Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/30 23:39:33
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
No clue if this has been asked before or not, if so i apologize. When a full unit And dreadnought disembark from a Raven to assault something, Where does the dreadnought come from? The rear hatch? or the front with the infantry? OR can anyone disembark from hatch? any help would be much appreciated. thank you.
|
Ravenwing 8,0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/30 23:45:09
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Wwll the description in the BA book says the Dread is carried in the rear grapples on the Stormraven. so I would say somewhere near the back end of the vehicle.
Though strictly RAW you can deploy the dread anywhere within 2 inches of an access point.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/30 23:45:28
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
RogueSangre
|
I can't recall off the top of my head where I heard this, but for the purposes of disembarking from large skimmers like Valkyries and Storm Ravens, you disembark from the base regardless of features on the hull.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/30 23:49:20
Subject: Re:Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
That is what i thought, but i play with a asshat or two sometimes so i wanted to be sure. Thanks folks for the help.
|
Ravenwing 8,0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 03:52:41
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Commander Endova wrote:I can't recall off the top of my head where I heard this, but for the purposes of disembarking from large skimmers like Valkyries and Storm Ravens, you disembark from the base regardless of features on the hull. No, the skimmers base is effectively ignored, except when assaulting a skimmer. P. 71 you measure from the hull for distances for disembarking, and from the weapons for shooting, as normal for vehicles. Edit: the stormraven has rules to contradict this. you measure from the Stormravens Flying base.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/31 21:48:42
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 05:25:05
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
DeathReaper wrote:No, the skimmers base is effectively ignored, except when assaulting a skimmer. P. 71
you measure from the hull for distances for disembarking, and from the weapons for shooting, as normal for vehicles.
Keep in mind that this is not true for Valkyries/Vendettas:
Imperial Guard FAQ wrote:Q. How do you treat the Valkyrie base for gaming? Due to its height it seems that it is impossible for a Valkyrie to contest an objective, or for troops to disembark/embark normally.
A. Follow the rules in Measuring Distances in the Skimmers section in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook with the following exception: For the purposes of contesting objectives and
embarking/disembarking from a Valkyrie or Vendetta, measure to and from the model’s base. For example, models wishing to embark within a Valkyrie can do so if at the end of their
movement, all models within the unit are within 2" of the Valkyrie’s base.
It's possible they will FAQ the Stormraven in a similar manner, but as of right now DeathReaper is correct with regards to the Stormraven model.
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 05:51:00
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Does the Stormraven even have a flight base? All the pics so have have had it sitting on the ground, IIRC.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 06:05:19
Subject: Re:Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Anywhere with in 2" of the base. Same as a Vendetta, I also saw this mentioned in a recent White Dwarf, might have been this months issue. Also if you need a reference for how to disembark from large skimmers you can find it in the IG faq.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 06:05:33
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
insaniak wrote:Does the Stormraven even have a flight base? All the pics so have have had it sitting on the ground, IIRC.
Maybe it has to land in order to debark anything from it...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 06:18:46
Subject: Re:Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Sol wrote:Anywhere with in 2" of the base. Same as a Vendetta, I also saw this mentioned in a recent White Dwarf, might have been this months issue. Also if you need a reference for how to disembark from large skimmers you can find it in the IG faq. Edit: anywhere within 2 inches of the base for the Stormraven. insaniak wrote:Does the Stormraven even have a flight base? All the pics so have have had it sitting on the ground, IIRC. Yes it has a flight base, this months White dwarf has it on its flying base. but only like 1 or 2 pic's of it there, for most of the pics its on the ground.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/01/31 21:49:38
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 06:40:58
Subject: Re:Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
it is in this months white dwarf.
" for the purposes of claiming or contesting objectives and embarking or disembarking from a stormraven, measure to or from its base" pg 23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 11:16:39
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Yep, given the precedent they set with the Valk/Vendetta FAQs, I'd say to treat the Stormraven the same way. I'll even steal it from DoW's post and paste it here again:
Q. How do you treat the Valkyrie base for gaming? Due to its height it seems that it is impossible for a Valkyrie to contest an objective, or for troops to disembark/embark normally.
A. Follow the rules in Measuring Distances in the Skimmers section in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook with the following exception: For the purposes of contesting objectives and
embarking/disembarking from a Valkyrie or Vendetta, measure to and from the model’s base. For example, models wishing to embark within a Valkyrie can do so if at the end of their
movement, all models within the unit are within 2" of the Valkyrie’s base.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 13:49:48
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_RfD80Ww88ew/TTb4Ma8HiKI/AAAAAAAAA-c/0HV8oGAzWbw/s1600/2010-11-22_02_14_51.jpg
There is a pic on its base. and the BA rulebook was already clear on were you disembark from its under transports and it mentions you do so from its base. I dont even know wy there is an issue on this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 15:16:27
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
University of St. Andrews
|
Hey, it doesn't look half bad in those pics....but yes, if I were playing against a Storm Raven, I'd play it as if it were a Valk or Vendetta, especially as it seems to be useing the same flying base.
|
"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor
707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)
Visit my nation on Nation States!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 17:25:58
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Edit to correct my foolishness.
As Mr. Dabba said, the BA codex actually SPECIFIES that you measure to/from the base of the Storm Raven for objectives & for embarking/disembarking. Nice going, GW!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/31 17:30:30
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 17:28:26
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No need, its IN the codex. Page 38, under transports.
as mrdabba said....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 18:24:47
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
University of St. Andrews
|
There's hope for GW yet!
|
"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor
707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)
Visit my nation on Nation States!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 20:43:00
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
So when you say you measure from the base, is that anywhere from the base or just the back part of the base where it's actually attached?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 20:45:59
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Unless it specifies a part of the base (which I have not seen happen) any part is acceptable.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 21:21:32
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
overkongen wrote:So when you say you measure from the base, is that anywhere from the base or just the back part of the base where it's actually attached?
Any part of the base.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/31 21:51:15
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Yep there it is, right in the BA book.
Since the Stormraven not have a model for the longest time I was playing it like a normal vehicle with my scratch build stormraven, since my scratch build does not have a base yet.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/01 07:11:50
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
mrdabba wrote:http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_RfD80Ww88ew/TTb4Ma8HiKI/AAAAAAAAA-c/0HV8oGAzWbw/s1600/2010-11-22_02_14_51.jpg
There is a pic on its base. and the BA rulebook was already clear on were you disembark from its under transports and it mentions you do so from its base. I dont even know wy there is an issue on this.
I stand corrected! That'll teach me to comment on codices I don't own...
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/01 08:08:55
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
My favorite part is that, not only can the Dread effectively disembark from the 'front' area of the vehicle (or at least its base), but then it somehow is benefitting from its Assault ramp as well!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/01 11:02:52
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
University of St. Andrews
|
Maybe dropping the Dread on your head counts as having an assault ramp!
|
"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor
707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)
Visit my nation on Nation States!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/01 11:37:36
Subject: Dreadnought attacks from a storm raven.
|
 |
Major
far away from Battle Creek, Michigan
|
I've seen many occasions where a Furioso with Blood Talons disembarks 2" from the front of the Raven's base and then assaults. It's a great tactic. In fact, if a Raven is not carrying a dread for this purpose why take the Raven at all?
|
PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.
Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.
|
|
 |
 |
|