Switch Theme:

TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 JohnnyHell wrote:
It really doesn't. Intent is clear at +1 regardless of number of pairs of Scything Talons beyond the first.

Well, it is clear NOW. It wasn't clear before. If anything, it was clearly dependent on the number of Weapons that were being used with the phrase "this weapon".

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I already addressed the Leman Russ example as it was presented by a different poster with a different example. See https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/240/729357.page#9462392

The weapon profile is for 'heavy flamer' so without a doubt the Leman Russ is equipped with two heavy flamers. So your argument is simply not relevant at all to the case at hand and you are trying to misrepresent and strawman my argument.

In the case of the Trygon he is equipped with 'massive scything talons' and it is recognized as a single weapon. As I have been saying all along, the use of the plural in the weapon profile is significant and how the rule is written.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Charistoph wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
It really doesn't. Intent is clear at +1 regardless of number of pairs of Scything Talons beyond the first.

Well, it is clear NOW. It wasn't clear before. If anything, it was clearly dependent on the number of Weapons that were being used with the phrase "this weapon".


Considering that 'this weapon' referred to 'massive scything talons' in the plural and there was no profile for 'pair of massive scything talons' or 'massive scything talon', it was more a case of you getting confused by the use of the plural. The rule as written clearly indicated +1A as long as you didn't overlook the use of the plural.

Spoiler:
The heart of this debate is the answer to the question 'what counts as a weapon'?

My argument is that the rules literally tell us that answer. The weapon profile is for 'massive scything talons' and refers to itself as 'this weapon'. Therefore, the rules recognize that a plural number of 'massive scything talons' is a single weapon profile.

Lance845 has tried to argue that the use of the plural is a mistake, but that is obviously an argument against the rules as they are written on the page. The rule writers chose to identify a plural number of 'massive scything talons' as a single weapon and we must follow that rule. We must accept the rules as they are written.

Right off the bat we know that any argument that a single 'massive scything talon' is a weapon is false. If a single 'massive scything talon' were a weapon then the weapon profile would be for a 'massive scything talon'. It isn't. The rules tell us that a plural number of massive scything talons is a single weapon instead.

So the argument that a single massive scything talon is a weapon is directly disproven by the rules as they are written.

The other argument, that a 'pair of massive scything talons' is a weapon fails to support itself with rules. A 'pair of massive scything talons' is recognized by the rules as a purchasing entity and as an entity that affects the +1 A rule in the 'massive scything talons' profile, but the rules do not recognize a 'pair of massive scything talons as a weapon profile. If a 'pair of massive scything talons' were to be recognized as a single weapon then a weapon profile would be provided for 'pair of massive scything talons'. No such weapon profile is provided so I am unable to attack with a 'pair of massive scything talons' as a single weapon.

So the argument that a 'pair of massive scything talons' is a single weapon has no justification in the rules as they are written.

The rules only allow me to choose 'massive scything talons' in the plural as a weapon to attack with. The rules do not allow me to choose a single 'massive scything talon' as a weapon nor do they allow me to choose a 'pair of massive scything talons' as a weapon. Neither the single talon nor the pair of talons have weapon profiles.

I can only choose the profile that I am provided with by the rules. I am not allowed to make up profiles. A Trygon is only allowed to attack with a single weapon that represents all of the 'massive scything talons' he is equipped with. A Trygon has no other profiles for his 'massive scything talons' with which to attack. There is no profile for a single 'talon' nor for a 'pair of talons' so the trygon can only attack with his 'massive scything talons' as a single weapon.

As you can see, my argument is directly proven by the RAW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/02 21:46:56


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Anyone else notice in the rulebook FAQ the Chainsword is allowed to make additional attacks with two Chainswords?

Aren't the rules that do this written the same way (I don't have either index)?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Charistoph wrote:
Anyone else notice in the rulebook FAQ the Chainsword is allowed to make additional attacks with two Chainswords?

Aren't the rules that do this written the same way (I don't have either index)?



Chainsword:

Spoiler:
Each time the bearer fights,it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon.


Massive scything talons:

Spoiler:
You can re-roll hit rolls of 1 when attacking with this weapon. If the bearer has more than one pair of massive scything talons, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon each time it fights.


The difference between the two is the use of the plural in the latter weapon profile. "This weapon" refers to 'massive scything talons' and you only have permission to attack with that weapon. You got confused by the plural.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 Charistoph wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
It really doesn't. Intent is clear at +1 regardless of number of pairs of Scything Talons beyond the first.

Well, it is clear NOW. It wasn't clear before. If anything, it was clearly dependent on the number of Weapons that were being used with the phrase "this weapon".


I was referring to now. I felt it was before, YMMV. My point replying to BaconCatBug was that his gripe wasn't valid. They may have tangentially answered the question but they've answered it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/02 22:00:54


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 JohnnyHell wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
It really doesn't. Intent is clear at +1 regardless of number of pairs of Scything Talons beyond the first.

Well, it is clear NOW. It wasn't clear before. If anything, it was clearly dependent on the number of Weapons that were being used with the phrase "this weapon".


I was referring to now. I felt it was before, YMMV. My point replying to BaconCatBug was that his gripe wasn't valid. They may have tangentially answered the question but they've answered it.

Fair enough. Lack of quoting or addressing the person in question made it seem a general comment rather than a specific response.

------

Could someone who is reliable and I don't have on ignore answer the questions regarding the Scything Talons and Chainsword question?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

They're worded and now both FAQ clarified differently.

Two chainswords gives +2 Chainsword Attacks.

Two extra pairs of Scything talons only gives +1 attack, not +2.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 JohnnyHell wrote:
They're worded and now both FAQ clarified differently.

I read the FAQs, which is why I was asking the question. Out of curiosity, how are they worded differently?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

col_impact wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:
Anyone else notice in the rulebook FAQ the Chainsword is allowed to make additional attacks with two Chainswords?

Aren't the rules that do this written the same way (I don't have either index)?



Chainsword:

Spoiler:
Each time the bearer fights,it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon.


Massive scything talons:

Spoiler:
You can re-roll hit rolls of 1 when attacking with this weapon. If the bearer has more than one pair of massive scything talons, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon each time it fights.


The difference between the two is the use of the plural in the latter weapon profile. "This weapon" refers to 'massive scything talons' and you only have permission to attack with that weapon. You got confused by the plural.


Like so.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear






Clearwater, FL

In-thread warnings have been applied as warranted.

The question has been answered officially, so I'm locking this thread.

DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++

Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k.                                                                                                       Rule #1
- BBAP

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: