Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 03:33:57
Subject: Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
Mordrak's rule states, "if he deploys via deep strike, mordrak and ANY UNIT HE ACCOMPANIES will automatically arrive in your first turn and will not scatter." emphasis added. In order to deploy this way must the unit he accompanies already have the deep strike special rule or can he deep strike with any unit he is attached to?
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 04:06:24
Subject: Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
A unit can only Deep Strike if it has the Deep Strike rule,
Mordrak's rule isn't granting the ability to Deep Strike, it's granting the ability to arrive automatically in the first turn if the unit Deep Strikes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 06:07:39
Subject: Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Deuce11 wrote:Mordrak's rule states, "if he deploys via deep strike, mordrak and ANY UNIT HE ACCOMPANIES will automatically arrive in your first turn and will not scatter." emphasis added. In order to deploy this way must the unit he accompanies already have the deep strike special rule or can he deep strike with any unit he is attached to?
Remember that Mordrak isn't an IC, and the only unit he can be part of (Ghost Knights) can deep strike.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 09:19:35
Subject: Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
LIbrarians or another GKGM (or any other termi armoured IC) could jjjoin him as well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 12:31:18
Subject: Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:LIbrarians or another GKGM (or any other termi armoured IC) could jjjoin him as well.
Well a Deep Striking IC could join "THEM". As in if he takes Ghost Knights. If he's fielded without his upgrade unit, then he's a "unit that will always only consist of a single model" since Mordrak is not an IC himself. At least at the time of deployment. One he hits the field and starts taking wounds and gains a body guard, IC's could join them, but by then it's too late to use First to the Fray.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/22 12:32:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 12:44:17
Subject: Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
"At least at the time of deployment." is not always, as well as "if you didn't buy ghostknights" is not always. If you only buy a single model of a unit which could have more models, an IC can join it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/22 12:44:30
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 12:58:24
Subject: Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kryhavok - nope. Mordrak and his ghost knights are a unit that consists of 1+ models. You can join an IC to him no matter how many Ghosts have been bought.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 14:38:05
Subject: Re:Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Really? Because it looks like on his Armoury page, if you're not buying ghost knights, then his unit composition is: 1 (Unique). Not 1+.
If you do buy Ghost Knights then you have a squad with a unit composition of 1-5 + Mordrak who acts an an upgrade character for that unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 14:53:52
Subject: Re:Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
kryhavok wrote:Really? Because it looks like on his Armoury page, if you're not buying ghost knights, then his unit composition is: 1 (Unique). Not 1+.
If you do buy Ghost Knights then you have a squad with a unit composition of 1-5 + Mordrak who acts an an upgrade character for that unit.
1+ means it can be one or more. There just needs to be the option of more than 1. Even if he is alone he could have had more, thus he is not always a single model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 15:01:21
Subject: Re:Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Melchiour wrote:kryhavok wrote:Really? Because it looks like on his Armoury page, if you're not buying ghost knights, then his unit composition is: 1 (Unique). Not 1+.
If you do buy Ghost Knights then you have a squad with a unit composition of 1-5 + Mordrak who acts an an upgrade character for that unit.
1+ means it can be one or more. There just needs to be the option of more than 1. Even if he is alone he could have had more, thus he is not always a single model.
That's the thing, his unit composition is not 1+. With out Ghost knights, it's 1 (Unique). Even in his definition of the Ghostly Body Guard special rule, he acts as an upgrade character for that unit up until the Ghost Knights are slain, at which point he reverts to being a "single-model unit in his own right" So with out any Ghost knights (purchased or summoned) he is a single-model unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 15:07:09
Subject: Re:Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
kryhavok wrote:Melchiour wrote:kryhavok wrote:Really? Because it looks like on his Armoury page, if you're not buying ghost knights, then his unit composition is: 1 (Unique). Not 1+.
If you do buy Ghost Knights then you have a squad with a unit composition of 1-5 + Mordrak who acts an an upgrade character for that unit.
1+ means it can be one or more. There just needs to be the option of more than 1. Even if he is alone he could have had more, thus he is not always a single model.
That's the thing, his unit composition is not 1+. With out Ghost knights, it's 1 (Unique). Even in his definition of the Ghostly Body Guard special rule, he acts as an upgrade character for that unit up until the Ghost Knights are slain, at which point he reverts to being a "single-model unit in his own right" So with out any Ghost knights (purchased or summoned) he is a single-model unit.
The rules say that an IC cannot join a unit that ALWAYS consists of a single model. Here is the question. Can Mordrak EVER be a unit of more than 1 model. The answer is yes. So he is not always a single model. Since he does not ALWAYS consist of a single model, other IC's can join him.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/22 16:18:19
Subject: Re:Mordrak deep striking
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Melchiour wrote:The rules say that an IC cannot join a unit that ALWAYS consists of a single model. Here is the question. Can Mordrak EVER be a unit of more than 1 model. The answer is yes. So he is not always a single model. Since he does not ALWAYS consist of a single model, other IC's can join him.
Grand Master Mordrak always consists of a single model. If you take a unit of Ghost Knights, then he becomes an upgrade character of that unit.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
|