Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 01:39:11
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Haven't seen a thread on this yet, so I'll post it up
GW has put up the new 40k FAQ. Looks like FAQs are official rulings now rather than just house rules.
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1490286a_FAQ_40Krulebook_version1_1.pdf
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 01:43:04
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Consigned to the Grim Darkness
|
Woah. That was unexpected.
|
The people in the past who convinced themselves to do unspeakable things were no less human than you or I. They made their decisions; the only thing that prevents history from repeating itself is making different ones.
-- Adam Serwer
My blog |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 01:43:44
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Nungunz wrote:Looks like FAQs are official rulings now rather than just house rules.
Wrong page for that.
http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?catId=cat440134a&categoryId=1000018§ion=&aId=3400019
Still Studio House Rules, if that matters to you.
Time to read!
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 01:46:45
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Consigned to the Grim Darkness
|
Q: Who gets a cover save when two units are
intermingled? (p21)
A: The unit with the model closest to the enemy that is
firing does not have a cover save.
AWESOME!
|
The people in the past who convinced themselves to do unspeakable things were no less human than you or I. They made their decisions; the only thing that prevents history from repeating itself is making different ones.
-- Adam Serwer
My blog |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 01:47:57
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, noticed that myself. FAQ itself says that those are official rulings, though. Hopefully they'll update the main page soon so we can avoid confusion. Automatically Appended Next Post: Q: Can any embarked troops shoot out of a vehicle on the
turn it has used its smoke launchers? (p66)
A: No
Q: If a model fires a template weapon out of a vehicle, will
the vehicle be hit if it is underneath the template? (p66)
A: No it will not be hit.
Huzzah!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/18 01:51:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 01:58:01
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Are most of these rules to aid people lacking sportsmanship/common sense?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 02:08:55
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Consigned to the Grim Darkness
|
Yes.
|
The people in the past who convinced themselves to do unspeakable things were no less human than you or I. They made their decisions; the only thing that prevents history from repeating itself is making different ones.
-- Adam Serwer
My blog |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 02:19:40
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Nungunz wrote:
Yeah, noticed that myself. FAQ itself says that those are official rulings, though. Hopefully they'll update the main page soon so we can avoid confusion.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Q: Can any embarked troops shoot out of a vehicle on the
turn it has used its smoke launchers? (p66)
A: No
Q: If a model fires a template weapon out of a vehicle, will
the vehicle be hit if it is underneath the template? (p66)
A: No it will not be hit.
Huzzah!
The FAQ states no such thing. I already posted my response here..
http://www.lounge.belloflostsouls.net/showthread.php?t=11580
So I won't cut and paste the same thing over and over. FAQs are still house rules, and always will be.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/18 02:20:16
Ayn Rand "We can evade reality, but we cannot evade the consequences of evading reality" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 02:28:57
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
House rules maybe, but they come from GW so that gives them a lot of weight 'on the street' so to speak.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 02:31:24
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Because it's always a better use of one's time to get into an argument with a new player over whether the FAQ's are official, and why you don't want to use them in the game...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/18 02:31:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 02:48:48
Subject: Re:New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm actually impressed with this one. It's like they admitted to real problems in the game and wanted to set things straight for ludicrous loopholes and rules lawyering abuse of common sense. Dare I hope this is a trend that continues into the future? I may just.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 02:56:43
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
well it's good enough for me, back to flamer vets in chimeras ... lol
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 02:59:18
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
SumYungGui wrote:House rules maybe, but they come from GW so that gives them a lot of weight 'on the street' so to speak.
I agree. GW house rules do hold a lot of wieght, I am not disputing this at all.
solkan wrote:Because it's always a better use of one's time to get into an argument with a new player over whether the FAQ's are official, and why you don't want to use them in the game...
No, it is better to use one's time to educate a new player in what the difference between an Errata and a house rule is.
|
Ayn Rand "We can evade reality, but we cannot evade the consequences of evading reality" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 03:09:55
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
This is so epic.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 05:39:25
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Wow, first horrorfex goes bye-bye, now the FAQ decides on the side of "multiple pinning weapons, one test"
It truly is dead
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 06:14:07
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Powerful Pegasus Knight
|
Holy...just watching at the amount of questions answered.
Yeah, they wanted to change SOMETHING.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 08:16:13
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.
Oh ouch. Poor monolith and baneblade.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 08:22:42
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I thought monliths were exactly 6" wide?
And aren't baneblades Apoc?
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 09:19:16
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Imperial Guard Landspeeder Pilot
On moon miranda.
|
ChrisCP wrote:I thought monliths were exactly 6" wide?
And aren't baneblades Apoc?
Just because it's for an expansion doesn't meant the core rules still don't apply. Likewise I think it also means Land Raiders can't come on 6" to fire unless they want to do so sideways.
|
IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT.
New Heavy Gear Log! Also...Grey Knights!
The correct pronunciation is Imperial Guard and Stormtroopers, "Astra Militarum" and "Tempestus Scions" are something you'll find at Hogwarts. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 10:22:41
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Vaktathi wrote:ChrisCP wrote:I thought monliths were exactly 6" wide?
And aren't baneblades Apoc?
Just because it's for an expansion doesn't meant the core rules still don't apply. Likewise I think it also means Land Raiders can't come on 6" to fire unless they want to do so sideways.
It's Apoc... people adjust is what I'm saying, one can't except everything in an expansion to be compatible with the cores rules (but honestly I'd only expect that sort of thing from GW  )
I don't see an issue with that, think about "I'm going to not quite come onto the board so I can fire all my weapons and present my front armour, you (not you, you, if you know what I mean) really let people voluntarily not come onto the board so they could pull that gak?
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 11:13:54
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in the same turn as it
moved flat out what happens to any embarked models? (p70)
A: They are removed as casualties.
Did this just kill any hopes for a Trukk list?
|
FaarisShazad wrote:The guy with the spiky dildo for a picture had a good point.
Ork Management Program
I take care of problems that need to be solved with violence |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 11:37:58
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Remember same turn = same PLAYER turn.
So if you wreck your OWN vehicle in YOUR OWN turn you die. This basically means that ramming with embarked troops couldbe a bad idea...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 11:40:30
Subject: Re:New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
Wouldn't Ramshackle overrule the general rules anyway, as it is more specific?
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 11:54:40
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Thank nos! I misread that and was starting to panic. No trukk list and landspeeders and crew being destroyed on a 3+ (penetrate) or 5+ (glancing) was sounding a bit awful
|
FaarisShazad wrote:The guy with the spiky dildo for a picture had a good point.
Ork Management Program
I take care of problems that need to be solved with violence |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 12:15:53
Subject: Re:New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
AlmightyWalrus wrote:Wouldn't Ramshackle overrule the general rules anyway, as it is more specific?
It only replaces the normal table, the effects of the results are not mitigated in any way by it being 'special'.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 12:19:45
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Consigned to the Grim Darkness
|
solkan wrote:Because it's always a better use of one's time to get into an argument with a new player over whether the FAQ's are official, and why you don't want to use them in the game...
I tend to ignore people who cry that the FAQs are unofficial, myself.
It's not an argument worth getting into, they'll constantly scream unofficial no matter what.
In my experience they also tend to be the people most likely to rules lawyer anyway.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/18 12:21:54
The people in the past who convinced themselves to do unspeakable things were no less human than you or I. They made their decisions; the only thing that prevents history from repeating itself is making different ones.
-- Adam Serwer
My blog |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 12:25:32
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
AW - no, as both tables tell you to disembark. (well, explodes you DONT disembark, but we'lll leave that for now...) Meaning you still die.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 12:25:46
Subject: Re:New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
As to this specific FAQ there is errata and addenda in it as well so how do you parse that? Even though they themselves say that these are house rules it shows RAI if nothing else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 12:54:20
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
ChrisCP wrote:I thought monliths were exactly 6" wide?
And aren't baneblades Apoc?
Don't forget spearhead...1 tactic to avoid the automatic wound from starting the superheavy at turn 1 was to reserve it...I guess you can't do that now and thus risk the damage roll on the superheavy vehicle damage chart...
|
40K 5th ed W/L/D
65/4/6, 10/2/1, 10/3/0, 2/0/1, 0/1/1
40K 6th ed W/L/D
1/0/0
WHFB 8th ed WHFB
Empire: 12/3/2, Lizardmen: 16/3/2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 13:07:41
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
I must say im impressed that GW has come up with the goods here.
The next question is - are some revised Army FAQ's now on the way?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|