Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 21:34:52
Subject: Clarification Banshee Initiative in CC
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Its the difference between a models initiative and initiative step.
Banshees would be I10
But they would not attack until initiative step 1 if they had unwieldy weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 21:37:49
Subject: Re:Clarification Banshee Initiative in CC
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
It does say that attacks are made on an initiative step, based on the initiatve stat value though.
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 21:46:35
Subject: Clarification Banshee Initiative in CC
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, but Unwieldy makes them attack at step 1,
The Banshee mask makes them Initiative 10.
The rules don't conflict.
If the mask said 'models attack at initiative step 10 on the charge' then there would be an issue. But the Unwieldy rule doesn't care about a Models initiative, only the step at which they make their attacks.
The Banshees would still pile in at I10 in that first round, but if they were wielding an unwieldy weapon, their attacks would be made at I1
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 21:54:25
Subject: Clarification Banshee Initiative in CC
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Besides, Banshee Masks (4th ed codex) have been shafted since 5th came along... They work against the bonuses from being in cover but 5th no longer gave a bonus from being in cover, it inflicted a penalty on units charging through cover.
And as GW said in their very own 5th ed BRB FAQ, if a special rule or piece of wargear doesn't seem to work with the new edition they simply don't do anything. They'll probably say the same again and wait for you to buy a better army.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/15 08:30:27
Subject: Re:Clarification Banshee Initiative in CC
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Related note, Banshees are I10 in Sweeping Advance in the first round, if I'm recalling that correctly.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 21:58:58
Subject: Clarification Banshee Initiative in CC
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
SA tests on your unmodified initiative
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 00:39:16
Subject: Clarification Banshee Initiative in CC
|
 |
Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Banshee mask only gives I10 on the initial charge.... it would have no bearing on Sweeping advance.
|
Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!
Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."
:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)
"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
|
|
 |
 |
|