Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 13:19:34
Subject: Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Excited Doom Diver
|
oh yes, so it is. p.10
'In your turn, you can move any of your units -- all of them if you wish -- up to their maximum move distance.'
|
Follow these two simple rules to ensure a happy Dakka experience:
Rule 1 - to be a proper 40K player you must cry whenever a new edition of the game is released, and always call opposing armies broken when you don't win.
Rule 2 - Games Workshop are always wrong and have been heading for bankrupcy within 5 years since the early 90s. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 13:42:42
Subject: Re:Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
So be it.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 13:48:52
Subject: Re:Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
That pretty well chinches it for me, I think. Combat speed is 0-18" (or exactly 18" since you can't voluntarily move less than 18"  and cruising speed is >18"-36".
Something else to clear up here as several people seem to be under the wrong impression - getting velocity locked locks you to either combat speed or cruising speed, not whatever distance you moved in the previous round. That seems to mean always move 18.00001" so if you get velocity locked, you have the full cruising speed range.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 14:08:19
Subject: Re:Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
With no downside to moving further than 18", it would seem so.
Also, even with locked velocity you can still make the initial turn. So I fail to see how easy it would be for someone to block all possible 18" spots to make you crash (green tide orks?).
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 14:18:00
Subject: Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
Just move cruising speed and it will never be a problem
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 14:24:30
Subject: Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Blood and Slaughter wrote:oh yes, so it is. p.10
'In your turn, you can move any of your units -- all of them if you wish -- up to their maximum move distance.'
Thank you! I knew that was in there somewhere, it would have been much better had I found it myself last week when it was brought up but oh well.
|
Las Vegas Open Head Judge
I'm sorry if it hurts your feelings or pride, but your credentials matter. Even on the internet.
"If you do not have the knowledge, you do not have the right to the opinion." -Plato
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 14:25:01
Subject: Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Excited Doom Diver
|
Leth wrote:Just move cruising speed and it will never be a problem
Quite.
Which, (though please bear in mind that I completely agree that RAW the distances are Combat =18", Cruising >18" to36"  still makes me think that something is awry with what the rules say versus what the writers intended.
|
Follow these two simple rules to ensure a happy Dakka experience:
Rule 1 - to be a proper 40K player you must cry whenever a new edition of the game is released, and always call opposing armies broken when you don't win.
Rule 2 - Games Workshop are always wrong and have been heading for bankrupcy within 5 years since the early 90s. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 14:35:05
Subject: Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
Well said, but we all know RAW != RAI, don't we
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 14:44:02
Subject: Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
EDIT : I was Ninja'd!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/24 15:00:44
2500 pts
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 14:52:10
Subject: Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Excited Doom Diver
|
I think that this (as kindly broughtb to my attention by nos) clinches that RAW is that both have a range:
p.10
'In your turn, you can move any of your units -- all of them if you wish -- up to their maximum move distance.'
The odd thing being that as Cruising is effectively the min.18" to the max 36", that makes 'fixed velocity' as it is currently written, somewhat pointless.
|
Follow these two simple rules to ensure a happy Dakka experience:
Rule 1 - to be a proper 40K player you must cry whenever a new edition of the game is released, and always call opposing armies broken when you don't win.
Rule 2 - Games Workshop are always wrong and have been heading for bankrupcy within 5 years since the early 90s. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 14:59:56
Subject: Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
Blood and Slaughter wrote:Kevin949 wrote:Luide wrote:A word of warning: Some of the summaries contradict actual rules. For example, for exploding vehicles summary states that "passengers must disembark 3 inches" whereas actual rules text is quite different.
?? No, it says they disembark but are limited to a 3" move, same as wrecked but with the addition of the hits taken.
While I agree that the summary and the rule are worded differently, it does still operate the same and as it should.
In fairness the rule says 'Surviving passengers are placed where the vehicle used to be', which is quite different to the summary's 'must disembark but are limited to a 3" move'
I see no special reason to give precedence to the narrative rules over the summary but in both cases (flyer Zooming moves and transport Explodes results), only one -- or neither -- can be correct.
This is especially true because of the use of the word "disembark". In the summary, when a vehicle explodes the passengers have to disembark. But in the rules section it doesn't say that. You might think that this doesn't matter (I did), but some people are arguing in a different thread that you can still assault from an exploded vehicle on your next assault phase, but not from a wrecked one because you have to "disembark" from a wrecked vehicle but not from an exploded one.
In a forum dedicated to rules as written and filled by rules lawyers, precise wording matters.
|
2500 pts
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 15:29:57
Subject: Zooming Flyers can only move 18" or 36"? YMDC!
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Grugknuckle wrote:Blood and Slaughter wrote:Kevin949 wrote:Luide wrote:A word of warning: Some of the summaries contradict actual rules. For example, for exploding vehicles summary states that "passengers must disembark 3 inches" whereas actual rules text is quite different.
?? No, it says they disembark but are limited to a 3" move, same as wrecked but with the addition of the hits taken.
While I agree that the summary and the rule are worded differently, it does still operate the same and as it should.
In fairness the rule says 'Surviving passengers are placed where the vehicle used to be', which is quite different to the summary's 'must disembark but are limited to a 3" move'
I see no special reason to give precedence to the narrative rules over the summary but in both cases (flyer Zooming moves and transport Explodes results), only one -- or neither -- can be correct.
This is especially true because of the use of the word "disembark". In the summary, when a vehicle explodes the passengers have to disembark. But in the rules section it doesn't say that. You might think that this doesn't matter (I did), but some people are arguing in a different thread that you can still assault from an exploded vehicle on your next assault phase, but not from a wrecked one because you have to "disembark" from a wrecked vehicle but not from an exploded one.
In a forum dedicated to rules as written and filled by rules lawyers, precise wording matters.
Doesn't assaulting from a vehicle you disembarked from only matter on "your" turn? And since most vehicles are wrecked or destroyed in your opponents turn, it wouldn't matter. I suppose the only time it would matter is a flat out skimmer getting immobilized but even then you wouldn't be able to assault (if the cargo survives) since the vehicle moved flat out. Uh, anyway, off topic. Sorry.
|
|
 |
 |
|