Switch Theme:

Refused Challenege and Tesseract Lab  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Ok, so this came up in a game recently.

Overlord and 2 immortals charge a MC.
MC challenges and OL refuses.
MC kills both immortals and puts a wound on OL.
OL initiative comes up and is in B2B with MC.
OL "cannot strike any blows" because of refused challenge, so decides to use his Tesseract "in lieu of" striking blows.

Is that allowed?

Pg 64 says that when a challenge is refused the model nominated cannot strike any blows that turn.

Tesseract rule says, the bearer uses the tesseract in lieu of making any close combat attacks.

I dunno I can see both side to this. What say you?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

If he can't strike any blows, he has no blows to exchange 'in lieu of'.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




it would be a huge stretch to allow that IMO as its just trying to manipulate the wording to try and make something fit. The spirit of the game is that refusing a challenge means your doing nothing.
   
Made in gb
Lieutenant Colonel





Somewhere in warp space

'in lieu' means in place of. If you can't strike any blows, you can't do anything in place of them. So I would say no, if you refuse a challenge you can't use the Tesseract.

Black Consuls 1750pts
High Elves 1500pts
Imperial Guard 1000pts
Inquisitorial Allies WIP
Vampire Counts WIP

Creator of the First Piston and Sticky Piston on Dakka Minecraft!

Darkstorm Gaming - A Forum Dedicated To Roleplaying. JOIN TODAY! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





RaptorsTallon wrote:'in lieu' means in place of. If you can't strike any blows, you can't do anything in place of them. So I would say no, if you refuse a challenge you can't use the Tesseract.


that was the argument for it actually. The rule says that the model "cannot strike any blows" not that the model lost his attacks. So the player said since, I can not swing at you then I will use the tesseract which is not striking any blows at the MC.


Thinking about it I can see his point, but i also think that GW intended the model to not be able to do anything that turn.
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

Lets look at the entire sentence: "The chosen model cannot strike blows at all this turn, as he is thereafter putting all of his effort into staying clear of the vengeful enemy character." Since the OL in this case would be steering clear of the Nid, he cannot use the Tesseract.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: