Switch Theme:

Can the blood angels vindicator move and shoot?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Imperial Recruit in Training




Can the Blood angels vindicator move and shot it's demolisher cannon in the same turn even though it's ordinance?

Orks 5,000
Dark eldar 1,500
Catachan jungle fighters 2,000
 
   
Made in au
Lady of the Lake






Ordinance Barrage is the one that can't move and shoot. Vindicators can move and shoot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/17 10:50:04


   
Made in au
Stormin' Stompa






YO DAKKA DAKKA!

To clarify, ALL Vindicators can move 6" and shoot.

Being Fast vehicles, BA Vindicators can move 12" and shoot.

I say, n0t_u, that monocle looks rather dashing.
   
Made in gb
Imperial Recruit in Training




That changes things we have been playing it wrong thanks.
Just to clarify they are all large blast yea?

Orks 5,000
Dark eldar 1,500
Catachan jungle fighters 2,000
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Duzra wrote:Can the Blood angels vindicator move and shot it's demolisher cannon in the same turn even though it's ordinance?


You're thinking of 3rd ed. Ever since 4th you can move and fire Ordnance (with increased scatter in 4th only)

If you are Ordnance Barrage, and want to fire AS Barrage, you cannot have moved (but if you move you can stil lfire "directly", unless prohibited explicitly from ever doing so)
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





Southern Ohio, USA

Duzra wrote:Just to clarify they are all large blast yea?


Ordnance BLAST (thanks nos) means the large blast template. The only reason it wouldn't is if a weapon specified otherwise.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/17 12:37:00


MeanGreenStompa wrote:The idea of Land Raider rarity is a lie, there are millions of them, they reproduce like tribbles. Ask the Blood Angels, they have so many they even throw them out of thunderhawks moving at high speed to try and reduce the numbers.


DR:80+SGM-B+I--Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD350R++T(M)DM+

My Army
Orks 2500+ pts 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Zatchmo - sadly but you are incorrect. It is a common mistake.

Ordnance BLAST weapons all use the Large Blast. "Ordnance" with NO blast specified means it does not use ANY blast marker at all, but still follows the Ordnance rules for penetration. This means the Hellstrike missiles on the Valkyrie, which are Ordnance, do not use blast markers at all (to give you an example of non-blast ordnance weapons)

Now they errata'd it to include "Blast" next to the profile, so it IS large blast, however RAW simply being called "Ordnance" does NOT mean you use *any* blast marker, never mind the large one!
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Now they errata'd it to include "Blast" next to the profile, so it IS large blast, however RAW simply being called "Ordnance" does NOT mean you use *any* blast marker, never mind the large one!


Huh?

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

He means that Ordnance only uses a Blast Marker if it says it does... but if it does say that it's an Ordnance Blast weapon, it uses the big one.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




All "Ordnance" denotes, by itself, is that you roll 2D6 for pen and pick the highest - nothing else.

Ordnance next to Blast means you use the large blast.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





Southern Ohio, USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:Zatchmo - sadly but you are incorrect. It is a common mistake.

Ordnance BLAST weapons all use the Large Blast. "Ordnance" with NO blast specified means it does not use ANY blast marker at all, but still follows the Ordnance rules for penetration. This means the Hellstrike missiles on the Valkyrie, which are Ordnance, do not use blast markers at all (to give you an example of non-blast ordnance weapons)

Now they errata'd it to include "Blast" next to the profile, so it IS large blast, however RAW simply being called "Ordnance" does NOT mean you use *any* blast marker, never mind the large one!


Derp!

That's what I get for posting at 5 in the morning, thank you for the correction!

MeanGreenStompa wrote:The idea of Land Raider rarity is a lie, there are millions of them, they reproduce like tribbles. Ask the Blood Angels, they have so many they even throw them out of thunderhawks moving at high speed to try and reduce the numbers.


DR:80+SGM-B+I--Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD350R++T(M)DM+

My Army
Orks 2500+ pts 
   
Made in gb
Imperial Recruit in Training




Cheers guy this has helped me loads

Orks 5,000
Dark eldar 1,500
Catachan jungle fighters 2,000
 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





insaniak wrote:He means that Ordnance only uses a Blast Marker if it says it does... but if it does say that it's an Ordnance Blast weapon, it uses the big one.


I don't disagree with any of that. I was (unclearly) referring the reference to the FAQ.

I am well aware that only Ordnance Barrage uses the large blast marker as default. And that Ordnance Blast indicates the use of the large blast marker.

It seems to me that he implied that a Errata in the IG FAQ allowed the Hellstrikes to use the large marker. I am sure it is a case of mistaken identities with the HellFURY missiles, but just checking.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




AH no - i was referring to the BA FAQ, where they *add* the blast characteristic to the vindicator.
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Okeydokey.

I was waylaid by the reference to Hellstrike missiles in the paragraph above it.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I was just giving an example, to prove a point, of a weapon that was ordnance without being blast
   
Made in us
[DCM]
.







Well handled in here - hugs all around!
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:Zatchmo - sadly but you are incorrect. It is a common mistake.

Ordnance BLAST weapons all use the Large Blast. "Ordnance" with NO blast specified means it does not use ANY blast marker at all, but still follows the Ordnance rules for penetration. This means the Hellstrike missiles on the Valkyrie, which are Ordnance, do not use blast markers at all (to give you an example of non-blast ordnance weapons)

Now they errata'd it to include "Blast" next to the profile, so it IS large blast, however RAW simply being called "Ordnance" does NOT mean you use *any* blast marker, never mind the large one!


You mean RAM (rules as Misprinted) not RAW =)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




RAM? No, RAW, "Ordnance" does NOT make you "blast" "anything", it simply allows you a higher chance to armour penetrate. The Hellstrikes are not a misprint at all.

Now the fact that they forgot to add "blast" to the vindicator simply means that it doesnt use a blast at all. And actually gives space marines one of their best anti vehicle weapons....adding blast makes this considerably worse!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/18 10:21:21


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:RAM? No, RAW, "Ordnance" does NOT make you "blast" "anything", it simply allows you a higher chance to armour penetrate. The Hellstrikes are not a misprint at all.

Now the fact that they forgot to add "blast" to the vindicator simply means that it doesnt use a blast at all. And actually gives space marines one of their best anti vehicle weapons....adding blast makes this considerably worse!



Clearly the RAM (rules as Misprinted) i was referring to was the Errata, since he clearly stated Errata for the BA vindicator.

and those things are crap anyway, they always get locked up cause it is such a powerful weapon.

I never use my vindicator, i have made it a Rhino/Razorback/Predator.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






nosferatu1001 wrote:
If you are Ordnance Barrage, and want to fire AS Barrage, you cannot have moved (but if you move you can stil lfire "directly", unless prohibited explicitly from ever doing so)


Actually you can if your vehicle type is Fast, which incidentally a BA Whirlwind is. See page 70 under "Fast vehicles firing"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/23 10:40:38



Games Workshop Delenda Est.

Users on ignore- 53.

If you break apart my or anyone else's posts line by line I will not read them. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: