Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/06 16:56:14
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Northridge, CA
|
Karhedron wrote:Malifice wrote:For chaos players, simply deepstrike a Psyker with Warptime with your [assault] unit.
Use Warptime to move them [M] distance in the Psychic phase.
Then assault. You cant not get in (barring a very very gakky roll).
Is that legal? The rules in the main rulebook imply that models who have arrived via Deep Strike cannot move again in that turn.
Main rules:
"Many units have the ability to be set up on the battlefield mid-turn, sometimes by using teleporters, grav chutes or other, more esoteric means. Typically, this happens at the end of the Movement phase, but it can also happen during other phases. Units that are set up in this manner cannot move or Advance further during the turn they arrive – their entire Movement phase is used in deploying to the battlefield – but they can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.) for the rest of their turn."
"Warptime has a warp charge value of 6. If manifested, pick a friendly HERETIC ASTARTES unit within 3" of the psyker. That unit can immediately move as if it were its Movement phase."
That's a good point, I just shot a message to Frontline Gaming to see what they say. They are as close to the rules as anyone, they'll know if this is legal or not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/06 17:07:21
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
andysonic1 wrote: Karhedron wrote:Malifice wrote:For chaos players, simply deepstrike a Psyker with Warptime with your [assault] unit.
Use Warptime to move them [M] distance in the Psychic phase.
Then assault. You cant not get in (barring a very very gakky roll).
Is that legal? The rules in the main rulebook imply that models who have arrived via Deep Strike cannot move again in that turn.
Main rules:
"Many units have the ability to be set up on the battlefield mid-turn, sometimes by using teleporters, grav chutes or other, more esoteric means. Typically, this happens at the end of the Movement phase, but it can also happen during other phases. Units that are set up in this manner cannot move or Advance further during the turn they arrive – their entire Movement phase is used in deploying to the battlefield – but they can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.) for the rest of their turn."
"Warptime has a warp charge value of 6. If manifested, pick a friendly HERETIC ASTARTES unit within 3" of the psyker. That unit can immediately move as if it were its Movement phase."
That's a good point, I just shot a message to Frontline Gaming to see what they say. They are as close to the rules as anyone, they'll know if this is legal or not.
You know while its not exactly deep striking, psyker sling shot could be pretty fantastic with a huge unit of bikes.
measure out where they would get near. deep strike a terminator sorcerer and use the gravitational pull of his ass to move them a further large amount for a near guaranteed first turn charge with a heafty unit.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/06 17:11:42
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Can you re roll both dice with command points for a charge after a deepstrike? I thought you could only re-roll 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/06 17:15:01
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Crusaderobr wrote:Can you re roll both dice with command points for a charge after a deepstrike? I thought you could only re-roll 1. Id have to double check but i thought it said you may reroll a single dice not a d6 there would be an argument if it was D6 as a d6 isnt 2d6
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/06 17:15:20
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/06 17:20:24
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Desubot wrote: Crusaderobr wrote:Can you re roll both dice with command points for a charge after a deepstrike? I thought you could only re-roll 1.
Id have to double check but i thought it said you may reroll a single dice not a d6
there would be an argument if it was D6 as a d6 isnt 2d6
So your saying we cant re-roll any of 2d6 because it isnt counted as a single dice? Now I am confused.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/06 17:22:10
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Crusaderobr wrote:Can you re roll both dice with command points for a charge after a deepstrike? I thought you could only re-roll 1.
You can only reroll a single die by using a CP, and you can only use the reroll stratagem once per phase.
Orks are different. They have free rerolls of failed charges, either one die or both of them. Regards.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/06 17:24:53
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Crusaderobr wrote: Desubot wrote: Crusaderobr wrote:Can you re roll both dice with command points for a charge after a deepstrike? I thought you could only re-roll 1.
Id have to double check but i thought it said you may reroll a single dice not a d6
there would be an argument if it was D6 as a d6 isnt 2d6
So your saying we cant re-roll any of 2d6 because it isnt counted as a single dice? Now I am confused.
Im saying you are a go head to reroll one of the dice from your 2d6 charge roll because thats how its written
IF it was written as you may reroll one D6 then people could aruge you couldnt because a d6 isnt a 2 d6
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/06 19:16:51
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Desubot wrote: Crusaderobr wrote: Desubot wrote: Crusaderobr wrote:Can you re roll both dice with command points for a charge after a deepstrike? I thought you could only re-roll 1.
Id have to double check but i thought it said you may reroll a single dice not a d6
there would be an argument if it was D6 as a d6 isnt 2d6
So your saying we cant re-roll any of 2d6 because it isnt counted as a single dice? Now I am confused.
Im saying you are a go head to reroll one of the dice from your 2d6 charge roll because thats how its written
IF it was written as you may reroll one D6 then people could aruge you couldnt because a d6 isnt a 2 d6
Gotcha.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/06 21:04:36
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
andysonic1 wrote: Karhedron wrote:Malifice wrote:For chaos players, simply deepstrike a Psyker with Warptime with your [assault] unit.
Use Warptime to move them [M] distance in the Psychic phase.
Then assault. You cant not get in (barring a very very gakky roll).
Is that legal? The rules in the main rulebook imply that models who have arrived via Deep Strike cannot move again in that turn.
Main rules:
"Many units have the ability to be set up on the battlefield mid-turn, sometimes by using teleporters, grav chutes or other, more esoteric means. Typically, this happens at the end of the Movement phase, but it can also happen during other phases. Units that are set up in this manner cannot move or Advance further during the turn they arrive – their entire Movement phase is used in deploying to the battlefield – but they can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.) for the rest of their turn."
"Warptime has a warp charge value of 6. If manifested, pick a friendly HERETIC ASTARTES unit within 3" of the psyker. That unit can immediately move as if it were its Movement phase."
That's a good point, I just shot a message to Frontline Gaming to see what they say. They are as close to the rules as anyone, they'll know if this is legal or not.
just an observation but if its the movement phase andyouve already moved you can't move so by this interpretation warp time never works on units that moved in the move phase
|
011000100111010101110100001000000110100 100100000011101000110010101101100011011 000010000001111001011011110111010100100 000011101110110010100100000011101110110 010101110010011001010010000001100111011 011110110010001110011001000000110111101 101110011000110110010100100000011000010 110111001100100001000000111011101100101 001000000111001101101000011000010110110 001101100001000000110001001100101001000 000110011101101111011001000111001100100 000011000010110011101100001011010010110 1110 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/06 21:21:30
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch
Spain
|
That's a good point, I just shot a message to Frontline Gaming to see what they say. They are as close to the rules as anyone, they'll know if this is legal or not.
I'm pretty sure they mentioned this as a viable option on one of their latest Tactic Podcast but I'm really curious about Warptime, let us know when they answer.
Assuming this is legal, the main problem is how to get your Chaos Sorcerer to the right place in Turn 1, since he has to be 3" or less to the selected unit to use Warptime. A Sorcerer in Terminator Armor is pricy and after deep striking he would get stuck on that corner for the rest of the game with his 5" movement. I am personally converting a Tzeentch Sorcerer on bike to gain movility and access the important zones of the table but depending on the mission and deployment type it could not always be possible in Turn 1. This may also work with Jump pack but, you know, bikes!
One of the things mentioned on the Tactic Podcast is versatility and not relying on one single tactic for all your games. Deep striking on Turn 2 can be a good idea: you give your opponent something to be scared of in his movement phase and you can take advantage of the situation instead of letting your termies isolated in your enemy's depolyment zone, even if they are locked in combat.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/06 21:22:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/11 04:23:23
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So what things are there other than psychic powers or command points that have either reroll or +charge distance?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/11 15:45:01
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Lemartes
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/11 17:12:06
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
Can someone tell me if a generic "reroll charge distance" aura such as the one Lemartes emits allows you choose one of the charge dice to reroll? Or do you have to reroll both dice? I'm asking because the reroll rule in the core rulebook doesn't define it clearly.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/11 17:20:34
Subject: charging from "deepstrike" viable?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Northridge, CA
|
gendoikari87 wrote: andysonic1 wrote: Karhedron wrote:Malifice wrote:For chaos players, simply deepstrike a Psyker with Warptime with your [assault] unit.
Use Warptime to move them [M] distance in the Psychic phase.
Then assault. You cant not get in (barring a very very gakky roll).
Is that legal? The rules in the main rulebook imply that models who have arrived via Deep Strike cannot move again in that turn.
Main rules:
"Many units have the ability to be set up on the battlefield mid-turn, sometimes by using teleporters, grav chutes or other, more esoteric means. Typically, this happens at the end of the Movement phase, but it can also happen during other phases. Units that are set up in this manner cannot move or Advance further during the turn they arrive – their entire Movement phase is used in deploying to the battlefield – but they can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.) for the rest of their turn."
"Warptime has a warp charge value of 6. If manifested, pick a friendly HERETIC ASTARTES unit within 3" of the psyker. That unit can immediately move as if it were its Movement phase."
That's a good point, I just shot a message to Frontline Gaming to see what they say. They are as close to the rules as anyone, they'll know if this is legal or not.
just an observation but if its the movement phase andyouve already moved you can't move so by this interpretation warp time never works on units that moved in the move phase
Forgot to check back into this thread. Using Warptime after Deep Strike is perfectly legal. I used to to great effect with my Berzerkers coming out of a Kharybdis Assault Claw and slamming into the enemy. It was awesome. Automatically Appended Next Post: sossen wrote:Can someone tell me if a generic "reroll charge distance" aura such as the one Lemartes emits allows you choose one of the charge dice to reroll? Or do you have to reroll both dice? I'm asking because the reroll rule in the core rulebook doesn't define it clearly.
What does the rule itself for the aura specifically say?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/11 17:21:02
|
|
 |
 |
|