Switch Theme:

2 vehicle groups destroyed on immobile?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel






So I played a game against the IG yesterday with my tau. My broadsides fired at a group of 2 leman russ. I got a destroyed and an immobile result. Now it says that once a vehicle in a group becomes immobile its destroyed, but he said since the other was destroyed at the same time its no longer a group and is just immobile. I tend to believe that and that was how we played it, but is that how it works. Also if you have those results is it possible to stack the immobile on the already destroyed one thus wasting the other, or do you have to spread it around after the first is destroyed. Thats how we played it.

warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!

8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






pg.64
"If a squadron consists of a single vehicle when an enemy unit fires at it, it reverts to the normal rules for vehicle damage results."

In your situation, all the damage happens simultaneously and both vehicles would be destroyed.
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Bushido has it correct. You must resolve all damage results simultaneously. Otherwise you would be "re-allocating hits" in a sense.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker




Philadelphia, PA, USA

To add clarification: The opposing player would have to spread out the damage, they can't stack the results on each other to waste the Destroyed result.

   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Yes - think of it operating in a similar manner to a squad taking wounds. I.e, one vehicle can't take 2 hits until every other vehicle in the squardon has taken one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/16 13:06:18


Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in nl
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman




The rulebook tells you to allocate glancing and penetrating hits, this is before you even roll on the damage chart. However I am curious what would happen if you have a squadron of 2, they get 2 Pens and 1 Glances. So you assign 2 pens to 1 vehicle and the glance to the other. You fail your saves and the penetrating hits both result in a destroyed result, while the glance results into a shaken result. Does this mean you end up with 1 destroyed vehicle and 1 shaken vehicle or do they both die because they are identical and thus belong to the same group, like infantry where unsaved wounds get piled into the same wound group.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Vehicles have no business with multi-wound rules. Each vehicle only suffers the results from the hits that were allocated to it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/16 16:08:48


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. Treat each vehicle in a squadron as unique
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






And now for the silly news. Said broadside unit kills one of the 2 russes, and the shooting phase ends. In the IG players turn, he moves the now singular russ into terrain, and rolls a 1. Because the rules say that you revert to a single model instead of a squadron when shot at by the enemy, the russ is still a squadron, and the immobile result kills him.

Very silly indeed.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: