Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 17:43:50
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
Hey all. Im struggling with understanding something in regards to troop transports and holding objectives.
If for example, a Devilfish or Chimera are under the troops section in the codex, are they troops and so can they in fact hold objectives?
Been playing for a few years and never really figured this out.
Please help, and please dont judge me.
|
Lost my old page, so check out Ricekake87 for all my old stuff
1500 and growing 2000+pts 3000+pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 17:46:28
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If the Transport is being taken as a Dedicated Transport for a troop selection then the Transport counts as a troop.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 17:48:26
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Consigned to the Grim Darkness
|
Ahem.
Notice something funny about this screenshot of the forum just now?
Anyway, IIRC as long as there's a troops choice in it it counts as scoring.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2010/11/12 17:50:52
The people in the past who convinced themselves to do unspeakable things were no less human than you or I. They made their decisions; the only thing that prevents history from repeating itself is making different ones.
-- Adam Serwer
My blog |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 17:49:30
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
And so it can hold objectives? I guess this is what I get for skim reading the new rules...
|
Lost my old page, so check out Ricekake87 for all my old stuff
1500 and growing 2000+pts 3000+pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 17:50:38
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
No transport vehicle will count as a troop. A transport vehicle with troops in it will...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 17:50:46
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
General vehicles are never scoring. That said, if the vehicle has a unit embarked, that can be within range of an objective.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/12 17:51:20
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 17:52:10
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
This is probably more appropriately worded as "Troops inside a transport can still claim objectives", which I believe is used in the book. The transport isn't claiming the objectives, the troops inside are. Granted, since you measure from the transport's hull, it kind of blurs the issue, but you get my meaning
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 17:59:04
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Generally speaking the transport itself is not a scoring unit, only the troops that 'bought it.' A scoring unit, embarked in a vehicle, can still hold an objective. It determines distance by measuring to the hull of the vehicle.
The vehicle is never scoring itself.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 18:08:24
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
oooooohh. I get it know. Thanks.
|
Lost my old page, so check out Ricekake87 for all my old stuff
1500 and growing 2000+pts 3000+pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 18:34:57
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Vehicles, with one exception, are NOT scoring units - even if they are a Troops choice.
When you have a unit embarked within the transport they may still claim the objective, and you measure ranges to the vehicles hull.
The single exception, for now, is a Landspeeder in the Dark Angels codex that has been bought for a Ravenwing Attack Squadron. This is because they are specifically noted as being scoring.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 19:43:20
Subject: Re:Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
if you read the section on scoring units vehicles are listed as something that can not score.
so unless you have a specific special rule to over ride this in the rule book vehicles will never score.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/12 20:05:32
Subject: Rule question about troop transports
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Page 90 of the rulebook, 'Scoring Units' third paragraph and the bullet points below it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|