Switch Theme:

Clarification Banshee Initiative in CC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





So I posted this on BoLS and it has lead to some interesting discussion and I know this is the home of the INAT FAQ so I was hoping it would help me get better clarification if I asked here as well. Basically this came up in my local gaming group

[quote =some guy]Howling banshees just got a good buff.

They can swap thier power weapons for power axes, and get +1 str/ap2
As they are always I10 when they charge into combat due to the mask, this is going to rock.

Especially on an autarch with power axe and banshee mask.


The counter argument right now is : "Power axes are unweildy. That means they strike at init 1.

Now the actual rules for everything are as follows :


Eldar Codex Page 31 wrote:Banshee Mask: In the first round of an assault a model wearing a Banshee mask has initiative 10 and negates any Initiative bonus conferred by cover and grenades.


6th ed core rulebook page 2 wrote:Multiple Modifiers, If a model has a combination of rules or wargear that mdify a characteristic, first apply any multipliers, then apply any additions or subtractions, and finally apply any set values.


6th ed core rulebook page 43 wrote: Unwieldy: A model attacking with this weapon does so at initiative step 1, unless it is a Monsterous Creature or a Walker


Tyranid FAQ wrote: As a 'set value modifier' the lash whip effect is applied after all other modifiers. If the model is effected by another set value modifier. roll off to see which is applied first at the start of each fight sub-phase


The argument I have heard is that the codex says HAS initiative 10 where as the weapon profile says you are ATTACKING at initiative 1. IE you can have whatever initiative you want, but attack at the I1 irregardless.

The counter argument is that these are two "set modifiers" and there for it follows the rules for multiple modifiers as per outlined in the Tyranid FAQ.

As for the fact they can be modeled with whatever weapon you want since they are generic "power weapons" and you literally go off what it looks like to determine its profile.

As a local tournament organizer I need some clarification for this situation. I know its not always good to use a different Codex FAQ to try and solve the issue, but its the only place where I am seeing Multiple "Set Value" modifiers discussed and that is important also for other armies like GK players who use Crowe and whether his strike at I10 swings are over ridden by things like Lash whips or not (not covered in the GK FAQ)

So what is everyone's stance?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/07/03 15:25:31


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Looks like you roll off and see which one applies first.

Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





That seems to be the logic I am going with, but there is still a decent amount of debate over that due to the wording of Has VS Attacks At
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Looks like the banshee mask makes their initiative 10(so for a sweeping advance would be 10) but the axe doesn't modify your initiative it just strikes at initiative 1.

The argument I have heard is that the codex says HAS initiative 10 where as the weapon profile says you are ATTACKING at initiative 1. IE you can have whatever initiative you want, but attack at the I1 irregardless.

6th ed core rulebook page 43 wrote: Unwieldy: A model attacking with this weapon does so at initiative step 1, unless it is a Monsterous Creature or a Walker


The second quote says nothing about modifying the iniative of the model with the weapon just that they always strike at initiative 1, if it said a model with this weapon has their initive reduced to 1 I would agree that both rules cannot work at the same time. As it stands it looks like you have initiative 10 but your weapon says you strike at initiative 1. I think the key is the axe doesn't modify your initiative it just modifies when you actually strike, because I don't believe most people would claim that when you rolled off for what take precedent that the banshees would be at initiative 1 for purposes other than attacking.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/03 15:50:23


Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





If thats the case knee, how do you resolve their pile in moves?

Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon






OKC, Oklahoma

Or you could just give them "mauls" +2 str and concussive.... at ap4, but still striking on I10....

Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!

Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."

:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)

"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






The rulebook does say that when 2 rules between main rulebook (Unwieldy) and codex (Banshee Mask) clash, the codex takes preference. But the FAQ for Tyranids goes against this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/04 09:12:22


Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






It seems to me the Banshee has init 10 (great for sweeping advance) but attacks at init 1. As you are actually attacking at init 1, you pile in at init 1.

I had something similar come up today, namely what init do you use for sweeping advance. The model in question was an ork nob, and it seemed that because the ork nob was not attacking, you use the init of 3, not 1 from the power klaw.

