Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 15:40:48
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, that is one way to get rerolls.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 15:42:08
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
So he would reroll just wounds correct not to hit?
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 15:50:25
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Reroll scatter and 1s to wound.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 16:30:07
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
I thought preferred only worked if you rolled a one? The scatter dice doesn't have a one on it? So I'd just be rerolling wounds of 1 correct?
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 16:34:38
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hollismason wrote:I thought preferred only worked if you rolled a one? The scatter dice doesn't have a one on it? So I'd just be rerolling wounds of 1 correct?
Read the rules for Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls to Hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 16:35:42
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Yeah but i only get to reroll ones. So why would I want to reroll 1s on my scatter dice for distance?
Also read this on BOLS, what the hell where is this stated?
Wyrdvane Psykers
The new Combat Psyker Squad with a name to match their shiny new rules. They're fairly much the same as before except oh-so-much-better. Thanks to the writer(s) of this codex, you can now take a different psykic power from Biomancy, Divination, Pyromancy, and Telekinesis one for each individual psyker in the unit.
That plethora alone makes them powerful. If you have players that love to use as much psykic power as possible, then expect to see these on the battlefield much more often.
Um I do not see how that possibly can be true and have not seen it mentioned anywhere?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/24 17:14:38
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 18:03:41
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Hollismason wrote:Yeah but i only get to reroll ones. So why would I want to reroll 1s on my scatter dice for distance?
Also read this on BOLS, what the hell where is this stated?
Under Blasts in the special rules section of the brb, sub heading Blasts and rerolls.
You have the ability(Albeit an ability with a condition) to re-roll. A SM Tactical squad that fires a Plasma Cannon during a turn in which Tactical Doctrines is used is the exact same situation(model in question only re-rolls failed to hits)
An Ability with a condition is fine.
Conditional Abilities(You are only granted the ability to reroll under certain conditions) the rely on a to-hit effect are not. Please not that conditional abilities based on other factors are just fine so long as the condition is met(Preferred enemy while firing at them, Activating an ability that allows for re-rolls, etc)
Wyrdvane Psykers
The new Combat Psyker Squad with a name to match their shiny new rules. They're fairly much the same as before except oh-so-much-better. Thanks to the writer(s) of this codex, you can now take a different psykic power from Biomancy, Divination, Pyromancy, and Telekinesis one for each individual psyker in the unit.
That plethora alone makes them powerful. If you have players that love to use as much psykic power as possible, then expect to see these on the battlefield much more often.
Um I do not see how that possibly can be true and have not seen it mentioned anywhere?
Brotherhood of psykers rule has this one covered; 1 Power for the unit.(Each individual psyker is not ML1, so cannot have any powers that cost a warp charge of 1+ since they are all higher than the ML)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 18:20:37
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Wraith
|
I didn't see this post and made another question elsewhere, but the Preferred Enemy gives no right to reroll blasts. I don't have my codex handy, so you're going to have to quote a rule... because you cannot reroll scatter dice because you cannot roll a one.
|
Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 18:22:02
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
The path of darkness this leads to
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 18:23:39
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Wraith
|
Yep, after a brief net search, there is no singular voice on "What's Correct" in this situation meaning house rule. Add this to the topic of items that needs FAQ'd.
|
Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 18:34:52
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
@TheKbob - I did a thread on this... I believe on the second page of YMDC... reasonably definite answer.
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 18:48:24
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
TheKbob wrote:I didn't see this post and made another question elsewhere, but the Preferred Enemy gives no right to reroll blasts. I don't have my codex handy, so you're going to have to quote a rule... because you cannot reroll scatter dice because you cannot roll a one.
Preferred enemy is a Conditional ability to re-roll with Conditions.
The Conditional portion: you must be shooting at a unit from you Preffered enemy Codex.
The With Conditions: You have tro roll a 1.
Now on to the With conditions portion: guess what similar or the same exists for Every single ability to re-roll; You must eith miss your to-hit roll(a roll you do not make), or Roll a 1 on your to-hit roll(again a roll you do not make). Twin Linked is the only rule that has specific provisions for re-rolling Blasts, So we must accept that the ability to re-roll at all(No matter the required conditions on re-rolling) allows you re-roll scatter, or the entire rules under Blasts means nothing at all.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 18:53:08
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Wraith
|
No need to have the discussion. Until FAQd, I'm in the no, you can't camp.
And I'm not alone:
http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/topic/282988-blast-markers-and-rerolls-to-hit-of-a-set-dice-score/
It makes logical sense without stopping rerolls from Prescience, Twin-linked, etc.
It's something I'd discuss with my opponent as it seems quite the hard split of crowds on yes or no. Or follow the "most fun rule" or w/e and dice off.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/24 18:59:09
Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 19:06:34
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Master Crafted always allows Rerolls, it is one of the only rules that cannot be argued with Re4-rolls and blasts. Twin-linked has specific rules for Blasts. just About every other re-roll requires a failed to hit. Would you allow such an ability to re-roll Scatter? And Dam13n's entire post has absolutely no basis in rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/24 19:08:02
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 19:13:56
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Wraith
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:
Master Crafted always allows Rerolls, it is one of the only rules that cannot be argued with Re4-rolls and blasts.
Twin-linked has specific rules for Blasts.
just About every other re-roll requires a failed to hit.
Would you allow such an ability to re-roll Scatter?
And Dam13n's entire post has absolutely no basis in rules.
Trust me, I understand where you are coming from. Twin-linked, Prescience, and a few special rules allow for flat our rerolls. Situational rerolls are "more advanced rules" per the BRB, they take precedent. Therefore a model that has "rerolls on to hit rolls of 1", if say BS3, doesn't have the ability to reroll on a hit roll of 2 or 3. For BS6, if you *pew* *pew* you always have a reroll built in because of how BS works. Don't be so reductive and think through the logic of the scenario.
Again, no reason to argue. It requires a FAQ based on two equally valid lexical interpretations; it's purely game mechanic based disagreement with no "fluffy" circumstance or "case law" (previous FAQ) that clears it up. Thus it's basically a house rule item with no conclusion at this point. You can feel you're right either way. I don't feel an intent here, unlike something from earlier disputes like bouncing FMCs or Necron Nightscythes w/ passengers during explosions.
So until then, hug it out with your opponent or dice off.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/24 19:15:52
Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 19:37:20
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
BS 6+ does NOT always have the ability to re-roll; It only gains the ability to re-roll when a 1 is rolled To-hit.
This is why there is a distinction between Conditional re-rolls(the ability to re-roll only when certain conditions are met, Like shooting at a preferred enemy unit as opposed to shooting at a unit from any other Codex), and re-rolls with a condition(Like a Tactical squad with an activated UM Tactical Doctrines, or any other "Re-roll Failed To-Hit" abilities).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 19:50:53
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
ClockworkZion wrote:So this came up over in Natfka's comment section in a recent article and I want to explain why it's wrong and doesn't work just to get it out there.
The idea was using Power of the Machine Spirit on a Leman Russ in a unit with a Tank Commander then using the "Gunners, Kill on Sight" order the TC has to fire at three targets.
Firstly it doesn't work because of a sequence of events issue comes up: namely (as per the first paragraph on page 28) Orders are issued and completely resolved "at the start of the Shooting Phase", the Engineseer meanwhile has to forgo a Shooting Attack to use his ability to Awaken the Machine Spirit, which means he goes at a later point during the same phase.
Secondly there is the issue of of how shooting attacks are resolved, namely (as per page 12 of the core rulebook) you must complete the sequence of nominating a unit to shoot, choosing a target, rolling to hit, wound and then allocating wounds and removing casualties before any other unit can do anything. So you can't shoot the commander's tank then use Awaken the Machine Spirit then shoot the other two tanks.
So basically, if your Tank Commander is issuing Orders the Engineseer can't Awaken Machine Spirit on the unit (well he CAN but it does nothing, they've already completed their shooting attack, so just have him restore a hull point instead) and the fact that I had to point out both of these facts to more than one person made me feel it was worth addressing in full here just in case.
I had come to the same conclusion, but this does raise a further point: suppose the Engineseer is hidden in a blob that received the order to shoot before the tank commander gave his order. Can he then forego his shooting and awaken the machine spirit in time to achieve the three way firing split?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 20:24:05
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
All the shooting orders are "must make a shooting attack" If the Enginseer is not shooting he is breaking the rules(Must trumps may or can).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 20:29:37
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
So putting him in a unit that will receive shooting orders as even worse then. Then you can't even use him as a fallback if the TC's order failed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 21:04:46
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Wraith
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:BS 6+ does NOT always have the ability to re-roll; It only gains the ability to re-roll when a 1 is rolled To-hit.
This is why there is a distinction between Conditional re-rolls(the ability to re-roll only when certain conditions are met, Like shooting at a preferred enemy unit as opposed to shooting at a unit from any other Codex), and re-rolls with a condition(Like a Tactical squad with an activated UM Tactical Doctrines, or any other "Re-roll Failed To-Hit" abilities).
I get what you're saying, but you're not also getting what I'm saying either. No, BS6, as captured specifically in the re-roll part of the rules, is an "always on" distinction and activates when you miss. It just so happens that you only miss with a dice roll of one.
Preferred Enemy, however, only happens specifically on a dice role of 1. Meaning BS3 guy has no reroll ability if he rolled a 2 or 3 to hit. An Ork with Preferred Enemy doesn't gain a reroll on a 2, 3, 4. A snipfiring model doesn't get to reroll on a 2, 3, 4, or 5. So, by design, it's a very specific type of reroll, making it unique. Unique trumps general within the lovely GW ruleset. Thus, to gain a reroll from it, you must roll a one. Since scatter weapons can never roll a one (nor would you want to reroll it), you do not have a reroll at all.
We're agreeing there are conditional rerolls. I just see the rules plainly not allowing them to reroll blast weapons unless the conditions are met. If the conditions may never be met, then you never get the reroll. Maybe they do intend for you to reroll blast weapons with PE, but until they FAQ it, it's clear as mud. And I'm leaning towards "No" becing the answer, should they ever actually FAQ the game again. Until now, it's how are you going to play it locally. Just another to add to the pile.
|
Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 21:16:22
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
There's literally another thread for that argument.
I'm still curious as to where in the world this Wyrdvane thing came from?
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 21:28:10
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
On the Internet
|
Hollismason wrote:There's literally another thread for that argument.
I'm still curious as to where in the world this Wyrdvane thing came from?
BoLS started it. The person's interpretation of the rule has been withdrawn and smacked down in the forums there (part of the reason they were arguing -for- the Wyrdvanes to all each have their own powers because it was "more interesting"). Automatically Appended Next Post: And even Natfka disagreed with the BoLS interpretation: http://natfka.blogspot.com/2014/04/wyrdvane-psykers-and-late-night.html?m=1
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/24 21:51:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/24 22:36:05
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Wraith
|
I think he meant mine on the PE + Blast thing?
It's fine, I will agree to disagree on it. I'll have to look into this psyker thing. If only we had a place to go where we could get answers for these issues day one...
|
Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/25 01:46:38
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
We can't answer the rerolls of 1 and blast question and this is not the thread for it.
That argument has already been had and has not been resolved. Let's leave it at that.
If you want an easy house rule answer, paint a One on ONE of the four scatter symbols on the scatter dice. If you roll that facing, you may reroll with preferred enemy and other rolls that let you reroll ones.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/25 03:15:20
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
On the Internet
|
TheKbob wrote:I think he meant mine on the PE + Blast thing?
It's fine, I will agree to disagree on it. I'll have to look into this psyker thing. If only we had a place to go where we could get answers for these issues day one...
The Psyker thing is a mess to read but it starts here: http://www.lounge.belloflostsouls.net/showthread.php?44130-Astra-Militarum-Imperial-Guard-A-Comprehensive-Review-amp-Comparison just scroll down to where it says "Wyrdvane Psykers" then watch the several page arguement unfold as a single person tries to tell the rest of the internet that they're the ones who aren't doing it right.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/25 05:36:20
Subject: Re:Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sorry if I missed this already. If Pask is my warlord and he has another tank with him and pask is killed does my opponent get slain warlord then or does he have to kill the whole squad like the CCS? Also can you do look out sir with tanks since pask is a chacter?.....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/25 04:34:39
Subject: Re:Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
On the Internet
|
Zengu wrote:Sorry if I missed this already. If Pask is my warlord and he has another tank with him and pask is killed does my opponent get slain warlord then or does he have to kill the whole squad like the CCS? Also can you do look out sir with tanks since pask is a chacter?.....
Slay the Warlord only applies to the model who is your Warlord being dead at the end of the game AFAIK, but I'm willing to be wrong on that.
First Blood, on the other hand, I know needs to see a whole unit die.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/25 07:57:30
Subject: Re:Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Zengu wrote:Sorry if I missed this already. If Pask is my warlord and he has another tank with him and pask is killed does my opponent get slain warlord then or does he have to kill the whole squad like the CCS? Also can you do look out sir with tanks since pask is a chacter?.....
Pask, the Character, is the warord. Killing him gains slay the warlord but NOT first blood
The CCS has a character in it - the officer - who is the warlord. You do not need to kill the CCS to gain the StW point, JUST the officer
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/25 13:26:05
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
He's right you know. And ADLs give 3+ cover, and spehs marheens can't shoot if they're wearing helmets.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/25 14:03:36
Subject: Astra Militarum General queries Thread UPDATE: 20/4/2014
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
On the Internet
|
Scipio Africanus wrote:
He's right you know. And ADLs give 3+ cover, and spehs marheens can't shoot if they're wearing helmets.
His initial argument was based on the fact that they're called Psykers by name (as if the name, and not the Special rule is what makes a model a Psyker) and then changed to how arguing the use of "their" in the rule after that got shot down. And then when he gives up he said he was arguing it because it was "more interesting". That's not "right" as much as that is abusing language to try and make things mean things that they shouldn't.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/25 14:05:34
|
|
 |
 |
|