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles





Alaska

Perfect, exactly as I thought.

Slaneesh may seem fun now, but when you find yourself in bed with a he-goat and several implements of pain, you'll know you've gone too far. -Emperor's Faithful

"Oh, Brother Asmodai! Yes, spank me! I've been heretical!"
"Feel the Emperor's judgement, Azrael!"
"Oooh, yes! Purge me! Purge me!" -Cheese Elemental

'In the eye of Terror, it's still the '80's. And that's a good thing.' -Necroagogo 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz





USA

Next we will arguing over the definition of "is".

"One shot" means you can use it once... Not once per turn, or once per shooting phase... Once...

Considering you buy it at the start of the game, you can use each "one shot" item once for each time you buy it.

That would be once per game...

7 Armies 30,000+

, , , , , , ,  
   
Made in us
Tail Gunner





On the same general note, would a model with hellstrike missiles be able to fire all of them in a single turn, or only one? note that hellstrike missiles are ordnance, and I've only seen IA say - they're only treated as ordnance for vehicle damage purposes

Armies:
~1k Pts Catachan Jungle Fighters
~2k Pts Ordo Malleus Inquisition 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, you may only fire A single Ordnance weapon each turn, see the BRB rules on Ordnance
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: