Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/05 02:50:18
Subject: Transport Vehicle Targeting Question
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
During a game today, my Chosen fired at a Rhino from inside their own transport and blew it up. When I ten tried ro use the twin-linked boltegun on the Chosen's rhino to fire at them, an issue arose: my opponent said that the rhino, being dedicated and with the troops still inside, couldn't target a different unit than the one the chosen had: I.e, the chosen fired at a rhino, so the vehicle boltgun could only fire at the same rhino, who was no longer there.
I argued that the vehicle weapon is a different unit that just happen to be carrying others, and the other people around couldn't clarify the issue. The rulebook also yelded no answers. We shosen to say it couldn't be done to keep the game going.
How do you guys play it?
|
In Boxing matches, you actually get paid to take a dive and make the other guy look good.
In Warhammer 40K, you're expected to pay cash out of your pocket for the privilege of having Marines and IG trample all over your Xenos/Chaos. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/05 03:03:12
Subject: Transport Vehicle Targeting Question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
You were correct. The Rhino and the squad are separate units and may target separate enemy squads. I believe this is covered in the Warhammer 40,000 Main Rulebook FAQ as well.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/05 03:54:50
Subject: Transport Vehicle Targeting Question
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
Ghaz wrote:You were correct. The Rhino and the squad are separate units and may target separate enemy squads. I believe this is covered in the Warhammer 40,000 Main Rulebook FAQ as well.
I'll look for the proper entry. I still won, so no biggie. Thanks for the info.
|
In Boxing matches, you actually get paid to take a dive and make the other guy look good.
In Warhammer 40K, you're expected to pay cash out of your pocket for the privilege of having Marines and IG trample all over your Xenos/Chaos. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/05 04:08:46
Subject: Transport Vehicle Targeting Question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
It's page 92, maybe? With the mission rules. Multiple Unit Choices, or something similar. A dedicated transport, from the beginning of the game to the end of the game, is always a separate unit from its squad, for all purposes.
Just because two units are bought as part of the same force org selection doesn't make them no longer two units.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/05 04:59:29
Subject: Re:Transport Vehicle Targeting Question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Ask him if the Chosen must always move with the Rhino (i.e. may never disembark and move independently), or if you can allocate shots at the vehicle to the models inside.
If that were the case, then he'd have a good argument for claiming that they are the same unit and must do everything together. But that's not the case.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/05 05:37:22
Subject: Re:Transport Vehicle Targeting Question
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Deep in the Heart of Texas!!!
|
The rules in the BRB (pg. 66) make no stipulation that the transported unit is limited to shoot at the target of the vehicle or vise versa. The only things listed are, only one person can shoot out of a fire port (unless stated other wise in vehicle entry), ranges are measured from fire port, if vehicle has moved then the unit inside is counted as moved in regards to shooting, if vehicle moved at cruising speed. Also, like Mannahnin said, on page 92 (BRB) under "Multiple Unit Choices." It says that some Codex will allow a player to get several units at the cost of only one force organization chart slot (dedicated transport are the example listed), but it goes on to say that even though they are bought as a single choice, "these units operate and count as separate units in all respects." So, with that being the only things outlined, it to me means that you can shoot transport vehicle guns and embarked guns at different targets.
|
"You call yourselves true warriors. With Your palaces and fountains. Your medals and parades? I grasped my first axe when I was still in my birth-caul. I earned my first wolfskin whin I was Still a whelp. I've been fighting every single day of my life, son. Perhaps you're today's challenge, eh?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/05 05:37:50
Subject: Re:Transport Vehicle Targeting Question
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
somerandomdude wrote:Ask him if the Chosen must always move with the Rhino (i.e. may never disembark and move independently), or if you can allocate shots at the vehicle to the models inside.
If that were the case, then he'd have a good argument for claiming that they are the same unit and must do everything together. But that's not the case.
I would love for someone to try the initial argument on me; I'd say: "yeah, sure, ok, you're right" all sincere like, and then as soon as he hit me with a heavy anti-tank weapon(say a Melta) I would just look at him and say: "Ok, I am allocating it to this random Squaddie, Roll to wound". then the moment he tried to argue I would twist his earlier argument right back at him: all while just smugly smiling at him.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/05 05:57:33
Subject: Re:Transport Vehicle Targeting Question
|
 |
Trollkin Champion
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:somerandomdude wrote:Ask him if the Chosen must always move with the Rhino (i.e. may never disembark and move independently), or if you can allocate shots at the vehicle to the models inside.
If that were the case, then he'd have a good argument for claiming that they are the same unit and must do everything together. But that's not the case.
I would love for someone to try the initial argument on me; I'd say: "yeah, sure, ok, you're right" all sincere like, and then as soon as he hit me with a heavy anti-tank weapon(say a Melta) I would just look at him and say: "Ok, I am allocating it to this random Squaddie, Roll to wound". then the moment he tried to argue I would twist his earlier argument right back at him: all while just smugly smiling at him.
And don't forget that the squaddie in the rhino gets to roll his cover save because he is definitely at least 50% obscured from the shooter...
|
stay hip |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/05 18:24:03
Subject: Transport Vehicle Targeting Question
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Mannahnin wrote:It's page 92, maybe?
P3 - definition of a unit.
If they were a single unit then the squad could not embark on the rhino because the whole unit must embark. The rhino could never move faster than 6" because the unit must move at the speed of the slowest member. The rhino would need to stay in coherency with the squad. etc.
|
|
 |
 |
|