Switch Theme:

Scrub question on transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





If a vehicle is popped by a squads shooting, can that squad assault the troops inside it? Having a disagreement on this with a friend.
   
Made in us
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge







Yes. If a squad shoots a transport and destroys it, they can assault the occupants providing they did not fire heavy weapons/rapid fire or anything else that would normally prevent an assault.

Jidmah wrote:That's why I keep my enemies close and my AOBR rulebook closer.


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Sweet, thought so, thanks
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




And to make sure you don't need to disagree again: it's on page 67 of the main rules, a separate text block under the "Explodes" damage result beginning with "Note:".
   
Made in au
Stormin' Stompa






YO DAKKA DAKKA!

Bear in mind that the unit that wants to assault must be the one that destroys it. If they fail to destroy the vehicle with their shooting, it doesn't matter if another unit destroys the vehicle later in the shooting phase. They can only assault the embarked unit if they personally destroyed the vehicle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/27 08:17:49


 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Spetulhu wrote:And to make sure you don't need to disagree again: it's on page 67 of the main rules, a separate text block under the "Explodes" damage result beginning with "Note:".


Hmm.. reading the note on P67 you are missing out the last portion of the line which reads

"..., if it is allowed to assault according to the assault rules."

and then on P33 the assault rules specifically state that a unit "can only assault the unit that it shot it." Which takes primacy?

I'm sensing new fun for my melta toting Rough Riders

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Flinty wrote:
Spetulhu wrote:And to make sure you don't need to disagree again: it's on page 67 of the main rules, a separate text block under the "Explodes" damage result beginning with "Note:".


Hmm.. reading the note on P67 you are missing out the last portion of the line which reads

"..., if it is allowed to assault according to the assault rules."

and then on P33 the assault rules specifically state that a unit "can only assault the unit that it shot it." Which takes primacy?

I'm sensing new fun for my melta toting Rough Riders
Neither takes precedence. The rule on page 67 is granting an exception to the normal rules.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The first line changes the rules on who you can assault. The last line is there to remind you you cannot assault if you fire rapid fire, heavy etc.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: