Ok, this is a longstanding issue between my circle of gamers. we were recently playing a small scale
apoc game and there was a warhound titan involved. Now, this titan decided to assist Shadowsun in an assault against a squad of Necron Destroyers. The Destroyers weathered Shadowsun's attacks, and the Warhound promptly missed all it's attacks. The problem came after the assault finished. The rules for super heavy walkers in close combat say that the units engaged with it have to consolidate at least an inch away from the walker after combat.
The Destroyers were still in combat with Shadowsun, does this mean that the Destroyers would move out of both combats and be free to shoot the next turn?
Or would they only move the minimum distance and try to stay engaged with Shadowsun?
In that situation, what happens if you roll over a 1 for the consolidate move?
Sorry for the wall of text, any help is appreciated.