To further complicate matters, now in 6th if you dont have grenades you attack at init step 1. This seems identical with the power ax attacking at init step 1. Banshee mask, as posted above, only ignores the BONUS to initiative granted by cover and grenades. Init 1 is not a bonus of cover, thus it is not ignored? Its obvious it should be, but the rules quoted above do not seem to read that way--after all, the Eldar book is 2 editions behind so of course its terms are all wrong for 6th ed.
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




As cool as it would be to see the power axes at I10 I believe they still wouldn't strike until I1. Much like models with thunder hammers under the effect of Quicksilver still must wait until I1 to smash faces.

Personally I like Helgrenze's advice of taking mauls, but that's just me.

2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!

2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!

2k

2k Happiness in slavery 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

The unwieldy rule doesn't change the model initiative (unlike the banshee masks), so the tyranid FAQ does apply.
They would still be I10 (for sweeps etc) but would strike during initiative step 1.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





For sweeping advance, you use the unmodified initiative of the model.

So is it some peoples take that unwiedly doesnt modify your init then?

Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





imweasel wrote:For sweeping advance, you use the unmodified initiative of the model.

So is it some peoples take that unwiedly doesnt modify your init then?

It doesn't. Its not "some people's take". You strike at I1, youre not I1.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
imweasel wrote:For sweeping advance, you use the unmodified initiative of the model.

So is it some peoples take that unwiedly doesnt modify your init then?

It doesn't. Its not "some people's take". You strike at I1, youre not I1.


Doesnt that break pile in?

You move and strike at your init step right?

Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Your initiative step isn't nessisarily your initiative stat.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





grendel083 wrote:Your initiative step isn't nessisarily your initiative stat.

This. Banshee masks make your init stat 10. Unwieldy makes you strike at I1 regardless of your stat.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
grendel083 wrote:Your initiative step isn't nessisarily your initiative stat.

This. Banshee masks make your init stat 10. Unwieldy makes you strike at I1 regardless of your stat.


So termies pile in at init 4 step? Then again at init 1 step and then swing?

The pile in rules seem to indicate that you pile in at your init step.

Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






imweasel wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
grendel083 wrote:Your initiative step isn't nessisarily your initiative stat.

This. Banshee masks make your init stat 10. Unwieldy makes you strike at I1 regardless of your stat.


So termies pile in at init 4 step? Then again at init 1 step and then swing?

The pile in rules seem to indicate that you pile in at your init step.


The initiative step rule also indicates you attack your initiative, yet the Banshee can't do anything then because the weapon she wants to use is Unwieldy? That kinda breaks the whole process.


Work your way through the Initiative values of the models .<snip>.. starting with the highest and ending with the lowest



Models make their attacks when their initiative step is reached


Since the mask makes the Banshee initiative 10, it has to do _something_ at that step (apart from pile in).

Specifically:
the mask makes her initiative 10, which makes her attack at initiative step 10
vs
Unwieldy, which makes you attack at initiative step 1

Back to a roll-off?

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon






OKC, Oklahoma

Is it worth the argument or the possibility of striking at I1 with a 4+ save? Even grots could (in sufficient numbers) beat face on banshees.

Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!

Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."

:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)

"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
 
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





very NW IL USA

this seems to be something that will only be resolved with a faq, and will be the difference between banshees as one of the best units in 6th edition again or one of the worst. As an eldar player who's main opponent is going deathwing, I have a vested interest in this, but from this and other threads there seems to be no real consensus.


 
   
Made in au
Scrap Thrall




Sydney, Australia

Um i thought it said in BRB that pile in went off the time the model is attacking so in this case I1 because of axes. Not off the I of the model otherwise TH/SS termies can't attack. Or you pile in at I10 then attack I1?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I am going with you pile in at your init. If you are using an unweidly weapon, you strike at init 1.

Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in us
Stalwart Strike Squad Grey Knight





Denied wrote:The argument I have heard is that the codex says HAS initiative 10 where as the weapon profile says you are ATTACKING at initiative 1. IE you can have whatever initiative you want, but attack at the I1 irregardless.

The counter argument is that these are two "set modifiers" and there for it follows the rules for multiple modifiers as per outlined in the Tyranid FAQ.

I think there are legitimate RAW arguments to support both of these, as well as the argument that the Banshees would Pile In at Initiative 10 and then not attack until Initiative 1. (For what it's worth, I find the "strike at I1" argument to be more valid, but that's a purely subjective statement)

However, RAW also says on page 4: "Nobody wants to waste valuable gaming time arguing, so be prepared to interpret a rule or come up with a suitable solution for yourselves (in a manner befitting the better class of Imperial Citizen, of course)." In other words, it's RAW to stop worrying so much about RAW! We'll need an FAQ to be "use it at a tournament" sure, but I'm of the opinion that the Banshees both Pile In and strike at Initiative 1, because that's what seems to be intended and feels most balanced, and it's how I'll play it in all my games.

Armies Played: Grey Knights Tyranids Harlequins (WIP) 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




The new rules added in a difference between Initiative (the stat) and initiative step (the point where you attack).

Pile In references a models initiative, which is the model stat, this means that a model with Initiative 4 piles in at Initiative step 4, and attacks at initiative step 4.

Unwieldy references the initiative step which attacks are made. Not the model. The step. So the initiative of the model does not change. The step where it piles in does not change. The step where it makes its attacks changes.

Things that effect initiative effect both pile in and initiative step of the attacks, but Unwieldy overrides it for attacking, not for anything else.

Banshees with masks on the charge Pile in at 10, and attack at 10 unless armed with an unwieldy weapon, in which case they pile in at 10 and attack at step 1.
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon






OKC, Oklahoma

Kiredor wrote:The new rules added in a difference between Initiative (the stat) and initiative step (the point where you attack).

Pile In references a models initiative, which is the model stat, this means that a model with Initiative 4 piles in at Initiative step 4, and attacks at initiative step 4.

Unwieldy references the initiative step which attacks are made. Not the model. The step. So the initiative of the model does not change. The step where it piles in does not change. The step where it makes its attacks changes.

Things that effect initiative effect both pile in and initiative step of the attacks, but Unwieldy overrides it for attacking, not for anything else.

Banshees with masks on the charge Pile in at 10, and attack at 10 unless armed with an unwieldy weapon, in which case they pile in at 10 and attack at step 1.


Which negates the effects of the mask, and sets the Banshees up for destruction before they can strike.
Again I ask, with their 4+ save, is it really worth it? The Eldar have more efficient ways of dealing with 2+ armor.

Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!

Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."

:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)

"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




If I was to talk tactics, I would suggest having a single model or two out of the squad with an Axe, incase you get charged by 2+ saves or a MC with T7 so that you have a chance. And if you get the charge, use your pistol, so now you hit at I10.

It gives an option. There are times where it might be worth it.

Course a Power Maul would give you S5, so you could even hurt wraithlords, but couldn't deal with marines as easy, tradeoffs, theyre all good at some points.
   
Made in us
Cog in the Machine





wichita, KS

Yea, haveing at least one or 2 with the axe would be good, but if you want a way to deal with 2+ at i10 then give the exarch mirror swords, as they ignore armour saves. sure, they are s3, but thats 4 base attacks and 5 on the charge.

2000ish. 2000.
(daemons) 1500ish. 1220ish. one of my reserve rolls.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Dallas Texas

Banshees always strike at Initiative10 if they charge, no discussion.

5000+ pts. Eldar 2500pts
"The only thing that match's the Eldar's firepower, is their arrogance".
8th General at Alamo GT 2011.
Tied 2nd General Alamo GT 2012
Top General Lower Bracket Railhead 2011
Top General Railhead 2012
# of Local Tournaments Won: 4
28-9-1 In Tournaments As Eldar.
Maintained a 75% Win Ratio As Eldar in 5th Edition GT's.



 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Smitty0305 wrote:Banshees always strike at Initiative10 if they charge, no discussion.

Unless their weapon is unwieldy.
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




Smitty0305 wrote:Banshees always strike at Initiative10 if they charge, no discussion.

I see no errata for Banshee Mask in the Eldar FAQ, so you're absolutely wrong.
"In the first round of an assault a model wearing a Banshee mask has Initiative 10..." C:Eldar, pg 31. Emphasis mine
Banshee with power axe who charges at enemy has Initiative 10 but still makes its attacks at Initiative 1, as per Unwieldy special rule.

Edit: and when charging Wraiths with whip coils you'd roll-off to see if they're I1 or I10

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/05 21:23:33


 
   
Made in pl
Screaming Shining Spear




NeoGliwice III

Unfortunately, I agree that attacking at Initiative 1 bypasses all the Initiative changes, including the one made by Banshee Masks.

Good things are good,.. so it's good
Keep our city clean.
Report your death to the Department of Expiration
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: