Switch Theme:

JotWW - is this legal?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

You mean this question?

Space Wolves FAQ wrote:
Q. Does Jaws of the World Wolf allow the Rune Priest
to target specific models within squads? (p37)
A. Yes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/30 20:54:36


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

-666- wrote:You cant snipe with it.

Yes you can, see the above faq quote. The target ie "the first unit hit by jotww" cannot be in CC but the rest of the models hit can be. Any weapon that allows you to scatter, fire without picking a target etc can hit unit's in CC but they can also hit your own models. JOTWW doesn't affect space wolves though.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





-666- wrote:You cant snipe with it.

You cited the FAQ, and you're wrong about that... and you have nothing to back up your "Not legal" statement...

Or am I missing something?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch





It is a psychic shooting attack - to snipe the FAQ would have to state you could do it.

Do not fear 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Which it does, you are allowed to target specific models in the unit.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch





I disagree with you. If your opponents are silly enough to let you pull that kind of cr@p then I suppose they deserve it.

Shooting cannot target models in assault but no you can target models in assault... right.

Outta here.

Do not fear 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

There seems to be some confusion here. You are using the word "snipe" to mean "hit models in cc". I use the word "snipe" to mean "target a specific model".

You are right that you cannot target units in cc, but they can still be hit; either by a scattered blast, or a line "template" attack, such as JotWW or the Eldar Vibro Cannon. The difference between, JotWW and the Vibro Cannon, is that JotWW must hit a unit not locked in cc first (as this is the target unit).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




-666- wrote:You cant snipe with it.

What do you mean by "snipe"?
Normally, snipe means to take out specific models within squad. This is explicitly allowed to JoTWW.

To reiterate:
First model hit by JotWW is considered target of the power. All normal rules applying to choosing target for shooting apply.
This means:
1) First unit hit by JotWW cannot be in CC.
2) Any other units hit be JotWW can be in CC.


   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





-666- wrote:You cant snipe with it.


Actually you can snipe with it, just not models in close combat unless you are in position that the first model to be affected by the power is not in close combat. As the rule says, any other models are just hit as the line goes through which would incluse models in close combat.
   
Made in ie
Fresh-Faced New User




Actually you can snipe with it, just not models in close combat unless you are in position that the first model to be affected by the power is not in close combat. As the rule says, any other models are just hit as the line goes through which would incluse models in close combat.

I'm agreeing with this fully.

I was so addled by how Jaws worked I typed up a blog post about it. With pictures to try to make things clearer. I'm still chopping and changing things about it since I first posted it: I'm wondering if you can fire it at a vehicle squad to hit a character behind it for example. Linky here. To be honest, I'm probably going to wait for 6th to drop before I update it again though hopefully it helps.
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

@Stormy: of course you can target a vehicle for it to hit someone behind it. Just like you can shoot your plasma cannon at that Land Raider, not that it does anything but hey it might scatter to the guy standing behind it.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Not true, as the "target" for Jaws is the first unit it hits, and it does not hit vehicles.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

@Happyjew: I thought you can target a psychic shooting attack at any model that is not in CC unless there is a rule forbidding you to do so. Just like you can target your bolter at the Rhino.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Normally, yes, however, Jaws has a different mechanic, and the FAQ specifies that the target is the first unit that is hit.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

I have just re-read the wording of Jaws, it doesn't have a restriction on the unit it targets (you need line of sight, night fighting rule and all that) but not on the unit type. It has the restrictions on which units it affects. Perhaps I am missing something.

Can you not target a unit of which the power doesn't affect?

e.g. you can Fear of Darkness a Fearless unit, not that it does anything.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/05/31 21:44:35


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

From the FAQ:

The Rune Priest must have line of sight to the first model that the power affects – in effect he is treated as the target model.

(important part in bold)

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Mannahnin wrote:The SW FAQ defines that the first model crossed by the line is Jaws' target.


This is what I was talking about, of course it doesn't help that I think SW are far more broken than GK, but whatever.

And you can snipe with it, as it causes the models of which the line pass over to take the test. You can choose what models you want to try to kill.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

@Happyjew: I must be missing something really big. I agree with all the answer so far regarding targeting a model in CC can be done if the first target is a valid target.

Here is my logic: My rune priest put down the line template. My Rune priest is now targeting the Rhino (closest with respect to the template). Anything (non-vehicle, non-jump-infantry) in that template take an initiative test regardless of whether enemy or friendly, in CC or not in CC. Then my squad shoot all the assault weapons at the Rhino and then assault it afterward.

Is this illegal in some way?

A Rhino can shoot a storm bolter at another Rhino even if it doesn't do anything (otherwise, how can you even use searchlight).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/31 23:23:05


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





leohart wrote:@Happyjew: I must be missing something really big. I agree with all the answer so far regarding targeting a model in CC can be done if the first target is a valid target.

Here is my logic: My rune priest put down the line template. My Rune priest is now targeting the Rhino (closest with respect to the template). Anything (non-vehicle, non-jump-infantry) in that template take an initiative test regardless of whether enemy or friendly, in CC or not in CC. Then my squad shoot all the assault weapons at the Rhino and then assault it afterward.

Is this illegal in some way?

A Rhino can shoot a storm bolter at another Rhino even if it doesn't do anything (otherwise, how can you even use searchlight).

The FAQ shows that the first model affected is the target. The Rhino cannot be affected therefore cannot be the target.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Then how would you use searchlight from a Rhino?

