Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:18:16
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
I actually have 2 questions. In dawn of war scenario does combat squadding use both of your troop choices that you can deploy. And also does using a dedicated transport count as a troop choice. I've been told both ways. 1 person told me that combat squadding counts as 2 choices and a transport counts as a choice. But I've also been told that you dont combat squad untill your on the table so you can have 4 combat squads on the table. And also I've been told that transports count as part of the squad for deploying so they dont count torwards the troop choice selection. I would really like to know 1 way or anougher so thanks for any help.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:20:19
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes. You have 2 troops units now on the table.
Yes, read the example in the DOW rules, and multiple FOC choices as well. Just because you only take up one choice does not mean you are only one UNIT, and DOW cares about UNITS
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:27:36
Subject: Re:Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
I've always played it so that 1 unit as 2 combat squads = 1 troop choice. Two combat squads from the same unit still take up only one spot on the Force Organization Chart. Therefore you could have 4 combat squads on the table for a DoW deployment. Perhaps I'm wrong, though?
A transport DOES count as an additional troop choice, so you could have 1 unit + its dedicated transport on the board.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:37:45
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You're wrong.
DoW == 2 troops UNITS. UNITS and *not* Choices.
The two are very, very different concepts. For example an IG platoon is one troops choice, but can have 20+ units in it
Reread the DoW rules, note it explicitly tells you UNITS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 14:40:27
Subject: Re:Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Baron Von Eptastic wrote:I've always played it so that 1 unit as 2 combat squads = 1 troop choice. Two combat squads from the same unit still take up only one spot on the Force Organization Chart. Therefore you could have 4 combat squads on the table for a DoW deployment. Perhaps I'm wrong, though?
You are. See the definition of unit on P3.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 17:02:39
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
I don't believe FOC's are even mentioned any time other than in army creation. It has nothing to do with army deployement (with the apparent except of the IG special rule). Don't confuse FOC's with units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/11 17:10:30
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Force Org is irrelevant. If you have more than two Troops units on the table when you've finished deployment in DoW, you've done it wrong.
Dedicated transports are absolutely separate units. Both the example RIGHT IN THE RULES for Dawn of War and Multiple Unit Choices on the opposite page make that completely clear.
At the time of deployment you can choose to Combat Squad an eligible SM squad into two units. At the moment you do it, they are now two units. So they would take up both your Troops units in DoW.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 17:20:53
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:You're wrong.
DoW == 2 troops UNITS. UNITS and *not* Choices.
The two are very, very different concepts. For example an IG platoon is one troops choice, but can have 20+ units in it
Reread the DoW rules, note it explicitly tells you UNITS.
Bad example, guard platoons are deployed as if they are one unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 18:00:33
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Guard Platoons are deployed either "blobbed" or split, and the lowest number they can get down to is two units- the blob and the Platoon Command Section. So if you deploy a Platoon fully blobbed, that's your two Troop units in DoW.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 19:21:46
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Spongemonkee - no, it really isnt a bad example. A Guard PLATOON is one Troops FOC that consists of at LEAST 2 units.
You're thinking of 4th ed, with the i go you go deployment, when they WOULD deploy as one unit. That rule does not exist in the 5th edition codex - the closest is that,when rolling for reserves, they are rolled for as if they were one unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 19:53:18
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
Top of page 96, it counts as a single choice for deploying and for rolling for reserves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 20:06:52
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
However DoW doesnt give a damn - it is still composed of multiple units, and DoW only cares about units
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 20:10:10
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Beast Lord
|
Combat squads are split into 2 at deployment so that would be 2 units.
|
around 2500 points
600 points |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 00:18:27
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
How does everyone feel about the NOVA FAQ that said you can deploy half a combat squad in a vehicle and keep the other half off the table?
Personally if its still in the FAQ as such I think its utter gak.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 00:46:58
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Wow. That's a substantial change. Makes Razorbacks even better, and helps Drop Pods substantially too.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 00:54:05
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
spongemonkee wrote:Top of page 96, it counts as a single choice for deploying and for rolling for reserves.
Which applies when deploying by Force org slots, and for rolling for Reserves. In missions that deploy by unit rather than by FOC slot, a rule that says they count as a single FOC slot doesn't apply.
DoW doesn't use FOC slots to count unit on the table. At the end of your deployment, if you have more than 2 Troops units on the table, or more than 1 HQ unit on the table, you have deployed illegally. This is explicitly stated in the DoW rules. Automatically Appended Next Post: DevianID wrote:How does everyone feel about the NOVA FAQ that said you can deploy half a combat squad in a vehicle and keep the other half off the table?
If that's how they want to play it, it's entirely up to them. It's a significant change from the regular rules, though.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 00:54:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 00:59:15
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
The Nova FAQ is not a rules source - it's a guideline for a specific event.
On the other hand I'm sick to death of discussing combat squads so I'm not going to argue this any further.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/13 01:07:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 01:51:31
Subject: Re:Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The way I look at it is fairly simple.
If my models are organized on the table in such a way that I can move them seperately, shoot them seperately, assault them seperately, etc they are individual units for the dawn of war rules.
If you can break out your tape measure and move four different clusters of models, that's illegal. If you can move two seperate HQ clusters of models, that is illegal. Etc.
Thus a transport and its contents are two distinct models for movement (obviously not if they are inside the transport but you get the idea), thus they are the two troops selections. A command squad and one platoon is two seperate groups of models that can move on their own, and thus are the two units.
This makes remembering the rules and handling any weird situations easy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 02:06:38
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
It gives 2 KP, so it is 2 units. But nobody likes DOW anyway, so if we roll it we reroll until we get something we don't all hate at my FLGS.
-cgmckenzie
|
1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 02:22:18
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
cgmckenzie wrote:...so if we roll it we reroll until we get something we don't all hate at my FLGS.
Wouldn't it be easier to just not include it in the roll in the first place? There are only 3 standard deployment types... assuming that's all you're using, just roll 1-3 for Pitched Battle and 4-6 for Spearhead.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 02:30:58
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Well, that includes changing the rules. When 5-6 comes up, it is usually followed by profanity, 'I think that's a cocked die', and both parties agreeing the die roller dropped it, or somebody swiftly knocking it off the table. Anyway, the die gets rerolled. We would never do anything at my FLGS to intentionally break the rules. It's just accidents do happen. It would be a pity if something were to happen to your land raider there. It is awfully nice... Plus we never really thought about it that way. -cgmckenzie BTW, I am drinking tonight, so sorry if my posts get a bit 'tangential'. I get one night a week, and by Korne I am going to use it!
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/06/13 02:33:41
1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 02:50:36
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
You're funny.
In a tournament, I love playing any mission or deployment type my opponent doesn't like and doesn't play regularly at home.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 05:59:21
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above
DoW has some interesting tactics to it, making it a very good deployment type...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 06:49:29
Subject: Re:Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
rural North Idaho
|
Is drinking and Dice Rolling legal in your area.....???
No issues here, as long as gaming a home ... LOL
I have a Q, I played DoW this evening , and this topic came up, I had a Tac. Sqd. , combat squading into a ML unit and a unit with HQ in a Razorback...
would that be 3 troops and an HQ? even if the models are all in the Raxorback?
so I would either get just the HQ and unit in transport, or just the ML squad(which is all that was on the table to start tonight)???
am I doing this right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:41:57
Subject: Does combat squading marines in dawn of war count as 2 squads on table
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, that is 3 troops and one HQ. So no, you cannot deploy them
You cannot deploy part of the CS on the table, and hold the rest in reserve, as you CS WHEN You deploy, and you Reserve INSTEAD OF deploying.
|
|
 |
 |
|