Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 23:42:58
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
So... you zoom a stormraven 36". Disembark the dreadnought 2", then get up to 12" assault?
Am I wrong here? What am I missing? This just doesn't sound right...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 23:46:39
Subject: Re:So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Mesa, AZ
|
I believe, units cannot disembark from a zooming Flyer.
|
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”
"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/01 23:56:09
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
What your missing can be found under the disembarkation rule on page 79. You may only disembark before you move, or if you have moved the vehicle 6" or less. ToBeWilly also has it right, that if the vehicle zooms you cannot disembark from it. However, if you disembark before movement the vehicle has not zoomed and as such you can disembark from it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/01 23:56:30
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 00:02:26
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Can't disembark if transport moved 6" or more.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 00:30:59
Subject: Re:So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
There's also not such thing as a free 2'' inch deployment 'move' anymore.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 04:22:08
Subject: Re:So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
|
think assault vechicles can move 6" and the dread can disembark 6 and assualt 2d6 so possiblity of a 24 inch assault range?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 06:09:37
Subject: Re:So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It's kind of confusing because in the rulebook it says that models cannot embark or disembark from a zooming flyer. However, as has been pointed out, when a model has a unique special rule from the codex that contradicts the rule in the main rulebook, you go with the codex. In the codex, they simply amended it to say if the raven moves more than 6" you can disembark troops but they do so via deep strike in the skies of blood rule. So, my interpretation is that a raven in zoom mode, can disembark troops but they all do so via deep strike and must come out somewhere along the vehicle's path of travel.
And of course we all know units arriving via deep strike cannot assault the turn they arrive, so no, you couldn't disembark using skies of blood and assault. If you wanted to disembark and assault you'd have to state the raven was coming in hover mode before moving it from reserves, in which case it's treated as a fast skimmer.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 06:11:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 06:12:18
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
So, it looks like the answer is to have the stormraven fly out from the board edge so its close enough to launch an assault next turn, fire some guns, then next turn go hover and unload the dread into the enemy face.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 06:20:27
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Horst wrote:So, it looks like the answer is to have the stormraven fly out from the board edge so its close enough to launch an assault next turn, fire some guns, then next turn go hover and unload the dread into the enemy face.
That is certainly how I intend to use it. Although doing so will make your raven more exposed to enemy fire (no skyfire required to hit normally) but you'll have the jink special rule, even moving 6" you'll get the 5+ cover save.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 07:37:30
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nevermind....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 07:42:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 07:42:26
Subject: Re:So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Ravens' typically have the 'assault vehicle' USR.
So, unless otherwise prevented from doing so (by zooming or going flat out for example), models disembarking from it can assault the turn they do so.
Didn't notice if the above had been said already exactly, so i figured i'd chime in.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 07:43:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 07:43:41
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
You can't assault from Reserves, either. If that's your plan.
|
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 07:45:46
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Unless you have the assault vehicle rule, in which case you can. And the stormraven has that.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 07:46:37
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Except, that, the Rulebook says you can never assault from reserves. The Assault Vehicle special rule doesn't over rule the Reserves one.
|
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 07:51:42
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Oberleutnant
|
Crazyterran wrote:Except, that, the Rulebook says you can never assault from reserves. The Assault Vehicle special rule doesn't over rule the Reserves one.
I thought special rules over rule the main rules? Could be wrong though...
Mick
|
Digitus Impudicus!
Armies- |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 08:00:10
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Mick A wrote:Crazyterran wrote:Except, that, the Rulebook says you can never assault from reserves. The Assault Vehicle special rule doesn't over rule the Reserves one.
I thought special rules over rule the main rules? Could be wrong though...
Mick
No, more specific rules override general rules.
The assault ramp rules only allow units to ignore the normal prohibition against charging after disembarking. If there is any other kind of prohibition preventing the unit from assaulting for any other reason, the assault ramp in no way suddenly erases those prohibitions as well.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 08:49:57
Subject: So.... Stormraven + Dreadnought = 50" assault range?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I was just referring to the poster that said you can't assault after disembarking. Looks like I was late. Yes, you cannot assault out of reserves.
Otherwise, can move 6", get out, assault.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
|