Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 03:25:06
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? Say you have a Grey Knight Strike Squad with attached Grandmaster. The Justicar casts hammer hand. The Grandmaster also casts Hammer hand. Is your unit Strength 6 because they stack or only Strength 5 because you can only get the benefit of a power once? This is potentially very nasty to multi wound units toughness 4 if you give the grandmaster rad grenades the enemy multi wound unit would be toughness 3 and subject to insta death by your strength 6 or does it not work that way?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/19 03:26:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 06:35:40
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They stack, as it is from two different sources and at two different stages.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 15:21:21
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
If hammer hand does indeed stack to give you strength 6 do you insta kill nobs that are now toughness 3 from the grandmaster's rad grenades?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 16:52:29
Subject: Re:Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Pete Haines
Nottingham
|
There's nothing stopping you using Hammerhand twice on a unit. Couple with Rad grenades, and indeed you can be S6 vs T3 on T4 enemies. There aren't many T4 enemies with 2 or more wounds though, Nobs are the only that spring to mind.
Rad grenades however, do not stack.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 17:06:07
Subject: Re:Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Stabbin' Skarboy
|
GCMandrake wrote:There's nothing stopping you using Hammerhand twice on a unit. Couple with Rad grenades, and indeed you can be S6 vs T3 on T4 enemies. There aren't many T4 enemies with 2 or more wounds though, Nobs are the only that spring to mind.
Tyranid warriors are probably the other prominent one. However, rad grenades specifically say they do not change the instant death threshold. So those nobs/warriors would be T3, but still only suffer instant death from things that are strength 8. You would ignore feel no pain with your non-power weapons though, so there's some benefit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/19 17:06:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 18:34:13
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
I thought Rad Grenades did change the ID threshold.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 18:36:18
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Valkyrie wrote:I thought Rad Grenades did change the ID threshold.
They do, it is super explicit on this in the codex. Reading is fundamental.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/19 18:37:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 21:23:27
Subject: Re:Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Culler wrote:GCMandrake wrote:There's nothing stopping you using Hammerhand twice on a unit. Couple with Rad grenades, and indeed you can be S6 vs T3 on T4 enemies. There aren't many T4 enemies with 2 or more wounds though, Nobs are the only that spring to mind.
Tyranid warriors are probably the other prominent one. However, rad grenades specifically say they do not change the instant death threshold. So those nobs/warriors would be T3, but still only suffer instant death from things that are strength 8. You would ignore feel no pain with your non-power weapons though, so there's some benefit.
Please read the rule WAY more carefully next time. It explicitly states the exact opposite of what you just posted.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 18:19:15
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Wait, we are using it doesn't say it doesn't as logic now? Hammerhand nowhere says a unit can benefit from multiple sources of the same effect. It is binary- A unit affected by hammer hand has +1 str. Do it again? Still +1 str.
Rad grenades + HH should be enough with Force Weps most of the time anyway...
|
-James
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 00:20:57
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
jmurph wrote:Wait, we are using it doesn't say it doesn't as logic now? Hammerhand nowhere says a unit can benefit from multiple sources of the same effect. It is binary- A unit affected by hammer hand has +1 str. Do it again? Still +1 str.
Rad grenades + HH should be enough with Force Weps most of the time anyway...
I approve of this message.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 02:54:24
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
jmurph wrote:Hammerhand nowhere says a unit can benefit from multiple sources of the same effect. It is binary- A unit affected by hammer hand has +1 str. Do it again? Still +1 str.
I can't fathom how people make this assumption which isn't based on a rule at all.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 12:05:30
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
jmurph wrote:Wait, we are using it doesn't say it doesn't as logic now? Hammerhand nowhere says a unit can benefit from multiple sources of the same effect. It is binary- A unit affected by hammer hand has +1 str. Do it again? Still +1 str.
Rad grenades + HH should be enough with Force Weps most of the time anyway...
No, not at all.
The unit chooses to cast HH and passes. They are now S5
The libby chooses to cast HH and passes, they are now S+1 == S5+1 == S6
They stack because they are not taken at the same time, and the strength modification applied applies to their profile.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 13:35:50
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
If HH gives +1 and a second HH is cast, it already has +1, so no stacking. It does however kick in prior to doubling for Thunderhammers. So your S4 unit becomes S5 and then gets doubled. That is Instant Killing stuff.
Powers that stack are clearly labeled as such. Contrast HH with Might of Titan. So, HH + MoT gets you S6.
Also, Rad Grenades clearly state they lower ID threshold.
The book seems strong enough, quit hunting for Easter Eggs!
Homer
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/03/22 13:39:17
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 14:06:05
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Dominar
|
I really don't think that Draigo, a Librarian, Terminators, and Justicar Thawn are going to be allowed to go running around at S9/I10 (Hammerhand, Hammerhand, MoT, Hammerhand, Hammerhand, Quicksilver) against -1T enemies in the assault phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 14:14:01
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
sourclams wrote:I really don't think that Draigo, a Librarian, Terminators, and Justicar Thawn are going to be allowed to go running around at S9/I10 (Hammerhand, Hammerhand, MoT, Hammerhand, Hammerhand, Quicksilver) against -1T enemies in the assault phase.
When I read this I got an image of 40k whack-a-mole with the 4 guys running around franticly with hammers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 14:26:13
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
targetawg wrote:When I read this I got an image of 40k whack-a-mole with the 4 guys running around franticly with hammers.
LOL
Now I have that image in my head, with a big roll of tickets scrolling at their feet!
Homer
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/22 14:26:36
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 15:11:04
Subject: Re:Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
GCMandrake wrote:There's nothing stopping you using Hammerhand twice on a unit. Couple with Rad grenades, and indeed you can be S6 vs T3 on T4 enemies. There aren't many T4 enemies with 2 or more wounds though, Nobs are the only that spring to mind. Rad grenades however, do not stack. Paladins are T4 two wounds. Most of the "lesser" MEQ HQ choices (librarians, Chaplains, Rune Priests, Wolf Priests, WGBL etc.) As an aside I believe the wording is a unit affected by HH gains +1 str. +1 to the base str of the unit so casting it a second time would only give a +1 to the base str again meaning it doesn't stack. Rules that can stack clearly state it usually. Yet another thing we will be waiting for GW to FAQ I feel...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/22 15:14:36
Las Vegas Open Head Judge
I'm sorry if it hurts your feelings or pride, but your credentials matter. Even on the internet.
"If you do not have the knowledge, you do not have the right to the opinion." -Plato
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 15:15:06
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Homer - the first HH modifies your profile. The second modifies your already modified profile. Easy.
Sorry, it DOES stack currently. The same bonus from different sources has been repeated FAQ'd to Stack, e.g. Lictor and Hive Commander (exact same +1 bonus to reserves, different sources)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 15:38:19
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Homer - the first HH modifies your profile. The second modifies your already modified profile. Easy.
Sorry, it DOES stack currently. The same bonus from different sources has been repeated FAQ'd to Stack, e.g. Lictor and Hive Commander (exact same +1 bonus to reserves, different sources)
That's not a very good comparison. Lictor + Lictor does not stack and Hive Commander + Hive Commander does not stack. Lictor + Hive Commander are 2 different abilities that have a similar effect, not the exact same ability. That seems to be a point of contention in a lot of places, and while I don't really know the wording on Hammer Hand all that well, comparing it to Lictor and Hive Commander working together is not a fair comparison.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 15:39:49
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Would anyone mind quoting the special rule in question?
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 15:50:05
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It was pointing out the rule from different sources, at different steps. Reserves isnt great especially as they all occur simultaneously. Psychic powers are NOT cast simultaneously.
GK Dex, page 25 wrote:.....If the Psychic test is passed, all models in the unit (including Independent Characters) have +1 Strength until the end of the ASsault phase. Note that this strength bonus is applied before....
You pass 1 psychic test, your unit is at S4+1 = S5. Their profile now says S5
You cast it again, you now increase their strength by 1. Their strength is now S6, as it increases the strength on their statline (which has been modified) by 1
If you attempt to claim modifiers dont count, then a unit with I4(5) gaining furious charge still strikes at I5 with that logic, and ID would not need to change the rules to make it clear that modifiers to toughness dont count.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 16:02:08
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
Monarchy of TBD
|
This combo looks legal, and far more horrifying to an Ork player than S8 Rifleman dreads.
|
Klawz-Ramming is a subset of citrus fruit?
Gwar- "And everyone wants a bigger Spleen!"
Mercurial wrote:
I admire your aplomb and instate you as Baron of the Seas and Lord Marshall of Privateers.
Orkeosaurus wrote:Star Trek also said we'd have X-Wings by now. We all see how that prediction turned out.
Orkeosaurus, on homophobia, the nature of homosexuality, and the greatness of George Takei.
English doesn't borrow from other languages. It follows them down dark alleyways and mugs them for loose grammar.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 16:09:11
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Agree, seems perfectly fine. Stuff that is not supposed to stack is worded that way (Waaagh! banners for example).
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 17:14:48
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Dominar
|
If Furious Charge from multiple sources doesn't stack, why would Hammerhand from multiple sources stack?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 17:58:08
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Because the rule says so? Any model with FC gets +1 I/S. If it has 42 instances of that USR it is still a model with Furious Charge.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 18:01:41
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
sourclams wrote:If Furious Charge from multiple sources doesn't stack, why would Hammerhand from multiple sources stack?
Because FC is not the same as Hammerhand?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 18:15:27
Subject: Re:Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
|
This is similar to the stealth issue. Long ago I postulated that since stealth gives the unit +1 cover saves, each model with stealth would add their bonus together. There is no real reason it doesn't, but no one plays it that it does. I expect hammerhand will be the same.
There is nothing saying it doesn't stack, but I somehow doubt anyone will allow it. I also expect it will be FAQ'd if it becomes an issue.
|
Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 18:18:47
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Given the points cost investment in a unit that is required to get doublehammer hand, that doesnt seem to be an issue that needs resolving away from alllowing it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 18:51:38
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Nerrik wrote:
Lictor + Lictor does not stack and Hive Commander + Hive Commander does not stack.
And we know why. Because the book says they specifically do not stack.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/22 18:51:52
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/22 19:25:37
Subject: Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:GK Dex, page 25 wrote:.....If the Psychic test is passed, all models in the unit (including Independent Characters) have +1 Strength until the end of the ASsault phase. Note that this strength bonus is applied before....
What's the last part say? Do you actually add the hammerhand bonus prior to doubling str as with a power fist or thunder hammer?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|