The storm bolter on a Rhino cannot affect another Rhino from the front facing, so it cannot target. Cannot target, cannot searchlight.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Incorrect

Jaws has a *requirement* that the first model AFFECTED is the target. A rhino cannot be affected so CANNOT be the target

In GENERAL shooting has no restrictions on what you can target, regardless of your ability to hurt the target.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

The target is the first model affected, not the first model hit. If it can't be affected, it can't be the target.

Edit: Too slow, Ninja'd

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/06/01 00:01:19


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





leohart wrote:Then how would you use searchlight from a Rhino?

The storm bolter on a Rhino cannot affect another Rhino from the front facing, so it cannot target. Cannot target, cannot searchlight.

As was said, Jaws has a specific statement about how to determine a target.
A Rhino shooting just declares a target.

See the difference?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Getting back to the original question of the thread:

Can JotWW's 'line' be drawn over models locked in combat if the first model crossed by the line is not locked in combat?

The answer is absolutely not.

The rules explicitly prohibit shooting into close combat, not just targeting units in close combat (pg 40). This is why, for example, you are not allowed to place a flamer template over models in close combat even if the target enemy unit itself is not locked in combat.

So therefore when choosing where to draw the line for JotWW it is not allowed to cross over any models locked in combat.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/01 02:58:06


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




yakface wrote:
Getting back to the original question of the thread:
Can JotWW's 'line' be drawn over models locked in combat if the first model crossed by the line is not locked in combat?
The answer is absolutely not.

I disagree.
yakface wrote:
The rules explicitly prohibit shooting into close combat, not just targeting units in close combat (pg 40). This is why, for example, you are not allowed to place a flamer template over models in close combat even if the target enemy unit itself is not locked in combat.
So therefore when choosing where to draw the line for JotWW it is not allowed to cross over any models locked in combat.

Actually, rules don't prohibit shooting into close combat. They prohibit you from 1) targeting units in close combat and 2) placing template so that it covers models in close combat.
Major distinction.
Rules also prohibit targeting friendly units and placing templates so that they hit friendly models. But I haven't seen anyone argue that you couldn't place JotWW 'line' so that it hit friendlies.

But this doesn't matter, because JotWW is not a template. Restrictions for it are quite clear in FAQ and they only apply to the target model.
"The Rune Priest must have line of sight to the first model that the power affects – in effect he is treated as the target model; the power just happens to hit everybody else on its way through!"

So can JotWW's 'line' be drawn over models locked in combat if the first model crossed by the line is not locked in combat? Answer is yes.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

Guys, check out p.40 - Shooting Into and Out of Close Combat. It is a blanket statement about shooting into assault. No mention of targeting.

Yakface is right.



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

yakface wrote:
So therefore when choosing where to draw the line for JotWW it is not allowed to cross over any models locked in combat.


Citation needed.

I've read page 40 and it seems clear that you can't directly shoot cc. It reads very like fluff so going back to the section in the shooting phase, we are back to no targetting cc.

Now here is a question:

I have a flamer in my GH squad, there are two ranks of IG from 2 different squads within 2 inches of one another and only 4" from the flamer. The second squad are in cc. The GH shoot at the first squad and the flamer is placed, the template covers some of the 2nd squad and the unit they are in cc with. The wounds are rolled on all the units hit and wounds are resolved.
Is this allowed?

If the above is allowed why is jotww not cool doing the same.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






You may never, ever place a blast or template so that it covers any part of a model locked in close combat. Both template and blast rules explicitly mention this. If you can not place a template without hitting a unit in CC, that model may not fire its template weapon.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

AFAIK there are 4 "weapons" that use the line "template"

1) Eldar Vibro Cannon: FAQ'd to allow hitting models in cc.
2) Blood Lance (PSA): Specifically says it ignores models in cc.
3) JotWW (PSA): Does not specify one way or the other.
4) Necron Death Ray: Again does not specify one way or the other.

So my question, is can the Death Ray line be placed to hit models locked in cc as well?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






While the rule is pretty fluffy, it basically says that deliberately shooting into close combat is not permitted, no exceptions. You can accidentally shoot your models though. (BRB pg. 40).

The targeting rules prevent you from targeting any model in close combat (BRB pg. 16).

In addition:

Q. Does Veil of Tears work against weapons that do not
pick a specific target. For example, if a vibro cannon is
fired so that its line goes through a unit of Harlequins,
do you hit them even if they are out of your spotting
distance? (p48)
A. Yes, the Harlequins are not targeted specifically, so
the Veil of Tears has no effect.

-> Vibro cannons do not pick a target

Q. Does Jaws of the World Wolf allow the Rune Priest
to target specific models within squads? (p37)
A. Yes.

-> JotWW needs to pick a target

Sooo:
1) Yep. It also doesn't seem to target anything at all. Kills friend and foe alike.
2) Really the best defined one of them all, nothing to argue(anymore). Note that it doesn't kill allies either.
3) Considering that JotWW will also kill friendly models if hit, I'd say out of consistency, you can kill models in close combat, too. Targeting limitations disallow the first model being in combat (or friendly) though.
4) Just like the vibro cannon, you do not pick any targets, but points on the board, as well as hitting friend or foe. I see no reason to not simply apply all vibro cannon rules to the death ray, as they are both vehicle-base weapons with the only difference being the direction of the ray.

So the only one really up in the air are secondary hits by JotWW, as if GW like having loop holes for that particular PSA.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/01 10:34:01


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: