Switch Theme:

Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





Pyriel- wrote:Shrouding: P25.
Can it stack.

A: If one librarian casts shrouding 3 times on the same unit in the same player phase will that unit benefit from a 2+ cover save?

B: If two different librarians each cast shrouding on the same unit will the cover save stack?

C: Can a librarian cast shrouding while inside a vehicle and if so will range count as from the vehicles hull?

D: Can a librarian use his psychic hood while inside a vehicle?


A. Since the Shrouding doesn't give +1 to cover saves, it gives the Stealth Special Rule, this wouldn't stack.
B. Again they are just gaining the Stealth USR
C. According to Rulebook FAQ on Pg3, since the Since the Shrouding is Not a Psychic shooting attack, and has a range or area of affect, Yes it can be cast inside a transport, and the area of effect is measured from the transport's hull.
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Florida, USA

Sorry I forget the page number, but how does the GK "Psychic Pilot" rule interact with other Psyker affecting war gear/rules not listed under the entry? How do war gear or rules that deal with models/units that have psychic powers but aren't necessarily labeled as Psykers affect GK vehicles with "Psychic Pilot"?

Same questions about GK squads with the "Brotherhood of Psykers" rule. particularly dealing with much of the anti-Psyker WH war gear and powers. For Execruciators, for example, does one have to kill the whole squad to get the victory points per Psyker, or just the Justicar/Keeper of the Flame, or does one get the points for each model from that squad?

What GK Psychic powers can be said to affect either a Sisters of Battle Squad with "Shield of Faith" or a WH Inquisitor with The Penitent included for the purposes of negating said powers?

There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Gothenburg

I have an interessting question about wargear. Page number is not needed for this one.
It´s about the psilencer and my question is why did the dev team include a weapon that nobody will ever take and I mean ever!

Think I have seen roughly 60 GK army builds online now that people want to make or are building and not once have I seen even one single psilencer.
It makes for very boring and repetitive army builds when all that is ever taken is psycannon spam with the occasional incinerator sprinkled into the build.

So why did they give a weapon with the very best looks in the entire game such crappy rules?
Why does it take up sprue space when something other more needed like another halbeard for example could be put there?

There is not one single instance where the psilencer is actually better then the psycannon that you pay peanut points for over the psilencer.
Psilencer causes:
2.65 wounds vs T3 saved by all armour saves.
2 wounds vs T4 saved by all armour saves.
1.3 wounds vs T5 saved by all armour saves.
0.65 wounds vs T6 saved by all armour saves.

Psycannon causes:
2.2 wounds vs T3
2.2 wounds vs T4
2.2 wounds vs T5
1.75 wounds vs T6
1.3 wounds vs T7

With the fact that armour saves do apply against psilencers (and most T3 armies have saves of 4+ to 6+) the psilencer already lower wounds go down significantly vs the psycannon that cuts through 4+ saves.

Psycannon can move and shoot, psilencer can not.

Psycannon can down vehicles, psicannon can not.

Psycannon can rend through 3+ and 2+ armours, psilecer can not.

Psycannon wounds deamons better then psilencer, the only instance where the psilencer is slightly (0.45 wounds) better then the psycannon is against T3 deamons since the AP4 of the psycannon doesnt confer an advantage there. Also in apocalypse games vs super deamons with toughness values of T8-9-10 etc but this is outside the scope.


So my question stands and I would be very interested to hear what weasling will take place to get out of this question when/if it is asked.
Why on earth include such a nice looking weapon when it is so worthless nobody will ever take it?

Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
 
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger




WI

I don't own a Grey Knight codex so can't give page numbers, but with Psykout grenades, or whatever one you roll a D6 for and apply the result, if the initiative 1 result is rolled against Eldar Howling Banshees in the first round of combat, are they initiative 1 as the grenades say or 10 as per the Banshee Mask?

As long as it’s not the Imperium... 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Maureth wrote:I don't own a Grey Knight codex so can't give page numbers, but with Psykout grenades, or whatever one you roll a D6 for and apply the result, if the initiative 1 result is rolled against Eldar Howling Banshees in the first round of combat, are they initiative 1 as the grenades say or 10 as per the Banshee Mask?


they are lowered to I1, but then the Banshee masks raise it to I10

at least, thats the ruling with other wargear that lowers inititive and how it works with Banshees.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




quietus wrote:1) Is Mordrak an independent character? pg40. pg 64
2) When Mordrak brings his body guard they become a unit, can he then be joined by an IC? pg.40 pg.64

3) Can the Lib stealth an vehicle, does he need LOS can this be done even if he has, during his turn reached his mastery level?
pg. 24-25 pg.67


1) Mordrak is not listed as an independent character on either of those pages, so he is not one.

In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Rephistorch wrote:

1) Mordrak is not listed as an independent character on either of those pages, so he is not one.


Mordak is not an IC.

But, He doesn't need to be; as he has more than 1 model available to his unit(whether he brings the ghost knights or not) he is not always a unit of 1 model, therefore other ICs can attach to him(ghost knights apear every time he is wounded, not just when the unit is bought).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/26 19:54:29


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Preceptor





about inquisitor coteaz's lord of formosa rule (pg 88) and inquisitorial henchmen warband (pg90)
do the henchmen start using slots on the foc to a max of 6?
do you need to take a inquisitor for each warband?



 
   
Made in au
Crazed Cultist of Khorne




Brisbane

svendrex wrote:
9) Librarian Powers (p. 25)
a) Dark Excommunication. What counts as a "demonic gift" in the Chaos Deamon and Chaos Space Marine books?
b) Can you take the Save granted by the gift "Blessing of the Blood God" (CD p. 74) against his power?


Using this quote as I don't personally know the page number.

The chaos daemons codex refers to all wargear that is purchased as daemonic gifts which includes steeds and chariots. If this power cancels all Daemonic gifts does this include steeds and chariots? and if so do the herlads stats get changed immediately?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/27 07:18:54


pwnies wrote: Please don't ignore the SM just because of the misconception that they are "for beginners". A Nob Biker list is for beginners<---OH NO I WENT THERE WHAT YOU GONNA DO WHAT YOU GONNA DO
 
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





California

A death cult assassin has two power weapons. Is the two weapon bonus included in their profile or do they get a 3rd attack for two weapons?
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

hyperviper6 wrote:A death cult assassin has two power weapons. Is the two weapon bonus included in their profile or do they get a 3rd attack for two weapons?


Unless hyphenated (ie, A1(2)), then a model's Attacks characteristic always lists their basic characteristic before any other modifiers are applied.
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought






Henchmen page 90 Elites choice, but does not use a force org slot. No more than 1 per inquisitor.

Corteaz (p. 45) Henchmen may be taken as a troops choice. Removes the 1 per inquisitor restriction.

When Corteaz makes henchmen troop choice do they take a troops force org slot, or do they remain a force or free selection?

There are 2 arguments I have seen.

Henchmen page 90 overrides Corteaz page 45 because page 45 says nothing about removing the rule that henchmen are force org free, and thus henchmen take no force org slot.

Corteaz page 45 overides page 90 because when Corteaz converts henchmen into troops it says nothing about them being force org free.

This is probably the most important ruling because it will deem entire lists legal or illegal in a tournament, most notably 17 razorback henchmen squads as troops, the 99 multi melta servitor army, and the MSU 15 point triple bolt gun scoring unit henchmen army.

Automatically Appended Next Post:
GK grand master page 22 Unyielding anvil. D3 units can claim objectives as if they were troops. Can the following units claim objectives as troops?

Dreadknights: MC seems like a no brainer to me as a Yes, just like TMC can.

Dreadnoughts, land raiders, or anything else with an AV: Some people say yes, I say no. It has an AV, the grand master doesn't specifically say vehicles can be scoring units.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/03/27 21:44:50


Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail, and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some are given a chance to climb, but refuse. They cling to the realm, or love, or the gods…illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is, but they’ll never know this. Not until it’s too late.


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Scoring "as if" means they are Scoring. You also cant give it to Landraiders. Just walkers
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

If I have more than 1 purifier squads in an assault and they both use their cleansing flame psychic power are they resolved simultaneously or 1 at a time?

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Preceptor





schadenfreude wrote:Henchmen page 90 Elites choice, but does not use a force org slot. No more than 1 per inquisitor.

Corteaz (p. 45) Henchmen may be taken as a troops choice. Removes the 1 per inquisitor restriction.

When Corteaz makes henchmen troop choice do they take a troops force org slot, or do they remain a force or free selection?

There are 2 arguments I have seen.

Henchmen page 90 overrides Corteaz page 45 because page 45 says nothing about removing the rule that henchmen are force org free, and thus henchmen take no force org slot.

Corteaz page 45 overides page 90 because when Corteaz converts henchmen into troops it says nothing about them being force org free.

This is probably the most important ruling because it will deem entire lists legal or illegal in a tournament, most notably 17 razorback henchmen squads as troops, the 99 multi melta servitor army, and the MSU 15 point triple bolt gun scoring unit henchmen army.



It doesn't say any place about removing the 1 per inquisitor restriction just they can be taken as troops and then removes the limit on inquisitors, so don't still need an inquisitor per henchmen warband ether way ?



 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





schadenfreude wrote:

GK grand master page 22 Unyielding anvil. D3 units can claim objectives as if they were troops. Can the following units claim objectives as troops?

Dreadknights: MC seems like a no brainer to me as a Yes, just like TMC can.

Dreadnoughts, land raiders, or anything else with an AV: Some people say yes, I say no. It has an AV, the grand master doesn't specifically say vehicles can be scoring units.


This is made clear on the same page as it lists what units can be used with grand strategy:
"Roll a D3 and choose that many infantry, jump infantry, monstrous creatures, or walkers in your army (but not models with the independant character special rule, Inquisitorial Henchman warbands, or Grand Master Mordrak's unit of Ghost Knights)"

Should clear that up.
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought






th3eviltwin wrote:
schadenfreude wrote:Henchmen page 90 Elites choice, but does not use a force org slot. No more than 1 per inquisitor.

Corteaz (p. 45) Henchmen may be taken as a troops choice. Removes the 1 per inquisitor restriction.

When Corteaz makes henchmen troop choice do they take a troops force org slot, or do they remain a force or free selection?

There are 2 arguments I have seen.

Henchmen page 90 overrides Corteaz page 45 because page 45 says nothing about removing the rule that henchmen are force org free, and thus henchmen take no force org slot.

Corteaz page 45 overides page 90 because when Corteaz converts henchmen into troops it says nothing about them being force org free.

This is probably the most important ruling because it will deem entire lists legal or illegal in a tournament, most notably 17 razorback henchmen squads as troops, the 99 multi melta servitor army, and the MSU 15 point triple bolt gun scoring unit henchmen army.



It doesn't say any place about removing the 1 per inquisitor restriction just they can be taken as troops and then removes the limit on inquisitors, so don't still need an inquisitor per henchmen warband ether way ?


Exact wording is

and are not limited by the number of inquisitors in your army.


Thus the henchmen are not limited to 1 per inquisitor in your army. The key words are by the number of inquisitors. So no it's not unlimited HQ choices, and we don't get to go Oprah Winfrey with rad grenades. You get a rad grenade, you get a rad grenade, everybody gets a rad grenade!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
lucasbuffalo wrote:
schadenfreude wrote:

GK grand master page 22 Unyielding anvil. D3 units can claim objectives as if they were troops. Can the following units claim objectives as troops?

Dreadknights: MC seems like a no brainer to me as a Yes, just like TMC can.

Dreadnoughts, land raiders, or anything else with an AV: Some people say yes, I say no. It has an AV, the grand master doesn't specifically say vehicles can be scoring units.


This is made clear on the same page as it lists what units can be used with grand strategy:
"Roll a D3 and choose that many infantry, jump infantry, monstrous creatures, or walkers in your army (but not models with the independant character special rule, Inquisitorial Henchman warbands, or Grand Master Mordrak's unit of Ghost Knights)"

Should clear that up.


There are 4 abilities the grandmaster can give units. The exact wording says any of the 4 abilities can be given to a walker.

RAI= Walkers can get spear of light, shield of blades, and hammer of righteousness.

RAW=Walkers can get spear of light, shield of blades, and hammer of righteousness, and anvil which makes them a scoring unit, however it says nothing about removing the rule from the main rulebook that specifically states walkers can not score. RAW=The walker is a scoring unit per GK codex, but it can not score because it is a walker (Main rulebook). If it doesn't specifically say in the army rulebook you can ignore the specific rule in the main rulebook that walkers with an AV can not score then you can't ignore the rule, implying that the rule can be ignored my making a unit a scoring unit is not good enough.

Orks can take walkers as a troops choice. The ork book specifically says they are troops and thus scoring units. The main book says they can not score because they are a walker. RAW=Being a troops choice makes them a scoring unit per the Ork codex, but they can not score because it is a walker (main rulebook). If it doesn't specifically say in the army rulebook you can ignore the specific rule in the main rulebook that walkers with an AV can not score then you can't ignore the rule, implying that the rule can be ignored my making a unit a scoring unit is not good enough.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/28 08:37:40


Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail, and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some are given a chance to climb, but refuse. They cling to the realm, or love, or the gods…illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is, but they’ll never know this. Not until it’s too late.


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Schaden - vehicles cannot score. However GK GM says they can. RAW they score.

Your analogy with the Deffdred is incorrect, as all it odes is make them Troops, it does NOT specifically state they "score"

The GKGM rule is more specific than the rulebook; rulebook states vehicles cannot score, GKGM GS states they can. GS wins.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




It's the Same as Dark Angel Land Speeders, they score because it specifically says they do. GK GM make them scoring.

Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose.  
   
Made in us
Assault Kommando





i am not sure if this has been posted yet but, upon the release of Codex: Grey Knights will Codex: Daemonhunters be legal?
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

No, it won't.
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Mordrak and Ghost Knights:
On page 40 it says:
Ghost Knights also always have the Stealth special rule due to their spectral nature.

But page 82 it doesn't list Stealth under their Special Rules.

Which is leading? Also, if the Ghost Knights did gain Stealth, would wounds allocated to Mordrak also benefit from the improved cover save?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They dont need to have Stealth in their special rules, as they have a special rule which grants it

See the BRB FAQ which already covers this - anyone with the Stealth USR in a unit means the whole unit benefits from it.

CodexH will be as "legal" as any other codex. In other words:

Friendly games: up to you and your opponent(s)
Tournaments: up to the TO
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




rad grenades subtract 1 from the toughness of the modelsassualted. If you were to assault marines with 4 different units with rad grenades, would they just die on the spot?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




Do Servo Skulls (pg 62) make Orbital Strike Relays (pg58) Scatter less? Orbital Strike Relays always scatter a full 2D6 inches, Servo Skulls make you roll one less dice for scatter.

Must Brother Captain Stern (pg41) be locked in combat to use his Zone of Banishment? You use it during your Assault Phase and it happens instead of your attacks. But as you can lose things you're never had (Furioso and Red Thirst) can he do it whenever, but if he is in Assault then he loses his attacks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/28 13:09:11


Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose.  
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Oh, and Re: Orbital Strike Relays: (pg 58)

Are these really not Barrage weapons? They state it multiple times in the fluff, and it's a strike coming from an orbitting spacecraft, and it even has a weapon profile called Barrage Bomb.So it would all make sense that it's a Barrage weapon...

...but no where in the rules does it actually state it is fired a Barrage weapon. Does this also mean you require Line of Sight and intervening terrain confers cover saves to the target and such?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/28 13:34:35


   
Made in us
Dominar






Psychotroke '4' result versus Stubborn, which one has precedence?

Is the 'reduces leadership to 2' descriptor a modifier, and thus trumped by Stubborn, or is it setting the leadership to a new value, in which case Stubborn is ignored?
   
Made in us
Stabbin' Skarboy






When models equipped with personal teleporters move into difficult terrain using the teleport shunt, do they have to make dangerous terrain checks?

Page 28

   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General






A garden grove on Citadel Station

nosferatu1001 wrote:Schaden - vehicles cannot score. However GK GM says they can. RAW they score.

Your analogy with the Deffdred is incorrect, as all it odes is make them Troops, it does NOT specifically state they "score"

The GKGM rule is more specific than the rulebook; rulebook states vehicles cannot score, GKGM GS states they can. GS wins.
I suggest you actually read the GK codex, it would help your arguments quite a bit.

The GK codex does not make them scoring, but rather scoring "as if they were troops". Troops vehicles cannot score. Vehicles that score as if they were troops cannot score.

ph34r's Forgeworld Phobos blog, current WIP: Iron Warriors and Skaven Tau
+From Iron Cometh Strength+ +From Strength Cometh Will+ +From Will Cometh Faith+ +From Faith Cometh Honor+ +From Honor Cometh Iron+
The Polito form is dead, insect. Are you afraid? What is it you fear? The end of your trivial existence?
When the history of my glory is written, your species shall only be a footnote to my magnificence.
 
   
Made in ru
Drew_Riggio




Russia

i think its pretty clear that GKGM allow GK dreads to "claim objectives" as there's none Troops selection walkers in codex, and only one Walker that exist are dreads. And its doesn't matter what written in BGB about that case.

are writer, not reader
FB DE 1-0-0 | 1-1-0 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: